PART 1
Sunday April 11th, 2004
We leave Easter Sunday for Chicago from Michigan at 5:30pm. We live 5 hrs from there but it was $200 cheaper to fly from there than it was out of Detroit. Also, one of my friends that is going along just moved back home but still has her apartment until the end of the month. We will be staying there for the night. I can’t believe it. Finally, Jamaica “soon come”!
Monday April 12th, 2004
We are up by 5:00am to get ready to leave. We pack up the car and finally we are on our way!!! Arrive at the airport right on time. The flight even leaves 10 minutes early! Fabulous! All the sooner for us to get there! We arrive in Mobay (had to go thru the tunnel thing) only to find out they have taken the Digicel kiosk out of the airport so there is no place to buy phone minutes. Now I can’t call Junior’s driver to tell him we are here. I asked the airport personnel to call him for us and they said they couldn’t because it was a cell phone number. I asked for a pay phone and no one could direct us to one. They said there just wasn’t one. Now I feel terrible because I don't even know for sure if he came or not. If the driver was there, I had no way of knowing so we head out the door and find ourselves a different driver.
Mr. Chin is now our driver and he does a good job with only one near miss on the way to Ochi. The girls and I are in awe. We are finally in Jamaica! We arrived safely and checked in. I have to tell you.
We totally and utterly loved our apartment!!! It is sooo wonderful with a full-sized kitchen, dining area, and living room downstairs. Two balconies! One balcony overlooking the pool from the dining room area and another balcony overlooking the sea from the living room area! Upstairs are the 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. One of the bathrooms is in the room with the queen-sized bed and a window that opens to look over the pool. The other bedroom has 2 twin beds with a very small balcony. Also, there is a loft (very scary steep flight of stairs up to it) with a twin bed. So, after looking the place over we venture off to the grocery store to get the alcohol. We decided to stay in tonight and rest up for our adventures.
It was Easter Monday when we arrived so not a whole lot was open and there was a lot of partying going on. We got what we needed and headed back to our apartment. I still cannot believe I am finally here again. Sitting on the balcony overlooking the sea. I feel like crying from the sheer joy of it. Just because I am finally here!
After a while we decide to unpack our clothes and make this place homier. We made macaroni and cheese for dinner (yes, we are odd and we ate this a lot). We just talked a lot and sat in amazement that we were finally here. It seemed like it took forever for this day to come!
This would be our earliest night. We actually turned in before 3am.
Tuesday April 13th, 2004
We woke up bright and early ready for whatever the day brings. A first thing first as the beach is calling our names! We all put our bathing suits on and are getting our stuff together then find our one friend putting baby oil on. Of course, I immediately freaked out. Shaza is thinking because she is a brown girl (Pakistani) she will not burn. Now mind you as this girl’s skin rarely sees the light of day.
She is here to “find herself” and have some fun. Now you wonder how old she is. She is turning 30 in June and for the most part of her life has followed most of what she is “supposed” to do and not what she wants to do. In terms of most things she is naïve (need to say here she is a quick learner) obviously even in the sunning department. I asked her if she intended to get sun poisoning or if she just enjoys pain or what?
After Jessi and Amy confirm the absurdity of wearing baby oil in the hot Jamaican sun when you have NO color other that the little you were born with, we make her wash it off with soap and water and put SPF 35 on.
Ok, now we are ready. We headed out the back gate to walk down to the beach. Now at Fisherman’s Point, you have to go out and walk along the sidewalk to get to the entrance of the beach. It’s not like you can just walk out your door and you are there. But we were fine with that. Some man decides it is his job to walk us to the beach even though we tell him we are all set. Well, if he wants to walk I suppose that’s his business but we did tell him no thanks. He wanted to get us chairs for “Free” but gain, “No thanks. We are all set.” Whatever. We get into the beach and take “our spot”. That is where we always end up laying when we go.
While we are lying there a man walks by and wants to know if we want to do any water sports. After assuring him we are all set, (our favorite phrase for the week), he chats for a few minutes with us. He is talking about us laying out here tanning and gives us numbers in terms of skin color. Jessi is a “one” (fair skinned with strawberry blonde hair), Shaza is a “two” (brown girl with brown hair), I am “three” (golden skin with well, blonde, brown and slightly white-streaked hair remember I said I goofed with my highlighting before I left) and then there was Amy a “four” (dark tanned skin and blonde hair). He was a “five” he said. Shaza was not thrilled to only be a “two” when she is supposed to be a brown girl and here are these two normally very white girls with a better number than her DWL! We of course find it terribly funny. Actually, we ended up finding pretty much every single thing pretty funny the entire trip.
