<span style="font-weight: bold">News Source: OTGNR - </span>
<span style="font-weight: bold"> Confirmed : Verbal firestorm in ...r 2012 (RJR)...</span>
Verbal clashes erupted in Gordon House Tuesday as Government and Opposition MP's sniped at each other while they wrestled over two bills to postpone parish council elections for another year.While the government side used its majority to get the bills approved, MP's on both sides were unrelenting in standing their grounds.Robert Montague had brought the bills for the poll to be set aside, at least for another year because it will coincide with the population census.Battle royalIt was the third time the Golding government had sought an extension and Opposition and Government members came prepared for a battle royal."I am challenging you, if you think you bad [sic] come outside," Opposition Leader Portia Simpson-Miller shouted."Let them come because I can deal with all of them," said Opposition member, Dr. Peter Phillips."Mr. Speaker the member is descending into an abyss where we will not recover. He has cast aspersions on the government that we are threatening him and his family, he has cast aspersions that he can take us on, Mr. Speaker, it is unbecoming of the member," said House Leader, Andrew Holness.Eastern Hanover legislator, D.K. Duncan, accused the government of being insincere and "cherry picking" to catch up on waning political fortunes."We challenge you, on this side, to call the Local Government Elections in Kingston because we will win, in St. Catherine, because we will win, in Clarendon, because we will win," Mr. Duncan said."He should be cited and excluded from the House! He has breached the Standing Order! Shut your mouth! You don't have any sense! Duppy!" St. Ann MP Ernest Smith shouted.In the end, the government side out voted their Opposition counterparts 30 to 23 to pass the bills which will now be sent to the Senate for its stamp of approval.Out of orderAnd the fiery MP for South West St. Catherine Everald Warmington turned his wrath on House Speaker Delroy Chuck, who ruled that he was out of order when he lashed out at the Electoral Commission of Jamaica (ECJ).Mr. Warmington, a fierce critic of the ECJ was instructed by Mr. Chuck not to proceed with his line of argument during the highly charged debate on the postponement of local government elections."Most of what you said a while ago is irrelevant," Mr. Chuck said."I take exception to what you just said. I have a right to speak! I came here with one of the largest number of votes in this parliament, I came here with the largest majority, I resent what you just said to me Mr. Speaker. With due respect, you have crossed the line, Mr. Speaker, you should not have said that to me. I am speaking for the people of South West St. Catherine, therefore Mr. Speaker I am offended at your remarks. You know you're wrong, Mr. Speaker," Mr. Warmington said.
<span style="font-weight: bold"> Confirmed : Verbal firestorm in ...r 2012 (RJR)...</span>
Verbal clashes erupted in Gordon House Tuesday as Government and Opposition MP's sniped at each other while they wrestled over two bills to postpone parish council elections for another year.While the government side used its majority to get the bills approved, MP's on both sides were unrelenting in standing their grounds.Robert Montague had brought the bills for the poll to be set aside, at least for another year because it will coincide with the population census.Battle royalIt was the third time the Golding government had sought an extension and Opposition and Government members came prepared for a battle royal."I am challenging you, if you think you bad [sic] come outside," Opposition Leader Portia Simpson-Miller shouted."Let them come because I can deal with all of them," said Opposition member, Dr. Peter Phillips."Mr. Speaker the member is descending into an abyss where we will not recover. He has cast aspersions on the government that we are threatening him and his family, he has cast aspersions that he can take us on, Mr. Speaker, it is unbecoming of the member," said House Leader, Andrew Holness.Eastern Hanover legislator, D.K. Duncan, accused the government of being insincere and "cherry picking" to catch up on waning political fortunes."We challenge you, on this side, to call the Local Government Elections in Kingston because we will win, in St. Catherine, because we will win, in Clarendon, because we will win," Mr. Duncan said."He should be cited and excluded from the House! He has breached the Standing Order! Shut your mouth! You don't have any sense! Duppy!" St. Ann MP Ernest Smith shouted.In the end, the government side out voted their Opposition counterparts 30 to 23 to pass the bills which will now be sent to the Senate for its stamp of approval.Out of orderAnd the fiery MP for South West St. Catherine Everald Warmington turned his wrath on House Speaker Delroy Chuck, who ruled that he was out of order when he lashed out at the Electoral Commission of Jamaica (ECJ).Mr. Warmington, a fierce critic of the ECJ was instructed by Mr. Chuck not to proceed with his line of argument during the highly charged debate on the postponement of local government elections."Most of what you said a while ago is irrelevant," Mr. Chuck said."I take exception to what you just said. I have a right to speak! I came here with one of the largest number of votes in this parliament, I came here with the largest majority, I resent what you just said to me Mr. Speaker. With due respect, you have crossed the line, Mr. Speaker, you should not have said that to me. I am speaking for the people of South West St. Catherine, therefore Mr. Speaker I am offended at your remarks. You know you're wrong, Mr. Speaker," Mr. Warmington said.