Re: Why Are Black-Led Countries Doing So Badly?
So there is no hope...so then what? Blacks should just sit and wait for some benevolent European to give them what is rightfully theirs?
You still miss the point. This is not about what someone else can give us. This is not about styles of government. This is about doing for ourselves. Look, the Middle Easternn countries have sponsored embargos and raised prices when it was in their interests. Why can't Zambia do the same with copper? If the Chineses need it that bad, make them pay for it! Build some schools, build roads--whatever! Use the tools that you have to get what you want. Everybody else does it to us. Why can't we do it to them?
That's what I'm talking about! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70458-applaud.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70458-applaud.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70458-applaud.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70458-applaud.gif[/img]
Black countries have the resources and the impoverished work force that capitalism needs to develop and prosper. None of the state-of-the art weaponry, computers, appliances, etc. can be built without raw materials from AFRICA and to a lesser extent Latin America and the Caribbean. So wah mek?
Now we seem to be getting somewhere. What everyone on here mentioned are indeed very good and vital points and they cannot be ignored. However, we need to focus on the fact that while so called "black" lead countries are poorer FINANCIALLY they are among the richest in NATURAL RESOURCES and RAW MATERIALS.
Now if you have bread and few other shops owners like yourself have bread, then the way to sell it at a profitable and sustainable price is to;
DO WHAT THE WESTERN COUNTRIES ARE DOING TO POORER COUNTRIES.
1. Form an association between them and their fellow shop owners.
2. Agree a reasonable profit margin between themselves
3. Sell at that price universally regardless of where clients go to purchase.
4. Regulate the industry
The shop owner scenario is in essence price fixing and many countries are tempted to undercut their neighbours. If they have the goods the richer countries around the world needs the poorer countries WILL have to be united and form a body that regulate the prices and make sure they stick together and stick to their guns. Look at petrol/gas stations around your country - all of them sell the gas/petrol for around the same price give/take a cent/penny or two. You won't find one that is substantially cheaper than the others because all the oil barons sell their oil at roughly the same price per barrel - (despite the tax making up 80% or more of the price of the petrol/gas)! If they didn't do that they would be sitting on oil with no buyers as they would be undercut. Poorer countries with "undiscovered" or "unrefined" oil cannot compete/undercut while their oil sits beneath the ground "unmined".
Poorer countries need to put their interests and wishes before those of richer countries but they need to strike a balance between that and selling/trading at a reasonable price universally across all those that provide the same natural resources. Investment would be based upon mutual benefits rather than exploitation, if those with the raw materials don't unite. Otherwise in my opinion the poorer countries will remain poor and hungry and vulnerable to foreign countries exploiting their natural resources and raping their country; threatening to go to another poor country that has the same/similar resources if their exploitative terms of business are not met.
So there is no hope...so then what? Blacks should just sit and wait for some benevolent European to give them what is rightfully theirs?
You still miss the point. This is not about what someone else can give us. This is not about styles of government. This is about doing for ourselves. Look, the Middle Easternn countries have sponsored embargos and raised prices when it was in their interests. Why can't Zambia do the same with copper? If the Chineses need it that bad, make them pay for it! Build some schools, build roads--whatever! Use the tools that you have to get what you want. Everybody else does it to us. Why can't we do it to them?
That's what I'm talking about! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70458-applaud.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70458-applaud.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70458-applaud.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70458-applaud.gif[/img]
Black countries have the resources and the impoverished work force that capitalism needs to develop and prosper. None of the state-of-the art weaponry, computers, appliances, etc. can be built without raw materials from AFRICA and to a lesser extent Latin America and the Caribbean. So wah mek?
Now we seem to be getting somewhere. What everyone on here mentioned are indeed very good and vital points and they cannot be ignored. However, we need to focus on the fact that while so called "black" lead countries are poorer FINANCIALLY they are among the richest in NATURAL RESOURCES and RAW MATERIALS.
Now if you have bread and few other shops owners like yourself have bread, then the way to sell it at a profitable and sustainable price is to;
DO WHAT THE WESTERN COUNTRIES ARE DOING TO POORER COUNTRIES.
1. Form an association between them and their fellow shop owners.
2. Agree a reasonable profit margin between themselves
3. Sell at that price universally regardless of where clients go to purchase.
4. Regulate the industry
The shop owner scenario is in essence price fixing and many countries are tempted to undercut their neighbours. If they have the goods the richer countries around the world needs the poorer countries WILL have to be united and form a body that regulate the prices and make sure they stick together and stick to their guns. Look at petrol/gas stations around your country - all of them sell the gas/petrol for around the same price give/take a cent/penny or two. You won't find one that is substantially cheaper than the others because all the oil barons sell their oil at roughly the same price per barrel - (despite the tax making up 80% or more of the price of the petrol/gas)! If they didn't do that they would be sitting on oil with no buyers as they would be undercut. Poorer countries with "undiscovered" or "unrefined" oil cannot compete/undercut while their oil sits beneath the ground "unmined".
Poorer countries need to put their interests and wishes before those of richer countries but they need to strike a balance between that and selling/trading at a reasonable price universally across all those that provide the same natural resources. Investment would be based upon mutual benefits rather than exploitation, if those with the raw materials don't unite. Otherwise in my opinion the poorer countries will remain poor and hungry and vulnerable to foreign countries exploiting their natural resources and raping their country; threatening to go to another poor country that has the same/similar resources if their exploitative terms of business are not met.