Originally posted by Olive_Senior:
[qb]I don't think I think much about 'atmosphere' when I am writing. I am more focussed on the characters - I see them in their setting, so perhaps the atmosphere arises out of that. I am assuming that we are talking about fiction writing here? This might not be an adequate reply, it might be easier to reply to something more specific. So spell it out a but more for me.
Ha-ha. Okay. All I really need is the solitude - I need to tune everybody-everything out and focus totally on my inner voice. But first, I have to have something in my head that I want to get down on paper. In other words, I do a lot of thinking/visualising before the actual writing. That is usually the last stage of the process, not the first. But we all have different ways of summoning the muse - if the candles, music, and the creation of a particularly welcoming atmosphere help, then go for them. Me, I like to feel that I am in prison, so just a computer, a blank wall and a closed door is good enough. Too much 'atmopshere' and I forget that it's work!
And Hey, why don't you just let that little creative streak out? [/qb]
I wasn't thinking about the content really - I was thinking about when you sit down to write... music, candles, darkness with one home-sweet-home [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] (just kidding)...
I know I need some amount of solitude to write... and certainly cool, calming sounds and smells help... of course, when the bug bites, you don't always have the chance to create such an atmosphere, you just have to take out the first thing you can find and start writing... but generally, what works for you? [/qb]
Originally posted by SistahD:
[qb] (((Ivory))) and did Itah read that out for you?? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] [/qb]
She did no such thing [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img] Anyways...where is the disclaimer that says one cannot seek outside help!? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
so as I was saying ... off to the Country Market I shall go! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
Originally posted by Portmore.:
[qb] No sah! Ivory cyaan win...shi get inside help [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [/qb]
I used the same kind of connections Compry does over in WWB! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Originally posted by Xavier:
[qb] How challenging was this new book? What were the sources you used to get the information (apart from being Jamaican)? [/qb]
Hey, Xavier. Well, the most important thing is being Jamaican, since a lot of the information I simply acquired as part of growing up there and being curious about all aspects of Jamaican life. But over many years (my lifetime, really) I have read just about everyting written about Jamaica - I've been collecting information long before I actually put the book together. Then once I started to write it, I did further research to fill in the gaps. Over the years, I also talked to many people with knowledge. Some were country people who knew the 'old time' ways of doing things; others were scholars and academics at the university. All in all, I have benefited from the work of all those who have gone before me and written books or articles about Jamaica or were willing to share their knowledge. I wrote the Encyclopedia because I hope that some of the younger generation (like you!) will take up the challenge of extending our knowledge about our wonderful country.
A yu rule, now.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.