After we’re done frying our skin for a while we headed back to our room. After we get back from the beach we head to town to get some more food and alcohol and just to check it out. We ended up eating at Coconuts Bar and Cafe. Not bad and our waitress Kay was very nice and funny! I think we amused her.
When we get back from lunch, Amy wants to get the braids so we go out to Carmen by the pool and Amy chooses the style she wants. After a while, Jessi decided to get the headband style braids as well. When the girls were both done we headed upstairs.
Jessi said she had a bad headache and wanted to lie down for a little while. So the three of us are sitting at the table talking and Amy and Shaza tell me they don’t really even know how to flirt. They say that they are just not good at it. Well, we can’t have that can we? So I say come on girls, let’s go for a walk. So off we go. We met up with Ernest the houseman and he walked with us down the road. Ernest is a nice man and I am just talking and chatting away with him. Then we reach the end of the road and there are 3 policemen standing there. Ernest stops and tells them to make sure they take care of us because we are “his girls”.
I think what better time than the present to show them all you have to do is be yourself. If you are happy and at ease with yourself it just comes as there is thing really special to it. Eye contact while talking is important. Leaning in and listening to what they are saying is important etc etc. After a likkle while, I felt confident they understood. Both girls were like, “Cindy...you go girl!” Funny, flirting is not really something I thought about doing; it’s just there when you want it to be.
After we get back and Jessi gets up we get ready to go to Lil’ (Little) Pub.
Now, I need to give credit here where credit it due. Marilyn was right on target with “THE” places to be on each night. Everyone here was great with all the of the advice and I took every last word to heart and we used it often!
After we’re ready to go we catch a taxi to the club, grab our drinks on the way to our table from the bar and head over to look for a seat. We ended up sitting way over on the right side of the stage. Over by where they have those likkle outhouses looking things. Hmm...quite the strong aroma over here. So we are sitting enjoying the show and guess
who we see???????????????? Yep, Lady Shabba!
As soon as they said her name, I said, “That’s the woman Marilyn, Classy, and Ochee were talking about!” Oh my...you did say she couldn’t sing a lick and you were so right. I managed to get a picture of her. However, because of where we are sitting and because of what you gyals had said, I am trying to sneak a picture so it is not a really good one.
So, anyway, Jessi is an awesome singer and she gets up on stage and the first song she sings is Whitney Houston’s “Greatest Love of All”. Now the thing is when she starts singing people are listening (but ya know with that oh...”another singer”) but then all of a sudden they realize “she rocks!” So then the whole bar is watching and listening and is like, “Wow! She can really sing! Go girl!”
Lady Shabba attempted to sing a couple more times. Good Lord what a sight, but entertaining to say the least. Jessi sings one more song “Bette Davis Eyes” and of course it is outstanding! This is proven even more when a couple of different days in the week two different people came up to her, remember her from that night, and told her how good she was!
After going to the bar several more times to get drinks and sitting in that cloud of smoke (I know, I’m a wuss), I am not feeling anyyyyyyyyy pain at all. Towards the end of the night I am making friends and conversation with Marlin the bartender (what a cutie) and this fine man who had been sitting up over the bar. He is now behind the bar with Marlin.
I can never sit still or stand still while music is playing so the whole time I am dancing while chatting. He says his name is Paul (then says “Pablo”). Either way a fine, fine man! So while we are chatting he says come here. I take a couple steps over to him and he starts whining “Weeeeeeee!” I soon find out there is a lot of that here!
While he (we) are whining, I hear the girls asking each other where the camera is. I just keep dancing. Again I hear “Where’s the camera?” I raise my arm, waving it in the air. “Heyyyy!” I knew I was holding on to this camera for a reason all night! After getting a group picture of Pablo and Marlin with us we are on our way. We were the last to leave. We take the taxi home and my wonderful friends tuck me into bed.
Wednesday April 14th, 2004
Today is going to be another great day! This is the afternoon we are going on our tour with Marshall and I have really, really been looking forward to this! After waking up and getting something to eat (I think we ate, not even sure anymore) we headed down to the beach to our same spot and got our towels all situated. I just lay there and took in all the sights and sounds. We were trying to figure out a way to sneak onto the cruise ship to take a look around since 3 of us have never been on one. Of course none of us are about to move from our spots on the beach DWL!
After lying out for a while longer we headed back to the room to get ready to go out on our tour with Marshall. I am just sooooo excited. I have been dying to go and see some of the country! I had already called and talked to him on Tuesday evening to set up our time of 2 p.m. He was right on time but poor Marshall had to wait for us...sorry baby. We all pile into his immaculately clean van. I sat up front with him and the girls sat in the middle seat. We’re off!
We immediately fall in love with Marshall. What a great person and soooo sooo cute and loveable! He is so funny and made us all feel immediately at ease. Dancing and singing and talking all the while educating us on our beloved Jamaica!
