Apparently this recently aired on BBC channel 4. Its not pretty but I thought it was for the most part fair.
Unreported World Documentary on Jamaica Garrisons..
Re: Unreported World Documentary on Jamaica Garrisons..
part 3 :
It was on Channel 4 not the BBC.... Nothing new.... However I found the reporter irriating.... A police man about to enter a murder scene and he is asking for a general comment.. personally I would have shot him.. Granted that the police were less than competent...
It is on the Channel 4 website...
And this guy is a lightweight Powell I thought figuratively tore him a new hole....
Also he only told half the story no mention of the role drugs play.. it seems that it is simply polticians are financing the gangs.. Take away poltical contributions and they would remain...
As for Omar, the police federation have a different experience of his connection to gangs...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">It was on Channel 4 not the BBC.... Nothing new.... However I found the reporter irriating.... A police man about to enter a murder scene and he is asking for a general comment.. personally I would have shot him.. Granted that the police were less than competent...
It is on the Channel 4 website...
And this guy is a lightweight Powell I thought figuratively tore him a new hole....
Also he only told half the story no mention of the role drugs play.. it seems that it is simply polticians are financing the gangs.. Take away poltical contributions and they would remain...
As for Omar, the police federation have a different experience of his connection to gangs... </div></div>
That's true about th epolitics as the life line of the gangs.
Drugs has been in Jamaica since the Indians came in 1865.
If th edrug hangs did not have political cover that the police is afraid ofthey would have been history.
Even with th edrugs,the mahem would not be that privalent.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">is like the chicken and the egg
why are the drug gangs given political cover? </div></div>
You mean that all that time you live a town,you no fameliar
youself with the downtown class of people RichD?
Me shame fi you.
No chicken and egg situation here. It is simple It is the
politicians that have complete control. If th ecriminals want to
sell their drugs in peace. They have to appease the police
unless they have bigger backative. the bigger backative control the boss of all bosses of the police.
The worst thing a croojed police officer wan't is to be transfered out of their bread n'butter area.
They will toe the line to be able to ahve their runnings cool.
If th epolice knows who is the untouchable, and leave him to
commit his crime against the poor people, that officer will be
allowed to carry on with his/her own petty and not so crimes.
This is simple as black and white.
Irrespective of how strong a drug barron is,politician can bring
in th earmy if they wish,but mostle they use police from out of
the area. So that his plant in the precinct,won't alert him of the operation.
This is not rocket science,nor is it a puzzle either.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">so what do the politicians get for allowing this activity? </div></div>
Them get the criminal gangs to make sure that all the votes in th eare go to them.
In addition they use them as personal security under some circusmtances.
Not to mention use them as hit men aNd enforcers, to antagonize areas that are aligned with the opposite side to prevent them from voting.
They also use them to intimidate business people to align themselves and contribute financially to their election campaign.
The influence of the U.S should also bear a good share of the blame as regards the problem of violent drug gangs.
It is the U.S that is the destination for most of the cocaine and heroin that is transhipped by the Jamaican gangs . A big problem is that some of these drugs STAY in Jamaica. There wouldn't be the large amounts that there are if there were not such a huge demand from the States.
Secondly, the gun problem stemmed from the CIA destabilization back in the late 70's early 80's when they flew in tons of weapons to upset the (left leaning) Manley government.
Manley is gone, Jamaica is safely in the capitalist camp but the guns are still there and in even greater numbers.
And you know what?
The U.S couldn't care less about the drugs or violence or what they are doing to Jamaica .
They got what they wanted .
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">so what do the politicians get for allowing this activity? </div></div>
Guaranteed votes.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Them get the criminal gangs to make sure that all the votes in th eare go to them.
Not to mention use them as hit men aNd enforcers, to antagonize areas that are aligned with the opposite side to prevent them from voting.
They also use them to intimidate business people to align themselves and contribute financially to their election campaign.</div></div>
We must realise as well that,
1: The politicians are responsible for the results of high crime rate by financing garrisons.
2: Uptown and other areas will eventually feel the wrath of garrisons.
3: Politicians have vested interests in garrsions being in place.
We also need to realise that garrisons work against democracy becuase any garrsion controlled areas mean the people cannot vote DEMOCRATICALLY! They are dictated to by the gang leader(s) who enforce which party to vote for with the threat of death! Voting under duress - WHAT KIND OF ELECTION SYSTEM IS THAT!!
Jamaica needs a change!
But I am not holding my breath. I am glad they did the film. If a "black" man tried to make such a film he would have been killed! It took a white foreigner to go into areas jamaicans themselves dare not to venture to film with the blessing of the war lords and dons.
as I always say... Nuff people a jamaica a suffa and nuff suffaration inna jamaica.
When will a jamaican government declare the garrisons as terrorists and disband them.
<span style="color: #CC6600"><span style='font-size: 11pt'>When?</span></span> <span style="color: #CC0000"><span style='font-size: 14pt'>When?</span></span> <span style="color: #FF0000"><span style='font-size: 17pt'>When!</span></span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: More4us</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Them get the criminal gangs to make sure that all the votes in th eare go to them.
They also use them to intimidate business people to align themselves and contribute financially to their election campaign.</div></div>
We must realise as well that,
1: The politicians are responsible for the results of high crime rate by financing garrisons.
2: Uptown and other areas will eventually feel the wrath of garrisons.
3: Politicians have vested interests in garrsions being in place.
We also need to realise that garrisons work against democracy becuase any garrsion controlled areas mean the people cannot vote DEMOCRATICALLY! They are dictated to by the gang leader(s) who enforce which party to vote for with the threat of death! Voting under duress - WHAT KIND OF ELECTION SYSTEM IS THAT!!
Jamaica needs a change!
But I am not holding my breath. I am glad they did the film. If a "black" man tried to make such a film he would have been killed! It took a white foreigner to go into areas jamaicans themselves dare not to venture to film with the blessing of the war lords and dons.
as I always say... Nuff people a jamaica a suffa and nuff suffaration inna jamaica.
When will a jamaican government declare the garrisons as terrorists and disband them.
<span style="color: #CC6600"><span style='font-size: 11pt'>When?</span></span> <span style="color: #CC0000"><span style='font-size: 14pt'>When?</span></span> <span style="color: #FF0000"><span style='font-size: 17pt'>When!</span></span>
A similar probably more far reaching film was done by another 'white foreigner' . I think it was a documentary name "born fi dead'. many of those who presenrly are loudest at supporting th enew givernment, condemn the woman,and even the 'one don' threaten to sue her (yes is a woman) if she put a foot back in Jamaica.
So it has happened before,but because it was not the BBC,it is getting all th eattention. As questionable as the credibillity od that organiozation has become lately. with the bogus contest that have fictitious winners being published,etc.