If Michael manley was accepted as white, How could Donanld Sangster not be?/
As far as I know Michael manley was darker than Donald Sangster.
...and Donald sangster was never prime minister,he was Acting-Prime Minister, til he was deposed...sorry I mean til he died.
Trelli, di chief was de fuss PM...fada Manley was di one who was ongle Premier...try u bess no tek whe di chief title....u neva see di pickcha a him eena him tails and tophat when him go England go present himself to di Queen...is troo him was PM dat him an Miss Gladys mek it legal [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Dr Dudd, I beg to differ...Donald Sangster was the second PM of Jamaica, having attained that position when the JLP won the 1967 election...
he was Acting PM when Busta withdrew due to health problems, but in the ensuing election, Sir Donald gained his position as PM fully....
btw, Shearer got to be PM by default almost...when the fuss ballot was cast for who was to succeed Sir Donald, Tom Tavares got the most votes, followed by Shearer and then Lightbourne....Lightbourne subsequently withdrew, and on the next ballot, Shearer won by one single solitary vote and his name was then submitted to di GG as di PM....a so him get di job...
btw RichD, the building of all dem schools was due to the efforts of dat shawt likkle man, Edwin Allen...him was a dieheart man fi education and him move hell and powdahouse fi build schools, especially, primary schools....
people use fi laff afta him ,cawl him 'black and chat bad' in dat way ongle fi wi people can mek dat statement an insult, but him was one fi education....between him an Newland, i believe, dem went on a building spree , the likes has never been seen in Jamaica since....
Busta was the first Prime Minister... Norman was the first (and only) Premier.
Originally posted by Trelli:
well busta was a premeir... nuh true?
plus him was white... memba say him was Norman Manley(Micheal's father) first cousin enoh.
Micheal Manley yeye dem did blue, so me noh beleive busta was really black...
me figget Sangster... yeah, him was a black PM too
May he rest in peace. Even though when i lived in Jamaica he and i were on opposite sides of the political spectrum, I fondly remember him as the first prime minister that looked like me! he was a great PM. Fare ye well, Hugh!
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.