Sunday April 11th, 2004
We leave Easter Sunday for Chicago from Michigan at 5:30pm. We live 5 hrs from there but it was $200 cheaper to fly from there than it was out of Detroit. Also, one of my friends that is going along just moved back home but still has her apartment until the end of the month. We will be staying there for the night. I can’t believe it. Finally, Jamaica “soon come”!
Monday April 12th, 2004
We are up by 5:00am to get ready to leave. We pack up the car and finally we are on our way!!! Arrive at the airport right on time. The flight even leaves 10 minutes early! Fabulous! All the sooner for us to get there! We arrive in Mobay (had to go thru the tunnel thing) only to find out they have taken the Digicel kiosk out of the airport so there is no place to buy phone minutes. Now I can’t call Junior’s driver to tell him we are here. I asked the airport personnel to call him for us and they said they couldn’t because it was a cell phone number. I asked for a pay phone and no one could direct us to one. They said there just wasn’t one. Now I feel terrible because I don't even know for sure if he came or not. If the driver was there, I had no way of knowing so we head out the door and find ourselves a different driver.
Mr. Chin is now our driver and he does a good job with only one near miss on the way to Ochi. The girls and I are in awe. We are finally in Jamaica! We arrived safely and checked in. I have to tell you.
We totally and utterly loved our apartment!!! It is sooo wonderful with a full-sized kitchen, dining area, and living room downstairs. Two balconies! One balcony overlooking the pool from the dining room area and another balcony overlooking the sea from the living room area! Upstairs are the 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. One of the bathrooms is in the room with the queen-sized bed and a window that opens to look over the pool. The other bedroom has 2 twin beds with a very small balcony. Also, there is a loft (very scary steep flight of stairs up to it) with a twin bed. So, after looking the place over we venture off to the grocery store to get the alcohol. We decided to stay in tonight and rest up for our adventures.
It was Easter Monday when we arrived so not a whole lot was open and there was a lot of partying going on. We got what we needed and headed back to our apartment. I still cannot believe I am finally here again. Sitting on the balcony overlooking the sea. I feel like crying from the sheer joy of it. Just because I am finally here!
After a while we decide to unpack our clothes and make this place homier. We made macaroni and cheese for dinner (yes, we are odd and we ate this a lot). We just talked a lot and sat in amazement that we were finally here. It seemed like it took forever for this day to come!
This would be our earliest night. We actually turned in before 3am.
Tuesday April 13th, 2004
We woke up bright and early ready for whatever the day brings. A first thing first as the beach is calling our names! We all put our bathing suits on and are getting our stuff together then find our one friend putting baby oil on. Of course, I immediately freaked out. Shaza is thinking because she is a brown girl (Pakistani) she will not burn. Now mind you as this girl’s skin rarely sees the light of day.
She is here to “find herself” and have some fun. Now you wonder how old she is. She is turning 30 in June and for the most part of her life has followed most of what she is “supposed” to do and not what she wants to do. In terms of most things she is naïve (need to say here she is a quick learner) obviously even in the sunning department. I asked her if she intended to get sun poisoning or if she just enjoys pain or what?
After Jessi and Amy confirm the absurdity of wearing baby oil in the hot Jamaican sun when you have NO color other that the little you were born with, we make her wash it off with soap and water and put SPF 35 on.
Ok, now we are ready. We headed out the back gate to walk down to the beach. Now at Fisherman’s Point, you have to go out and walk along the sidewalk to get to the entrance of the beach. It’s not like you can just walk out your door and you are there. But we were fine with that. Some man decides it is his job to walk us to the beach even though we tell him we are all set. Well, if he wants to walk I suppose that’s his business but we did tell him no thanks. He wanted to get us chairs for “Free” but gain, “No thanks. We are all set.” Whatever. We get into the beach and take “our spot”. That is where we always end up laying when we go.
While we are lying there a man walks by and wants to know if we want to do any water sports. After assuring him we are all set, (our favorite phrase for the week), he chats for a few minutes with us. He is talking about us laying out here tanning and gives us numbers in terms of skin color. Jessi is a “one” (fair skinned with strawberry blonde hair), Shaza is a “two” (brown girl with brown hair), I am “three” (golden skin with well, blonde, brown and slightly white-streaked hair remember I said I goofed with my highlighting before I left) and then there was Amy a “four” (dark tanned skin and blonde hair). He was a “five” he said. Shaza was not thrilled to only be a “two” when she is supposed to be a brown girl and here are these two normally very white girls with a better number than her DWL! We of course find it terribly funny. Actually, we ended up finding pretty much every single thing pretty funny the entire trip.
