monk, monk, monk! you never disappoint do you? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
this was just.... well i don't even really have a word, um... "sensual" comes close.
I'm spoiled too - funny thing is i never drank coffee at all til i was about 35, then i stumbled upon someone who ground fresh beans ery mornin, had some really good fresh beans...and was a goner. and yuh know life's too short to drink bad coffee, [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] if i can't have the good stuff I'll pass altogether.....
in Jamaica my sweetie made it some kinda way that tasted just like espresso, the spoon cud stand in the cup. i swear, mi nah know how he did it but it was't just usin a lot of coffee and makin it super strong, cause mi tried that and it wasn't even close. i would love to know which 'crack' he used, (god that sounds really bad) cause i never had any other Blue Mtn coffee like that.
I'm a dark-roast-&-sweetmilk kinda gyal, so far NUTHIN beats my boo's brew but here i have espresso with sweet milk evry mornin, and it's pretty dyam good as well! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
My mom always put a pinch of salt in her pyrex coffee pot. The kind of pot that used to brew the coffee on the stove, the one with the glass percolator in the middle.
I guess I'm dating myself huh ? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
Wow...I had no knowledge of this process, or the skill involved. I feel like I was there. Thank you for your riveting descriptions and pictures. It makes me cringe to think how we balk at the price.
one way I would like to try this JBM is in an old school stovetop espresso maker...sort of like a Vietnamese coffee, which is really a French style...
Glad you guys like the thread. I imagine similar stories could be told about a lot of things. I have a thing I'd like to put up about another friend's honey farm, and a friend who makes fresh OJ.
It's funny, cuz when I used to buy from this guy I would HAMMER him on the price. I had no clue, but I did know he needed the denaro more than the coffee...at that point it was just business, and he got over on me once or twice, and vice versa so I just always thought things shook out in the wash- now that I know the backstory and have worked parts of it I get mad at him when he sells himself and his (our, lol) beans short. It just seems like it is way too much work for what, anywhere between 17-20 bucks a lb? It's no wonder the old school is getting shoved aside for the newer means of production. "Mad" is not the right term, but you catch my drift. I haggle for things these days, but I'm not out to murder anyone on the price. The Italians are the worst, lol...
After an hour of sorting, in the heat of the day, looking at the rest of the sack we had to go through, I was like, somebody put me out of my misery, lol...you couldn't pay me to do this. And knowing tomorrow was another work day...
Wow Monk, who knew there was sooo much put into the morning cup of coffee. As I have said before, my mother goes to a whole different level when she is drinking her JA coffee that I got from you. When my man met me at the beach with the coffee the beans were still warm, and I can't even begin to describe the smell. My clothes smelled like coffee when I got home from carrying all that coffee in my bag. I must admit I am not a coffee expert, but I too can tell the difference in the different beans (my mother gets this look on her face when she brews a pot of the peaberry). Reading this report helps me to appreciate even more the effort that went into getting the coffee to me before I left JA, and I know now that I cannot purchase from anyone other than you and your family. I would not feel right, and I can purchase knowing that I am getting the best that I can get.
Many thanks to you bro Monk -- your sharing of your knowledge has again helped to educate me some more about that beautiful place called JAMAICA.
Yours are always a wonderful read ... Too bad you have a "day job" .... I think you should spend your time writing and story telling on Jah.com [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
Always on the look out for your stories - Hope you are having a good day!
I am running off to china town to do some shopping, but Monk, I LOVE your story & will finish when I return. I have seen every parrish in Jamaica, & many towns, but the one place I have yet to go is the Blue Mountains, & when I return, It is on my list. I thank you for sharing this with me.
BTW, I have been to the bush & I have worked side by side as the bush is cleared & burnt & the ground dug & cultivated to grow ganj, all with a machette & fork, let me tell you, farmers make NADDA, ZERO compared to what the crop is sold to on the market. I have done gardening all of my life (half sicilian too)but I have NEVER worked so hard in my life.
well thanks to everyone, I'm glad you guys enjoyed it. I think I'm blushing, lol...
Kat- i really appreciate that, trust me when I tell you. You coming down in Nov? Cuz I'm trying to set up a sleepover at the guest house. You'll be in coffee heaven.
Sis- I have no idea how your guy made that.
Laurel let me know if they are hiring, lol...
I have a meeting next week with the coffee board so wish me luck.
One day I'll have to tell you guys about the M16s. Felt like I was right in that Sizzla song.
TS- that reminds me of the first time I ever went down to JA. I was at Risky business, waiting for my turn to play. There was a band on stage- we had just literally gotten into town. This was way back when- the road was a travesty and it could take you a couple of hours to get into Negril.
So I figure I got some time to kill, could stand to relax a little, and I light up a cigar- one of my few vices.
As I'm standing there, a tall rasta makes his way over to me, and thrusts a stalk at me.
He's like, "20 dollars."
At first I had no idea what he was shoving at me, and when I looked down my jaw dropped. It was a HUGE stalk. It's as long as my freakin' arm!! Thick with buds...I'm like, "20 DOLLARS!!!? You're insane."
So he goes, "15 dollars."
"FIFTEEN DOLLARS!!!!? are you on crack?"
Now he looks ******, and he goes, "TEN dollars."
"TEN FREAKIN' DOLLARS!!!?"
So he goes, "Okay...jus TAKE it mon, TAKE it..."
So I'm like, "No man...you don't understand...I'm not quarreling over the price, 20 bucks for this...DO YOU HAVE ANY IDEA how much this costs back home?"
I mean, I'm not really a partaker of the leaf, but my room mate used to sell, and I was just floored, lol...
Couldn't believe it.
That stuff is a racket coming and going. What a tool.
Monk
I waited until Sunday morning when I actually have some of this coffee I bought from you to read this report word for word. I did put a little rum cream in it (don't shoot me).
I can attest to the fact that this coffee is extraordinary. Angie if you read this, don't hate because you have used all of yours up and I had the good sense to hoard mine.
Kat told me that when you brought our coffee down from the mountains to her that the bags were still warm. She also said that you could smell her luggage at every check point, and that it smelled up the mail room at work when she mailed it.
I advise everyone to bring this little piece of home back to Babylon. Monk I need you to get Orbra in touch with the connection because she is going to run over to Negril (NOT ME....Mi staying in Ochii the WHOLE time), and I am going to see if they can hook up and she can get me a refill.
Your story was wonderful as always, and the pictures are lovely. Thank you for being so wonderful to all of us here on the board, and to my ladies and Angie as well.
We love us some Rudemonk and Miss SOnia (and bless you for letting me meet her).
first of all I thought you guys were coming to NYMFC this weekend, lol...
second of all we go through Ochi to get up to his farm...so if for some reason the sleepover doesn't happen, like my Tanya stephens concert comes through, lol...then I can just have the coffee dropped off to you there, no sweat....
I'm probably going to bring back about 30 lbs roasted as I'm heading down this monday. So if you want any let me know and I'll see what's at hand.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.