Evan mi know yu like wi fellow Jamaican Son Colin Powell.. On BBC now in the UK.....Demonstrating the sophistiacation of the mans vision...."No Plan, No peace".....
Fi yu
Re: Fi yu
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: remo</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Vision why im neva stop the war? </div></div>
yuh tink him cudda stop Bush an company </div></div>
He was Bush and Co. He was right there fooling up folks and misinterpreting reports and presenting them as facts.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: remo</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Vision why im neva stop the war? </div></div>
yuh tink him cudda stop Bush an company </div></div>
He was Bush and Co. He was right there fooling up folks and misinterpreting reports and presenting them as facts. </div></div>
Tuff Gong,
You are absolutely and totally correct.
Colin Powell was Secretary of State which in almost every other country is called Foreign Secretary. As such he was responsible for articulating U.S foreign policy which is imperial and murderous.
It would be nearly impossible for him to not know the extent of U.S foreign policies and to have internalized them as correct in order to serve in that job.
The job requires lying about the true intent of U.S. foreign policy and therefore it is absolutely necessary that the S.O.S. knows the truth in order to lie effectively.
Once caught in a serious enough lie as Powell was in his speech at the U.N. which was supposed to justify the invasion of Iraq, he lost his credibility and had to resign.
As you said, Tuffy, Powell WAS part and parcel of the Bush gang.
He knew exactly what he was doing and I'm sure that his only regret in his long and murderous, lying career was in getting caught so publicly.
I don't know how these people live with themselves.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: remo</div><div class="ubbcode-body">You are both correct...My point is the neocons were going into Iraq no matter who was S.O.S. </div></div>
He was public face of Neo-Cons. Maybe you don't know the power of the Secretary of State. He could have made other choices.
Actually, Powell is not a neo-con. His role in America's greatest foreign policy disaster notwithstanding, he was really the outsider in the Bush war cabinet which included Cheney, Rumsfeld, and Rice. Rice was closer to Bush than Powell. Powell was brought in to boost Bush's image on foreign policy in 2001. Remember, Bush had never even visited Europe in his entire life prior to 2001. Powell was the public face for American foreign policy but the real actors would be Rumsfeld and Cheney carrying out the wishes of the neo-con cabbal. And at the UN he was tasked to sell the war. As Harry Belafonte rightly said, Powell was merely being an obedient servant, doing the will of his master.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dyoll_73</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Actually, Powell is not a neo-con. His role in America's greatest foreign policy disaster notwithstanding, he was really the outsider in the Bush war cabinet which included Cheney, Rumsfeld, and Rice. Rice was closer to Bush than Powell. Powell was brought in to boost Bush's image on foreign policy in 2001. Remember, Bush had never even visited Europe in his entire life prior to 2001. Powell was the public face for American foreign policy but the real actors would be Rumsfeld and Cheney carrying out the wishes of the neo-con cabbal. And at the UN he was tasked to sell the war. As Harry Belafonte rightly said, Powell was merely being an obedient servant, doing the will of his master. </div></div>
Accepted...but he should get a little more blame than some would apportion to him.