Re: Chavez saves Jamaica's LNG plan
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dyoll_73</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I'm more in favor of a publicly-owned transportation system, certainly for the Kingston/Portmore/Spanish Town area. I was in high school in the mid to late 80's - mostly during Pearnel Charles's stewardship - and the bus system was chaotic to nightmarish. This was after the demise of J.O.S. "Big man, step roun in a di middle." "Nice lady, ease back an mek da man yah pass yuh." Passengers were jammed tighter than sardines in a can. Do you remember Professor Nuts hit tune: "Inna di bus." You had three people hanging off the door, somtimes dodging light posts or other vehicles.</div></div>
Yes the Comrades have a name for this period. They called it the time of the Middle Paassage.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Okay, so there weren't enough buses to deal with passenger demand. And there was more money to gain from packing the buses to twice their capacities. If transportation was good business, why weren't there more bus operators? Was it government regulations which prevented potential operators? Was it the cost of doing so? Or was there 'scheming' among operators to secure certain areas/communities and prevent the entry of new players? If there were sufficient buses to handle the passenger volume, would those operations remain viable? Would there have to be mergers?</div></div>
Remember the JLP (a credit to them) kept the motor vehicle restriction policy from the 70s in place.
Of course in any restrictive environment there is also greater opportunities for collusion and corruption. Added to that they JLP Government was pushed into this un-solution and never really had a transportation policy that spoke to all the possibilities.
They inherited a broken system and mated it with a flawed solution. All they needed was to take the best parts of the old Jolly Josephs Bus Service, add a decent importation and licensing system, allowing for private ownership only from a short-list of buses to a Franchise. Not one man one buss, which was Pernel’s motto.
The Government could then see to the administration of a unified PP Transportation Policy, which was the case in Jamaica prior to the 72 victory of Menlie.
If you remember you had the bus service owned privately, the trains owned and managed by the State, The Hackney Carriages owned and managed by Taxi Associations and Private vehicles all under the Transportation Ministry.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Ideally, privately owned transportation (profit-making entities) should create a situation where competition leads to better services and prices. Ironically, here, the profit motive led to poor service.
If it were publicly owned, efficiently managed, ran on schedule with nice coaches, air-conditioned, maybe tv screens, security, at an affordable price to passengers, it would be great. Will there be a substantial cost? Of course. But more people who would otherwise be turned off from public transportation, trying to get a deportee as quickly as possible, and those pursuaded to use public transportation for economic and environmental reasons would help to offset the cost. They could even sell advertisements on the sides. A first rate system would attract more middle class people to ride the bus or a rail sytem in the case of communities like Portmore and Spanish Town. People of all walks of life would use such a transportation system. It will require some matching funds from the government, but it is a responsiblity, I think, the government should undertake given the economic benefit of the ability of people to move easily within the corporate area.
I'm not pretending to give an exhaustive analysis of the transportation system. These are just my humble musings. </div></div>
Transportation is still under the Administration of the GOJ, we now have State Owned and operated buses along with Private Transportation solution.
The problems of the 70s and 80s still persist however.
There is a huge body of evidence to show that all the PNP led Administrations of the 70s, 80s, 90 till now, have failed to deal in a positive way, with the country’s problems. From picking up garbage to picking up and transporting people around the Metropolis
This so-called bus service is costing Jamaicans millions per year, yet the buses are rotting shells, operated by careless staff.
As Danny Roberts said when it was time to hire Staff for the JUTC he was going to make sure that he would not be doing anything to cause the PNP to lose the elections. I can’t find the exact quote, but trust me it is another situation where all or most of the persons employed at a State owned Company are Party favourites.
There is no emphasis on ability to serve the paying public.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dyoll_73</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I'm more in favor of a publicly-owned transportation system, certainly for the Kingston/Portmore/Spanish Town area. I was in high school in the mid to late 80's - mostly during Pearnel Charles's stewardship - and the bus system was chaotic to nightmarish. This was after the demise of J.O.S. "Big man, step roun in a di middle." "Nice lady, ease back an mek da man yah pass yuh." Passengers were jammed tighter than sardines in a can. Do you remember Professor Nuts hit tune: "Inna di bus." You had three people hanging off the door, somtimes dodging light posts or other vehicles.</div></div>
Yes the Comrades have a name for this period. They called it the time of the Middle Paassage.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Okay, so there weren't enough buses to deal with passenger demand. And there was more money to gain from packing the buses to twice their capacities. If transportation was good business, why weren't there more bus operators? Was it government regulations which prevented potential operators? Was it the cost of doing so? Or was there 'scheming' among operators to secure certain areas/communities and prevent the entry of new players? If there were sufficient buses to handle the passenger volume, would those operations remain viable? Would there have to be mergers?</div></div>
Remember the JLP (a credit to them) kept the motor vehicle restriction policy from the 70s in place.
Of course in any restrictive environment there is also greater opportunities for collusion and corruption. Added to that they JLP Government was pushed into this un-solution and never really had a transportation policy that spoke to all the possibilities.
They inherited a broken system and mated it with a flawed solution. All they needed was to take the best parts of the old Jolly Josephs Bus Service, add a decent importation and licensing system, allowing for private ownership only from a short-list of buses to a Franchise. Not one man one buss, which was Pernel’s motto.
The Government could then see to the administration of a unified PP Transportation Policy, which was the case in Jamaica prior to the 72 victory of Menlie.
If you remember you had the bus service owned privately, the trains owned and managed by the State, The Hackney Carriages owned and managed by Taxi Associations and Private vehicles all under the Transportation Ministry.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Ideally, privately owned transportation (profit-making entities) should create a situation where competition leads to better services and prices. Ironically, here, the profit motive led to poor service.
If it were publicly owned, efficiently managed, ran on schedule with nice coaches, air-conditioned, maybe tv screens, security, at an affordable price to passengers, it would be great. Will there be a substantial cost? Of course. But more people who would otherwise be turned off from public transportation, trying to get a deportee as quickly as possible, and those pursuaded to use public transportation for economic and environmental reasons would help to offset the cost. They could even sell advertisements on the sides. A first rate system would attract more middle class people to ride the bus or a rail sytem in the case of communities like Portmore and Spanish Town. People of all walks of life would use such a transportation system. It will require some matching funds from the government, but it is a responsiblity, I think, the government should undertake given the economic benefit of the ability of people to move easily within the corporate area.
I'm not pretending to give an exhaustive analysis of the transportation system. These are just my humble musings. </div></div>
Transportation is still under the Administration of the GOJ, we now have State Owned and operated buses along with Private Transportation solution.
The problems of the 70s and 80s still persist however.
There is a huge body of evidence to show that all the PNP led Administrations of the 70s, 80s, 90 till now, have failed to deal in a positive way, with the country’s problems. From picking up garbage to picking up and transporting people around the Metropolis
This so-called bus service is costing Jamaicans millions per year, yet the buses are rotting shells, operated by careless staff.
As Danny Roberts said when it was time to hire Staff for the JUTC he was going to make sure that he would not be doing anything to cause the PNP to lose the elections. I can’t find the exact quote, but trust me it is another situation where all or most of the persons employed at a State owned Company are Party favourites.
There is no emphasis on ability to serve the paying public.