Re: This man irritates me...Jamaica Agriculture minister
For the record, I agree with you about what Jamaicans do when they move abroad - believe me, i have done my full share of supporting visa's to know what a person did or was not willing to do in ja, and what they do when abroad...and the substantiation for me is hearing this comment time and time again from unrelated persons.
I understand why some persons talk about the "dutty wuk" - to the point of wages being extremely low for that work in Ja, so the appeal of earning at least 4x more for same work abroad will win I guess.
But as I say, i think that this is the time for the government to change perception - the perception exists even today... AND THE WAGE STRUCTURES in these industries...but there has to be a good balance between both.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">There are so much to discuss, but the point that stares out at me is this stereotype of Jamaican not wanting to do"dirty work". That is a creation similar to the one that Jamaicans are lazy".
<span style="font-weight: bold">Yet these they are all willing to line up and pay big monies and go the the US to do the same "dutty work".
and are always in demand in the US for their ability to outdo all comers in the "dirty work".
Every statistic relating to Jamaicans attitude to all forms of work tend to the opposite.
Yet supposedly educated people still keep making these unsubstantiated statements</span>.
This is because it is promoted by those who do not or are not able to pay attractive enough wages. One that people van support a family on.
Is there any work dirtier than to cut burnt sugar cane?
What about bauxite mining? and I won't even think about construction in the industry that cement is the primary material.
The majority of Jamaican immigrant labour are employed in agriculture.
Many have done in annually for all their working lives, and the attractiveness is always more than the demand. yet they are not interested in :"dirty work".
Now where are the the supporting stories?
When the Jamaican elite want to employ foreigners, they complain that Jamaicans don't want work.
Yet they will not pay Jamaicans a living wage, while they give foreigners, palatial abode and hotel accounts in addition to their bloated salaries.
Yet they expect Jamaican to work for barely above the minimum wage.
Can I say that I hate hearing this?
Or would that be too harsh?? <span style="font-weight: bold">OK I will say it irritates me. I think that should be acceptable. </span> </div></div>
For the record, I agree with you about what Jamaicans do when they move abroad - believe me, i have done my full share of supporting visa's to know what a person did or was not willing to do in ja, and what they do when abroad...and the substantiation for me is hearing this comment time and time again from unrelated persons.
I understand why some persons talk about the "dutty wuk" - to the point of wages being extremely low for that work in Ja, so the appeal of earning at least 4x more for same work abroad will win I guess.
But as I say, i think that this is the time for the government to change perception - the perception exists even today... AND THE WAGE STRUCTURES in these industries...but there has to be a good balance between both.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">There are so much to discuss, but the point that stares out at me is this stereotype of Jamaican not wanting to do"dirty work". That is a creation similar to the one that Jamaicans are lazy".
<span style="font-weight: bold">Yet these they are all willing to line up and pay big monies and go the the US to do the same "dutty work".
and are always in demand in the US for their ability to outdo all comers in the "dirty work".
Every statistic relating to Jamaicans attitude to all forms of work tend to the opposite.
Yet supposedly educated people still keep making these unsubstantiated statements</span>.
This is because it is promoted by those who do not or are not able to pay attractive enough wages. One that people van support a family on.
Is there any work dirtier than to cut burnt sugar cane?
What about bauxite mining? and I won't even think about construction in the industry that cement is the primary material.
The majority of Jamaican immigrant labour are employed in agriculture.
Many have done in annually for all their working lives, and the attractiveness is always more than the demand. yet they are not interested in :"dirty work".
Now where are the the supporting stories?
When the Jamaican elite want to employ foreigners, they complain that Jamaicans don't want work.
Yet they will not pay Jamaicans a living wage, while they give foreigners, palatial abode and hotel accounts in addition to their bloated salaries.
Yet they expect Jamaican to work for barely above the minimum wage.
Can I say that I hate hearing this?
Or would that be too harsh?? <span style="font-weight: bold">OK I will say it irritates me. I think that should be acceptable. </span> </div></div>