<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: blakkgiant</div><div class="ubbcode-body">jamaica gott out fram undar de imf thumb butt wait jamaica decide fii bow too da imf again </div></div>
It is amazing how oolish folks just jump at any talking points. First we never really left the IMF once we started borrowing from them.
Secondly it not like we quit borrowing when we did not borrow from the IMF.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: blakkgiant</div><div class="ubbcode-body">jamaica gott out fram undar de imf thumb butt wait jamaica decide fii bow too da imf again </div></div>
It is amazing how oolish folks just jump at any talking points. First we never really left the IMF once we started borrowing from them.
mii neva sed wii leff. mii sedd wii gott out fram undar dem thumb
bruce bow too dem soo taxx gawn upp yaawd qualitee aff life aggoo decline.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: blakkgiant</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: blakkgiant</div><div class="ubbcode-body">jamaica gott out fram undar de imf thumb butt wait jamaica decide fii bow too da imf again </div></div>
mii neva sed wii leff. mii sedd wii gott out fram undar dem thumb
bruce bow too dem soo taxx gawn upp yaawd qualitee aff life aggoo decline.
yu ear lovindeer imf chune </div></div>
There is materially no difference right now between the IMF and other lenders except the IMF rates are lower and the IMF demand conditionalities that may lead to legislative changes in the Countries it lend money to.
All lenders need their money forward and if we can get significantly lower rates from the IMF then we should do what is in our best interests.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: blakkgiant</div><div class="ubbcode-body">a latt aff ting went dunn inn jamaica framm 2000 too 2009
soo diss tredd iss fii review wat oonnoo tink ar sum aff de moas significant eventregardinn jamaica inn da decade dat soo pass </div></div>
Dem still a hole dead boddies fi ovah 30 days, widdout proper refrigershun, wursurah dan befoah...
wha mek?
Di shoothout a <span style="text-decoration: line-through">Dunkir</span> err Wess Kingston whey dem did leff dead bodies in di streets in di sun fi days...early 2000's...is anadda wikkid event...an cum tuh tink of it, mi a naminate yuh fi deman' a full investigashun innah di lasst of innocent lives innah dat.
Dat is di kwestian not ongle of di decade but di century.
AS we look back at the first decade of the second millennium, we remember the moments that changed our lives for better or worse. We will never forget 9/11, the day our world took a skid, tail-spinning into a new era of terrorism. Thousands of lives have since been lost in a war that started off-target and is being waged belatedly on a target that is moving far and wide, the latest being Yemen. Little Jamaica was not untouched. Our sons and daughters have been among those in the line of fire and tourists became increasingly nervous about travel.
Interestingly, the year 2000 saw a shaky Jamaica recovering from the financial crisis of the 90s. The Financial Services Commission was tasked with ensuring that the sector was properly regulated to prevent a recurrence of the 90s. They issued stern warnings about unregulated financial organisations, but these were sadly ignored by desperate and misguided Jamaicans who subsequently faced their personal financial 9/11
Jamaica also tapped into the power of cable and the internet with successful call centres servicing large US corporations, and computers becoming so ubiquitous that the popular furniture stores started stocking them. You would believe that with all of this technology, our tiny island of 2.6 million souls would have been able to reduce the intolerable level of crime and violence. It has not happened. In fact, we are hearing that the criminal underworld is well equipped with these instruments while they continue to steal close-circuit TV cameras installed by the security forces.
Taking a global view, we wonder how, with so much technology, we have not been able to curb crime and terrorism, provide better social services, and enact stricter laws to protect the environment. We need to exercise our God-given talents in a time when the world holds so much hope, but is manifesting so much desperation.
Thankfully, Jamaica has shining examples in almost every sphere of national life. Our own Professor Anthony Chen was part of the team which gained the Nobel Prize for their work on global warming, and our track and field stars have put Jamaica on the map. A friend from China confessed to me, "I had no idea where Jamaica was until I saw Bolt and your other athletes in Beijing - then I had to learn more about your country!" Our entrepreneurs, public servants, clergy, activists and volunteers have stars among them too numerous to name.
Here in Jamaica, our democratic system continued to be one of the most exemplary in the world, seeing the return to power of the PNP in 2002 and the election of the JLP in 2007. Prime Minister Golding's triumph has turned into an epic trial for his government. The global recession has battered our vulnerable island state, forcing us to go to the IMF for aid on their terms. Sadly, the year 2009 saw an increase in murders over 2008 and an extradition request from the USA hangs over Jamaica like the sword of Damocles.
These testing times for our leaders translate to testing times for those whom they lead. This new decade will require higher thinking and harder work. When we compare ourselves to our ancestors who created so much out of virtually nothing, we realise that if we were to use the new technology as tools rather than toys, Jamaica could make giant leaps. When we compare ourselves to our elders, who faced us instead of the television at the dining table, we see how we are robbing our children of the privilege of family interaction and guidance.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.