will the upcoming elections in the usa have any effect on jamaica?howcome it is big news in jamaica and everybody is talking about it?
palin and obama and jamaica
Re: palin and obama and jamaica
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: tictoc</div><div class="ubbcode-body">will the upcoming elections in the usa have any effect on jamaica?howcome it is big news in jamaica and everybody is talking about it? </div></div>
the winner is irrelevant in the short term.... The effect will be the same no matter who is in power..2009 will be a extremely poor years in terms of tourism from the US.. 2010 will be worse...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i thought it was obvious... the greatest proportion of tourists in Ja are yanki...yanki economy will contract and there will be less disposable income.. thus less yanki travel.... </div></div>The pronciples of Economics is not as simple as that. Although th emajoroity of tourists are Americans. jamaica only accoint for less that 1/10 of 1% of the total american tourism. The other fact to be aware of is that because jamaic ahs majoroty economy rate vacatuins. althoigh may will cancel, others that use to visit more expensive locations will scale down to jamaican rates. Usually in a down market cheasper commodities increase un demand. I think that Jamaica will fare well if the powers realize the potentials, for business gorwth.
Disagree wid yu doc.....I beleive the number of vacationers will fall across the board..... The number of yankis will fall to Ja will fall... We will have to wait and see what happens....(note I said 2009 and 2010.. not this year..)
I don't understand why americans will not be able to afford to go on holiday,we are all feeling the crunch worldwide but still manage to go on holiday.
jamaica is cheap to get to for the americans,maybe people will start to stay at smaller local owned places rather than the glitzy resorts
Well if you are economically less secure you spend less... <span style="color: #FF0000"> First thing that is cut, is holidays</span>
You asked an opnion you got one. If you dont agree that is you perogative...What will be itneresting is the spring breakers.... Doc subtlity is interesting but I repsectfully disagreed with him...
Jamaica focuses its product too much on the yankis. My theisis is based simply on a my intuative knowelgde human reaction as well as the minor down turn in numbers that happened in hte during the S&L incident and post the Doc Com bubble. It is also a matter of perception.
It is also based on a speech by DK Duncan long ago who pointed out that dependency on tourism is actually not a reliable source of income as it depends too much on the perceived economics of the metropole.( Ok doc he is a dentist not an economist!)
All you can do is wait to see if I or the good Doc is right. If I am wrong I will say I am wrong in 2010.
I note that you have no opnion.. merely soliciting opnions of others....
"I don't understand why americans will not be able to afford to go on holiday,we are all feeling the crunch worldwide but still manage to go on holiday.
jamaica is cheap to get to for the americans,maybe people will start to stay at smaller local owned places rather than the glitzy resorts"
Tictoc,
Jamaica is close and used to be fairly inexpensive to fly to.
Now with fuel prices going through the roof, air fares have gone from around $350.00 to around $550.00 and many who were just able to afford the lower price can no longer afford the higher prices.
Packaged tour prices (airfare and hotel) have also climbed sharply and many U.S citizens who are xenophobic and to some degree racist and who would only stay at a guarded , fenced, resort and never leave the grounds lest they had to deal with regular (BLACK) Jamaicans and not just the servile employees of the hotels would never think of renting a house or at a laid-back Jamaican style accommodation.
The price of gasoline which has doubled and the price of home heating oil (which will run the average home something like $3000.00 U.S for the long heating season) are also major factors in why many middle-class Americans won't be leaving their immediate area for vacations.
In Massachusetts many people just went out to Cape Cod instead of flying off for vacation much as Jamaicans would travel from Kingston to Negril.
When it's just the price of a tank or two of gas for the car, it's affordable transportation but flying and the price of a good hotel are another matter.
times are hard everywhere,I still do not see why this should affect holidays,I am flying from england and flights are triple the price yet we will all be out there for our annual holiday and we are coming at xmas when prices are dearer.
If people want to come they will come,they may have to save a bit harder or drink less or smoke less for a while but if they want to come they still will.
is not every person wants to throw caution to the wind and max out their credit card all for the sake of a one week vacation.
when you have a fuel tank to fill
you need gas in your car
and you need to feed your family...
all of which costs much much more in this crazy economy.
i'd say MANY people will be foregoing vacations in favor of more pressing priorities....like eating.
Loops - chuss mi - nuh baddah get invalve wid dem yah <span style="font-weight: bold"><span style="font-style: italic">serenity</span></span> kinda ched!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: loops</div><div class="ubbcode-body">is not every person wants to throw caution to the wind and max out their credit card all for the sake of a one week vacation.
when you have a fuel tank to fill
you need gas in your car
and you need to feed your family...
all of which costs much much more in this crazy economy.
i'd say MANY people will be foregoing vacations in favor of more pressing priorities....like eating. </div></div>
Mi would sey serenity in terms of attitude but assumptions as per Tropi... if mi dweet everi badi mussi wan fi dweet.... an if ah suh mi fine hit ah mus suh e guh.... an yu know mi love tropi.... I guess the UK is not the mopst heavily indepted society in Europe.... But it seems holidays are unaffected...Rising unemployment in the UK is now an issue.. the quote of 2 million by crimbo....Holiday are being discounted heavily at the moment and now furniture sales in Autumn....
Yu notice mi an Johnny Cakes agree pan sinting.....
I am interested in the good docs counterintuative comment though.. it holds an intruging concept... But I have been postulating that the JTA shift advertising from North America to China and the middle east....