Am I crazy or is this like $20US a day?
Lawda massi - help us.
____
Palmyra workers walk off the job
published: Wednesday | July 11, 2007
WESTERN BUREAU:
Work at the US$150 million ($10.2 billion) Palmyra Resort and Spa in Rose Hall, St. James, was halted shortly after midday on Monday when construction workers from all departments walked off the job.
"We are being underpaid, and they promised to raise the money from February and all we get is promises, promises," said Milton Francis, a disgruntled labourer, who spoke with The Gleaner yesterday.
"They meet with the union representatives and say them a go sign document, yet all now nothing nuh sign. They called a meeting and told us that they paid visits to similar sites and would ensure that we are paid far better than them, but all that is just promise."
<span style="color: #CC0000">Shangai Construction, which is the contractor for the development, employs more than 150 workers at a daily rate of $1,300 for labourers and $1,500 for tradesmen.
No comment
Dennis Constanza, president of Palmyra, could not be reached for comment yesterday.
The first phase of the development is currently under construction, which includes three condominium buildings, villas, a 23,000 square-foot spa and two restaurants. It is scheduled for completion in late 2007.
Prices for the villas and condos range from US$451,000 ($30.6 million) to US$3.5 million ($238 million).
Lawda massi - help us.
____
Palmyra workers walk off the job
published: Wednesday | July 11, 2007
WESTERN BUREAU:
Work at the US$150 million ($10.2 billion) Palmyra Resort and Spa in Rose Hall, St. James, was halted shortly after midday on Monday when construction workers from all departments walked off the job.
"We are being underpaid, and they promised to raise the money from February and all we get is promises, promises," said Milton Francis, a disgruntled labourer, who spoke with The Gleaner yesterday.
"They meet with the union representatives and say them a go sign document, yet all now nothing nuh sign. They called a meeting and told us that they paid visits to similar sites and would ensure that we are paid far better than them, but all that is just promise."
<span style="color: #CC0000">Shangai Construction, which is the contractor for the development, employs more than 150 workers at a daily rate of $1,300 for labourers and $1,500 for tradesmen.
No comment
Dennis Constanza, president of Palmyra, could not be reached for comment yesterday.
The first phase of the development is currently under construction, which includes three condominium buildings, villas, a 23,000 square-foot spa and two restaurants. It is scheduled for completion in late 2007.
Prices for the villas and condos range from US$451,000 ($30.6 million) to US$3.5 million ($238 million).