tourism,even cawling fi Kingston fi tek awn cruise ships....afta weh dem do di Harbour to its detriment and the detriment of Palisadoes etc, i am soooo disappointed...wat is ur take ...i am open to change mi mind but mi did tink dem was gwine come wid someting odda dan dis continued seeming reliance pon one ting... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70394-bawlout.gif[/img]
TG i am conflicted by dis new minista an him press pon
Re: TG i am conflicted by dis new minista an him press pon
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">tourism,even cawling fi Kingston fi tek awn cruise ships....afta weh dem do di Harbour to its detriment and the detriment of Palisadoes etc, i am soooo disappointed...wat is ur take ...i am open to change mi mind but mi did tink dem was gwine come wid someting odda dan dis continued seeming reliance pon one ting... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70394-bawlout.gif[/img] </div></div>
Well he is the Minister of Tourism and he would have to carry out his mandate as for the question of this being workable venture.... consider this, Portland then Kingston was once the so-called Tourist Capital of Jamaica. That is what made the Craft Market viable.
This might actually lead to a better treatment of the Harbour and indeed the Wider Kingston.
As for the one paced type casting of the Jamaican Economy, I don’t it is early days yet. Perhaps it is easy to tek aff a food from some live who have the Green Backs in hand than to build and open factories right now.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">tourism,even cawling fi Kingston fi tek awn cruise ships....afta weh dem do di Harbour to its detriment and the detriment of Palisadoes etc, i am soooo disappointed...wat is ur take ...i am open to change mi mind but mi did tink dem was gwine come wid someting odda dan dis continued seeming reliance pon one ting... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70394-bawlout.gif[/img] </div></div>
Well I am conflicted too but for different reasons. Have you seen Kingston lately ? Kingston would need a major, major, major overhaul, cleanup, renovation before one could call it a cruise ship destination. On the plus side maybe this would inspire the government to stop neglecting the capital and do something that would be of benefit to ordinary Jamaicans.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SmoothOperator</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">tourism,even cawling fi Kingston fi tek awn cruise ships....afta weh dem do di Harbour to its detriment and the detriment of Palisadoes etc, i am soooo disappointed...wat is ur take ...i am open to change mi mind but mi did tink dem was gwine come wid someting odda dan dis continued seeming reliance pon one ting... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70394-bawlout.gif[/img] </div></div>
Well I am conflicted too but for different reasons. Have you seen Kingston lately ? Kingston would need a major, major, major overhaul, cleanup, renovation before one could call it a cruise ship destination. On the plus side maybe this would inspire the government to stop neglecting the capital and do something that would be of benefit to ordinary Jamaicans. </div></div>
di curious ting is dat di dredging of the harbour to facilitate larger ships,wat was the benefit of dat...cheap imports to di detriment of local production...dat expansion mash up di natural harbour....is like who plan a yaad...r is juss simplistic mi being simplistic wid expectations vs reality...ah sah
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SmoothOperator</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Well I am conflicted too but for different reasons. Have you seen Kingston lately ? Kingston would need a major, major, major overhaul, cleanup, renovation before one could call it a cruise ship destination. On the plus side maybe this would inspire the government to stop neglecting the capital and do something that would be of benefit to ordinary Jamaicans. </div></div>
Might be the elixir Shi$$y Killsome need!
hey TG anodda sort of conflict....wink...heh heh ...dwl
New heads rolling in
published: Wednesday | October 24, 2007
Louis Williams is expected to be named as the new chairman of the Urban Development Corporation (UDC), senior government sources have told The Gleaner.
Mr. Williams is chairman of the Matrix Group of Companies and brother of former Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) senator, now chairman of the board of Air Jamaica, Shirley Williams.
The UDC is one of the most powerful public bodies. It has responsibility for the development and maintenance of commercial, resort, residential and infrastructure development in designated urban centres in Jamaica.
When contacted by The Gleaner, Mr. Williams denied that he is heading to the UDC.
"It's been a rumour. That decision is Mr. [Bruce] Golding's decision and I have not been officially informed as such," Mr. Williams, who described himself as a loyal and hard-working JLP member, told The Gleaner.
He added: "It is not official. I would not hesitate to tell you if it were confirmed. It is rumours and speculations."
Meanwhile, Transport and Works Minister Mike Henry yesterday announced Christopher Bovell, JLP treasurer, as the new chairman of the National Road Operating and Constructing Company (NROCC).
Other boards that have been appointed under the Transport Ministry are the Port Authority of Jamaica, where Noel Hylton has been reappointed as chairman.
Mark Hart has been appointed as chairman of the Airports Authority of Jamaica.
George Johnson will chair the Transport Authority while Richard Powell has been appointed to chair the National Works Agency Advisory Board.
Ms. Williams will chair Air Jamaica and Peter Jervis will chair the Road Maintenance Fund.
(
Re: hey TG anodda sort of conflict....wink...heh heh ...dwl
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">New heads rolling in
published: Wednesday | October 24, 2007
Louis Williams is expected to be named as the new chairman of the Urban Development Corporation (UDC), senior government sources have told The Gleaner.
Mr. Williams is chairman of the Matrix Group of Companies and brother of former Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) senator, now chairman of the board of Air Jamaica, Shirley Williams.
The UDC is one of the most powerful public bodies. It has responsibility for the development and maintenance of commercial, resort, residential and infrastructure development in designated urban centres in Jamaica.
When contacted by The Gleaner, Mr. Williams denied that he is heading to the UDC.
"It's been a rumour. That decision is Mr. [Bruce] Golding's decision and I have not been officially informed as such," Mr. Williams, who described himself as a loyal and hard-working JLP member, told The Gleaner.
He added: "It is not official. I would not hesitate to tell you if it were confirmed. It is rumours and speculations."
Meanwhile, Transport and Works Minister Mike Henry yesterday announced Christopher Bovell, JLP treasurer, as the new chairman of the National Road Operating and Constructing Company (NROCC).
Other boards that have been appointed under the Transport Ministry are the Port Authority of Jamaica, where Noel Hylton has been reappointed as chairman.
Mark Hart has been appointed as chairman of the Airports Authority of Jamaica.
George Johnson will chair the Transport Authority while Richard Powell has been appointed to chair the National Works Agency Advisory Board.
Ms. Williams will chair Air Jamaica and Peter Jervis will chair the Road Maintenance Fund.
( </div></div>
I must say I have no problem with any of it except the possible, Brother Sister combo.
I don’t have a problem with a political appointment in fact Mr. G had said there would be some political appointments and when you think of dens of corruption such as UDC, Air Ja and NROCC you might want to have some serious oversight.
You are looking @ some organizations that was split between one to three persons who headed multiple Boards for decades, these persons were outside Party in public, but in private they wielded great powers, one was even a god.