Treasure Beach was my first stop on this trip. I must say over the years I’ve tried to decide which part of the island is my favorite and I’m always torn between Treasure Beach and Port Antonio. This trip I made my decision, it is without a doubt Treasure Beach. I LOVE this community!
About six months ago the company I work for did a company-wide computer migration, meaning everyone (3,000 employees) got new computers. So I ask if I could have some of the older model laptops for a donation to one of the schools in Jamaica, I ask for 25 and was hoping for 2, I got 13! The day they said you can have them I was so high nothing in this world could have made me happier. Next step was getting them to Jamaica. With the help of Food for the Poor we were able to ship to Spanish Town on one of their containers. With the help of BREDS in Treasure Beach they were picked up and delivered to the New Sandy Bank Primary School Computer Lab.
Sandy Bank Computer Lab

During this process I met lots of caring and tireless giving people. Joe Shannon the new Peace Crop volunteer at Sandy Bank for one. Joe left a lucrative job in Hawaii to travel to Jamaica to serve the Treasure Beach Community….I believe he is a Saint and thank God for his efforts.
Joe Shannon with a microscope that was donated for the new science project to start in Sept. If anyone would like to donate a microscope, slides, science teaching materials, etc. I am coordinating another shipment to the school in a few months. Please contact me via my email and we can coordinate your donation.

Once I arrived at the school to see the computers and deliver the other needed supplies I was able to get through customs, mouse’s, software, etc. I was totally blown away at the set up they had for the kids. The lab was awesome, and let me tell you the staff and the community alike were thrilled with the computers. Adult evening courses will be offered too, and Joe is trying to start an internet café so the community could keep in touch with their families that are abroad.

The next day I was invited back by the principle, Ms. Moxman. The children sang their devotional songs of thanks, this was the most beautiful thing I have ever witnessed in Jamaica, it really touches your heart to hear all those little voices singing “we’ll have a grand time up in heaven….” They blessed me and sang for she’s a jolly good fellow, this just about threw me over the edge….I believe when you do work for others you should wait for your reward in heaven, but I must say the thank you I got that day was a slice of heaven, and I couldn’t even dream of not pledging my continued commitment to helping Sandy Bank children, and Ms. Moxam after that. If you ever feel like your day to day work is only for money just reach out to you favorite Jamaican community and it will put everything into perspective.
Ms. Moxam

And this was just the beginning of my trip! What a way to start the vacation.
About six months ago the company I work for did a company-wide computer migration, meaning everyone (3,000 employees) got new computers. So I ask if I could have some of the older model laptops for a donation to one of the schools in Jamaica, I ask for 25 and was hoping for 2, I got 13! The day they said you can have them I was so high nothing in this world could have made me happier. Next step was getting them to Jamaica. With the help of Food for the Poor we were able to ship to Spanish Town on one of their containers. With the help of BREDS in Treasure Beach they were picked up and delivered to the New Sandy Bank Primary School Computer Lab.
Sandy Bank Computer Lab
During this process I met lots of caring and tireless giving people. Joe Shannon the new Peace Crop volunteer at Sandy Bank for one. Joe left a lucrative job in Hawaii to travel to Jamaica to serve the Treasure Beach Community….I believe he is a Saint and thank God for his efforts.
Joe Shannon with a microscope that was donated for the new science project to start in Sept. If anyone would like to donate a microscope, slides, science teaching materials, etc. I am coordinating another shipment to the school in a few months. Please contact me via my email and we can coordinate your donation.
Once I arrived at the school to see the computers and deliver the other needed supplies I was able to get through customs, mouse’s, software, etc. I was totally blown away at the set up they had for the kids. The lab was awesome, and let me tell you the staff and the community alike were thrilled with the computers. Adult evening courses will be offered too, and Joe is trying to start an internet café so the community could keep in touch with their families that are abroad.
The next day I was invited back by the principle, Ms. Moxman. The children sang their devotional songs of thanks, this was the most beautiful thing I have ever witnessed in Jamaica, it really touches your heart to hear all those little voices singing “we’ll have a grand time up in heaven….” They blessed me and sang for she’s a jolly good fellow, this just about threw me over the edge….I believe when you do work for others you should wait for your reward in heaven, but I must say the thank you I got that day was a slice of heaven, and I couldn’t even dream of not pledging my continued commitment to helping Sandy Bank children, and Ms. Moxam after that. If you ever feel like your day to day work is only for money just reach out to you favorite Jamaican community and it will put everything into perspective.
Ms. Moxam
And this was just the beginning of my trip! What a way to start the vacation.
I'd love to see the photos [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
(can you print it for Mommy & Daddy ?? ) I wish our other likkle man was in that school, too [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
look at that classroom!!!