Yesterday's Miami Herald had an interview with PM Bruce Golding titled "How Jamaica is coping with crisis"
PM Golding Interview - How Jamaica is coping with crisis
Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.comTags: None
Re: PM Golding Interview - How Jamaica is coping with crisis
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Xavier</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Yesterday's Miami Herald had an interview with PM Bruce Golding titled "How Jamaica is coping with crisis" </div></div>
Like Obama, he inherited a fiscal mess from the previous administration, which is very very unfortunate. Regardless of which administration is in powah now, the odds would be the same...it is not so much internal conditions, but outside influences that are going to help shape where we end up when the fiscal calamity eases.
Only a miracle is going to save [m]any of these fiscally flailing nations...all mi know seh, a whole heap a ppl a yaawd a baawl...all who mi noh hear fram since Woppie kill fillup, a look a smalls now, an dem a noh professional bawlers nor han hout seekers...ie ruff ruff bad.
edited...an inevitable form of economy comes to mind..'ope mi wrang.
Mi fren juss cum back aftah two weeks a yaawd...shi seh, when shi goh innah di supahmawkits dem, shi noh membah whey shi deh...everyting fram 'Merica deh pan di shelves..so di people dem paying chru dem teeth. soh wid all a dat, what lowering of debt is possible with so much being spent for ffarrin goods nat to menshan di tax?
**kissteet
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: britisha</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Mi fren juss cum back aftah two weeks a yaawd...shi seh, when shi goh innah di supahmawkits dem, shi noh membah whey shi deh...everyting fram 'Merica deh pan di shelves..so di people dem paying chru dem teeth. soh wid all a dat, what lowering of debt is possible with so much being spent for ffarrin goods nat to menshan di tax?
**kissteet
I've heard the same. ~ It should be No surprise to any of us!... We Jamaicans have always "yearned" (dare I say so) to "live the good life" which is exemplified in allmost all things that come from the "God bless Country" which Merica was often called by peeps bak a yawd, in my young days... I can remember when it was "cool" to wear any clothing that was sent or brought to us from Uncle Sam; labels didn't matter as long as they came from there.
We have only taken it several steps further by copying their lifestyles in most of our commerce and enterprises including American style supermarkets... Our "well to do" and many of our struggling "middle classes" can "feel good shopping" like Mericans a yawd.. Oh what a feeling? Some a dem doawant to be seen shopping for "local foods" 'cause it mek dem look "unsophisticated" and like ordinary "plebians". <span style="font-weight: bold">Our Govt have no choice, but to keep it going! no matter where the foreign exchange comes from</span>...
<span style="font-weight: bold">Our Govt have no choice, but to keep it going! no matter where the foreign exchange comes from.</span>
That's a very interesting ending to your commentary..no matter where the foreign exchange comes from.
Well, as old time ppl used to seh, "every day bukkit dah goh a well..."
I see in the link where the PM is asking Jamaicans to do some "belt tightening"....well, before we became "truly farrrinised" that had been asked before during one reign of the Oppposition, in particular when self-reliance and austerity were championed..and it came back to bite them in the rear...some Jamaicans don't even have the proverbial belt, much less what to tighten, only the good Lord knows how they survive.
[so] while he shouldn't be a bearer of bad tidings, it would be better to lay the cards on the table....the people are not fools, they know what o'clock is striking.
Currently there is a serious trade imbalance even among Caricom, where Jamaica is concerned...we are buying more than we are selling. From the looks of that among other things, we are heading down a financial slippery slope, BUT things and time will tell.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: britisha</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-weight: bold">Our Govt have no choice, but to keep it going! no matter where the foreign exchange comes from.</span>
That's a very interesting ending to your commentary..no matter where the foreign exchange comes from.
Well, as old time ppl used to seh, "every day bukkit dah goh a well..."
<span style="font-style: italic">My statement: <span style="font-weight: bold">no matter where the foreign exchange comes from,</span> was partly tongue in cheek and partly reality as I see it. Tongue in cheek in the sense that I wish it wasn't so, but wishing means zilch when we all know that the Govt is not going to disturbed the "apple cart" of those who would cause political mayhem for him and Jamaica...</span>
<span style="font-weight: bold">I see in the link where the PM is asking Jamaicans to do some "belt tightening"....well, before we became "truly farrrinised" that had been asked before during one reign of the Oppposition, in particular when self-reliance and austerity were championed..and it came back to bite them in the rear</span>...some Jamaicans don't even have the proverbial belt, much less what to tighten, only the good Lord knows how they survive.
[so] while he shouldn't be a bearer of bad tidings, it would be better to lay the cards on the table....the people are not fools, they know what o'clock is striking.
<span style="font-style: italic">Your point is well taken. You have re-visited the past when a previous govt called for sacrifice and tried a measure of austerity. ~ During the period, supermarket shelves became bare of goods that "some" could afford to buy if they were there... That made them angry, so they went to Miami to shop which didn't help our situation... It was "politically disastrous" for the govt. Bruce is well aware of that...</span>
Currently there is a serious trade imbalance even among Caricom, where Jamaica is concerned...we are buying more than we are selling. From the looks of that among other things, we are heading down a financial slippery slope, BUT things and time will tell.
<span style="font-style: italic">That is so true, but the questions have been asked: Why are we buying more from them than we are selling to them? which takes me to the next ques. Hoofa fault is it? It's ours. I know next to nothing about economics but I have a hunch that because our currency is weak, other Caricom members with stronger currencies can in real terms for our products than we can for theirs... That is why Trinidad was able to buy our Cement Company at Rockfort and I think one or two hotels on our North Coast, thanks to the never ending "devaluation of our currency during the Manley and Paterson periods which continues to this day.. ~ JAMAICA, it seems, will be a debtor nation for the foreseeable future...
</span></div></div>
I hope he is well aware of that B; and considering that he is passing rules and laws that might not go well with some in the international community, he bettah tread softly chru the tulips...since money talks, there could be serious repercussion, even worse than what the former PM experienced...with the www now, a firestorm could be set off against Ja..in less than a heartbeat..an not to downplay your comment, there ARE Jamaicans who don't give a darn about realistic foreign exchange...in odda words nat fantasy..