Re: Hunger In Jamaica?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: johnnycakes</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: TSmall</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style='font-size: 11pt'><span style='font-family: Comic Sans MS'>I don't know the history of Jamacia and her politics, so I won't enter that debate, but what I do know is that the economy is so bad that many, many people struggle to feed themselves and their children. The cost of living is so high that a working man struggels just to afford enough food to feed his family. Many people live like this. Wages are low, much too low. If skilled laborers are making $1,000 - $1,200J a day and then that man needs to take taxis, which are high due to high gas prices, to work and what is left is little to nothing. My friend in Negril has been working over 5 years at one property and she makes more then any other employee there, that is $1,000 J a day, not even $20 US. We shop at the same local market, I know what it costs to buy food, even if you're brown stewing chicken back and cooking a pot of rice or dumpling. If you have children to support, its a struggle. People are struggling, children struggle. People look for food for that one meal or that day. I know this is not all people, but so many people are hungry. So many people are living a life that is less then what they deserve.
As far as the new govt is concerned, I never heard much good about this party, BUT things must change. They must. How can the tourist industry alone bring in billions or trillions of $US to Jamaica and the people have to go without food? What is wrong with that picture? How can the little man survive and improve his life or give a glimps of a chance of his children making a good life for themselves if they are going hungry? I see that Jamaicans are a proud people and so they should be. This pride keeps them from walking like a hungry man and let the world know things gone bad in their society.
It has to change. Education, job market, health care it all has to come up. Jamaicans deserve better!</span></span> </div></div>
TSmall,
Thank you for a very well written post on the problem. You pointed out the difficulties of life for the Jamaican poor very eloquently.
You may not know much about politics or history but you can clearly see what is going on.
I would point out that the original article stated that Jamaica produces enough food to adequately feed everyone in the country which means that the problem of hunger in Jamaica has to be in how that food is distributed.
The food and everything else you have to buy to survive depends on you having enough money to buy it.
The problems of deprivation arise when you do not have enough money to buy what you need.
You do not have the money you need to buy what you need because you do not make enough money and this is true in every country on Earth where hunger is a problem.
You do not make enough money because:
1) you are not paid a living wage by your company or employer.
2) there is not enough work for everybody
3) the government has neither the resources nor the will to prevent hunger and is an integral part of the problem as it supports the economic system that now exists.
The problem is the economic system which has as a first priority the right of individuals to amass large sums of money but no priority at all for the basic needs of the people and especially no priority for the needs of the poor.
Take note of my sign-off which could also be written::
"In the world today millions of children starve to death.
Not one is Cuban"
Cuba has a SOCIALIST economy under which the needs of the people and especially the poor are the priority.
It is basically against Cuban law for anyone to be rich because if that were possible it would mean that for every millionaire, 500 people would have to live in dire poverty in that poor country.
That same thing applies as well to Jamaica and the rest of the Third (developing) World. There are a small number of very wealthy people and a great many who don't have enough to eat. Were that wealth to be shared, there would be enough for all.
There is a now famous quote from a Brazilian cleric who said:
"When I fed the poor, they called me a saint.
When I asked why they were poor, they called me a communist"
It's not very difficult to understand even if you know nothing of politics.
You can also learn these basics in any church that teaches the words of Jesus who was quoted as saying:
"It is easier for a camel to pass through the eye of a needle than it is for a rich man to enter the kingdom of heaven."
That is so because a rich man is sitting on his piles of money watching and knowing that the poor around him are starving.
Socialism is no less than the teachings of Christ put into an economic system.
Very easy to understand unless you're a rich man or anyone else supporting a system that would allow anyone to sit on piles of money while children starve to death.
<span style="color: #3333FF">
<span style='font-size: 11pt'><span style='font-family: Comic Sans MS'>My opinion is, that it is a crime and a sin or a sin first then a crime that ANY PERSON in ANY COUNTRY of the world goes to bed hungry! This is the land of PLENTY here in the US and in so many countries of the world. And as you quoted, there IS plenty of food to feed the people, but GREEDY people take what is their's, and your's and mine and leave nothing, nada or very little for those who need it! Shame on them, collectively and individually. My MAKER does NOT look pon dat nicely at all.
