[img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] (((yardy))) The responses are not so simple (as you know)... so time is needed to type the proper answers, and background info... and it IS his first time yuh knoa! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Good Mawnin Jaku, since dis kwanzaa was made up by Maulana Karenga, who celebrates this aside from americans?
Many have no idea what it is about or why we should.
Basically how is it recoginized on a global level?
Originally posted by yardy:
[qb] Is Kwanza a religion?? [/qb]
Hotep )peace)
Thanks for your questions:
First kwanzaa is not a religion but a "CULTURAL" celebration. It is a time for families of African descent to focus on the importance of values, community and family ties. Kwanzaa is about creating and building unity among people of African descent-the bases of unity is strong family. The principles of Kwanzaa goes beyond religious barriers - and are applicable to Africans regardless of their religious affiliations. The symbols associated with kwanzaa are rooted in the best of African traditions and values.
The pictue of kwanzaa table have different items on it. The first thing you notice is the Kinera (The candle holder)- this represents the continent - the first people from which we all derived.
The 7 candles - reperesents the 7 days of Kwnazaa ( December 26th -January 1st)as well as the seven principles or values of Kwanzaa.
The fruits on the table represents the reward that comes from collective work as well as to show that Kwanzaa is based on traditional african harvest festivals.
The stray mat on which all the items rested -represents our culture and traditions which are the foundation on which we build strong families and communities.
The ear of corn - represents our off spring (children) which are the future.
The colors of Kwanzaa are Black, Red and Green.
The BLACK represents - the people (Afrikans)
The RED -represents the Blood, struggle and hard work of the people
The GREEN - the reward that comes from our struggle, the future, environment, our children.
Originally posted by King dahjah:
[qb] mi did a wundah if im bukk hup pan grandma kitchen an couldn tek de mount a nyamins available. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [/qb]
Originally posted by SistahD:
[qb] (((Ken))) As a Jamaican living in Canada, how did you first become involved with the 'African side' of your heritage, and led you to your development of Jaku Konbit?
Tell us a little more about the different programs Jaku Konbit offers the community. [/qb]
I became involved mainly through self- inquiry, books, associating with people who were doing real tangible and constructive work in the community. Also, being a father of two I think it was imperative to be the best role model I could be to my kids. Not only in parenting, but also on a cultural level. Self-identity is very important to me. It is the bases from which we operate, view and engaged the world around us.
I also want to be able to transmit or passed on to my children a clear an accurate account of their history and culture and the contributions that Africans have made in the development of civilization.
They were a small group of brothers and sister in the Ottawa area that were of the same mind and we began to organized and eventually established Jaku Konbit in 2000.
The word "Jaku" is dereived from the Ga language of Wes Africa and means 'Africans"
"Konbit" is from the Creole language if Haiti and means '"Working together - Helping each other"
Thus, Jaku Konbit means "Afrikans Helping Afrikans"
Jaku Konbit is non-profit, African centered, community based and family oriented organization committed to promoting the principles of self-reliance, community networking, and cooperation among people of African decent and people of good will everywhere.
Our programs:
We run a Saturday cultural for children of African descent (ages 4-12) designed to build leadership skill, self-esteem and the importance of teamwork. The children leaned math, science, history, art, African drumming, dancing, and public speaking.
We also organized the largest Kwanzaa celebration in Ottawa (attracting over 400 people) every December.
In February 2004 we are orgonizing a Job fair to help find employment for people in our community.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.