Re: Kidnap fear grips the wealthy
As I stated so many times. The effects of slavery and colonialism, is not a past experience in Jamaica.
It is a continuing experience.
It is still there camouflaged as everything else, but it is still there.
Slavery and colonialism has been and still is about economic domination.
Whatever they claim you are suppose to be enjoying, if the experience is the same.
nothing has changed.
it is all about promise, but not action.
It is with them 24 hours for as long as it has been.
Western movies on the other hand have been offered as a distraction from reality.
Jamaicans actually know the difference between distraction and reality.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovich</div><div class="ubbcode-body">awrite mek mi change embrace to reffah to...u overstan now r u still a play obtuse..cho
if not, let mi expand...if u can still refer back to slavery an colonialism as continued influences on present behaviours, why then do u find the argument of western movies' influence so unpalatable.... </div></div>
As I stated so many times. The effects of slavery and colonialism, is not a past experience in Jamaica.
It is a continuing experience.
It is still there camouflaged as everything else, but it is still there.
Slavery and colonialism has been and still is about economic domination.
Whatever they claim you are suppose to be enjoying, if the experience is the same.
nothing has changed.
it is all about promise, but not action.
It is with them 24 hours for as long as it has been.
Western movies on the other hand have been offered as a distraction from reality.
Jamaicans actually know the difference between distraction and reality.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovich</div><div class="ubbcode-body">awrite mek mi change embrace to reffah to...u overstan now r u still a play obtuse..cho
if not, let mi expand...if u can still refer back to slavery an colonialism as continued influences on present behaviours, why then do u find the argument of western movies' influence so unpalatable.... </div></div>