Enter the Kingdom of God when you pass a starving man or woman on your lane and boast bout what is yours??? Mi noh tink suh. BTW how many people actually KNOW what it is like to go hungry, till your beely aches for days??</span></span></span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: johnnycakes</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: TSmall</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style='font-size: 11pt'><span style='font-family: Comic Sans MS'>I don't know the history of Jamacia and her politics, so I won't enter that debate, but what I do know is that the economy is so bad that many, many people struggle to feed themselves and their children. The cost of living is so high that a working man struggels just to afford enough food to feed his family. Many people live like this. Wages are low, much too low. If skilled laborers are making $1,000 - $1,200J a day and then that man needs to take taxis, which are high due to high gas prices, to work and what is left is little to nothing. My friend in Negril has been working over 5 years at one property and she makes more then any other employee there, that is $1,000 J a day, not even $20 US. We shop at the same local market, I know what it costs to buy food, even if you're brown stewing chicken back and cooking a pot of rice or dumpling. If you have children to support, its a struggle. People are struggling, children struggle. People look for food for that one meal or that day. I know this is not all people, but so many people are hungry. So many people are living a life that is less then what they deserve.
As far as the new govt is concerned, I never heard much good about this party, BUT things must change. They must. How can the tourist industry alone bring in billions or trillions of $US to Jamaica and the people have to go without food? What is wrong with that picture? How can the little man survive and improve his life or give a glimps of a chance of his children making a good life for themselves if they are going hungry? I see that Jamaicans are a proud people and so they should be. This pride keeps them from walking like a hungry man and let the world know things gone bad in their society.
It has to change. Education, job market, health care it all has to come up. Jamaicans deserve better!</span></span> </div></div>
TSmall,
Thank you for a very well written post on the problem. You pointed out the difficulties of life for the Jamaican poor very eloquently.
You may not know much about politics or history but you can clearly see what is going on.
I would point out that the original article stated that Jamaica produces enough food to adequately feed everyone in the country which means that the problem of hunger in Jamaica has to be in how that food is distributed.
The food and everything else you have to buy to survive depends on you having enough money to buy it.
The problems of deprivation arise when you do not have enough money to buy what you need.
You do not have the money you need to buy what you need because you do not make enough money and this is true in every country on Earth where hunger is a problem.
You do not make enough money because:
1) you are not paid a living wage by your company or employer.
2) there is not enough work for everybody
3) the government has neither the resources nor the will to prevent hunger and is an integral part of the problem as it supports the economic system that now exists.
The problem is the economic system which has as a first priority the right of individuals to amass large sums of money but no priority at all for the basic needs of the people and especially no priority for the needs of the poor.
Take note of my sign-off which could also be written::
"In the world today millions of children starve to death.
Not one is Cuban"
Cuba has a SOCIALIST economy under which the needs of the people and especially the poor are the priority.
It is basically against Cuban law for anyone to be rich because if that were possible it would mean that for every millionaire, 500 people would have to live in dire poverty in that poor country.
That same thing applies as well to Jamaica and the rest of the Third (developing) World. There are a small number of very wealthy people and a great many who don't have enough to eat. Were that wealth to be shared, there would be enough for all.
There is a now famous quote from a Brazilian cleric who said:
"When I fed the poor, they called me a saint.
When I asked why they were poor, they called me a communist"
It's not very difficult to understand even if you know nothing of politics.
You can also learn these basics in any church that teaches the words of Jesus who was quoted as saying:
"It is easier for a camel to pass through the eye of a needle than it is for a rich man to enter the kingdom of heaven."
That is so because a rich man is sitting on his piles of money watching and knowing that the poor around him are starving.
Socialism is no less than the teachings of Christ put into an economic system.
Very easy to understand unless you're a rich man or anyone else supporting a system that would allow anyone to sit on piles of money while children starve to death.
<span style="color: #3333FF">
<span style='font-size: 11pt'><span style='font-family: Comic Sans MS'>My opinion is, that it is a crime and a sin or a sin first then a crime that ANY PERSON in ANY COUNTRY of the world goes to bed hungry! This is the land of PLENTY here in the US and in so many countries of the world. And as you quoted, there IS plenty of food to feed the people, but GREEDY people take what is their's, and your's and mine and leave nothing, nada or very little for those who need it! Shame on them, collectively and individually. My MAKER does NOT look pon dat nicely at all.
Enter the Kingdom of God when you pass a starving man or woman on your lane and boast bout what is yours??? Mi noh tink suh. BTW how many people actually KNOW what it is like to go hungry, till your beely aches for days??</span></span></span>