After we’re done frying our skin for a while we headed back to our room. After we get back from the beach we head to town to get some more food and alcohol and just to check it out. We ended up eating at Coconuts Bar and Cafe. Not bad and our waitress Kay was very nice and funny! I think we amused her.
When we get back from lunch, Amy wants to get the braids so we go out to Carmen by the pool and Amy chooses the style she wants. After a while, Jessi decided to get the headband style braids as well. When the girls were both done we headed upstairs.
Jessi said she had a bad headache and wanted to lie down for a little while. So the three of us are sitting at the table talking and Amy and Shaza tell me they don’t really even know how to flirt. They say that they are just not good at it. Well, we can’t have that can we? So I say come on girls, let’s go for a walk. So off we go. We met up with Ernest the houseman and he walked with us down the road. Ernest is a nice man and I am just talking and chatting away with him. Then we reach the end of the road and there are 3 policemen standing there. Ernest stops and tells them to make sure they take care of us because we are “his girls”.
I think what better time than the present to show them all you have to do is be yourself. If you are happy and at ease with yourself it just comes as there is thing really special to it. Eye contact while talking is important. Leaning in and listening to what they are saying is important etc etc. After a likkle while, I felt confident they understood. Both girls were like, “Cindy...you go girl!” Funny, flirting is not really something I thought about doing; it’s just there when you want it to be.
After we get back and Jessi gets up we get ready to go to Lil’ (Little) Pub.
Now, I need to give credit here where credit it due. Marilyn was right on target with “THE” places to be on each night. Everyone here was great with all the of the advice and I took every last word to heart and we used it often!
After we’re ready to go we catch a taxi to the club, grab our drinks on the way to our table from the bar and head over to look for a seat. We ended up sitting way over on the right side of the stage. Over by where they have those likkle outhouses looking things. Hmm...quite the strong aroma over here. So we are sitting enjoying the show and guess
who we see???????????????? Yep, Lady Shabba!
As soon as they said her name, I said, “That’s the woman Marilyn, Classy, and Ochee were talking about!” Oh my...you did say she couldn’t sing a lick and you were so right. I managed to get a picture of her. However, because of where we are sitting and because of what you gyals had said, I am trying to sneak a picture so it is not a really good one.
So, anyway, Jessi is an awesome singer and she gets up on stage and the first song she sings is Whitney Houston’s “Greatest Love of All”. Now the thing is when she starts singing people are listening (but ya know with that oh...”another singer”) but then all of a sudden they realize “she rocks!” So then the whole bar is watching and listening and is like, “Wow! She can really sing! Go girl!”
Lady Shabba attempted to sing a couple more times. Good Lord what a sight, but entertaining to say the least. Jessi sings one more song “Bette Davis Eyes” and of course it is outstanding! This is proven even more when a couple of different days in the week two different people came up to her, remember her from that night, and told her how good she was!
After going to the bar several more times to get drinks and sitting in that cloud of smoke (I know, I’m a wuss), I am not feeling anyyyyyyyyy pain at all. Towards the end of the night I am making friends and conversation with Marlin the bartender (what a cutie) and this fine man who had been sitting up over the bar. He is now behind the bar with Marlin.
I can never sit still or stand still while music is playing so the whole time I am dancing while chatting. He says his name is Paul (then says “Pablo”). Either way a fine, fine man! So while we are chatting he says come here. I take a couple steps over to him and he starts whining “Weeeeeeee!” I soon find out there is a lot of that here!
While he (we) are whining, I hear the girls asking each other where the camera is. I just keep dancing. Again I hear “Where’s the camera?” I raise my arm, waving it in the air. “Heyyyy!” I knew I was holding on to this camera for a reason all night! After getting a group picture of Pablo and Marlin with us we are on our way. We were the last to leave. We take the taxi home and my wonderful friends tuck me into bed.
Wednesday April 14th, 2004
Today is going to be another great day! This is the afternoon we are going on our tour with Marshall and I have really, really been looking forward to this! After waking up and getting something to eat (I think we ate, not even sure anymore) we headed down to the beach to our same spot and got our towels all situated. I just lay there and took in all the sights and sounds. We were trying to figure out a way to sneak onto the cruise ship to take a look around since 3 of us have never been on one. Of course none of us are about to move from our spots on the beach DWL!
After lying out for a while longer we headed back to the room to get ready to go out on our tour with Marshall. I am just sooooo excited. I have been dying to go and see some of the country! I had already called and talked to him on Tuesday evening to set up our time of 2 p.m. He was right on time but poor Marshall had to wait for us...sorry baby. We all pile into his immaculately clean van. I sat up front with him and the girls sat in the middle seat. We’re off!
We immediately fall in love with Marshall. What a great person and soooo sooo cute and loveable! He is so funny and made us all feel immediately at ease. Dancing and singing and talking all the while educating us on our beloved Jamaica!