<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">If we accuse Seaga of being a white liberal we must use the same definition for Manley, senior, Manley Juniour, Busta and Cargil.... </div></div>
[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70402-thinking.gif[/img] how so?
also, i reread my post and am having a hard time seeing where i "accused" Seaga of anything. Wahalla, like Tuff Gong's, your reaction is quite intriguing...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">If we accuse Seaga of being a white liberal we must use the same definition for Manley, senior, Manley Juniour, Busta and Cargil.... </div></div> Busta abd Cargill were not liberals,and neither of the Manleys were white.
Mr Seaga is white.
Remember that Busta established the first workers union that was and still aprivately owned organization. The BITU is not a co-operative like all other unions that are owned by the members. Ahyway,lets leep on topic.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> Busta abd Cargill were not liberals,and neither of the Manleys were white.
Mr Seaga is white.</div></div>
Eddie is white?
He is not white.
He is of Lebanese extract!.
Less white than the Menlies!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: HemGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">If we accuse Seaga of being a white liberal we must use the same definition for Manley, senior, Manley Juniour, Busta and Cargil.... </div></div>
also, i reread my post and am having a hard time seeing where i "accused" Seaga of anything. Wahalla, like Tuff Gong's, your reaction is quite intriguing...
How my nyame ketch bak inna dis?
And yes you did accuse Eddie Blinds of being a white Liberal and his actions were typical of such.
So why are we not allowed to draw comparisons with other whites in Jamaica's political history?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: HemGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">If we accuse Seaga of being a white liberal we must use the same definition for Manley, senior, Manley Juniour, Busta and Cargil.... </div></div>
How my nyame ketch bak inna dis?
And yes you did accuse Eddie Blinds of being a white Liberal and his actions were typical of such.
So why are we not allowed to draw comparisons with other whites in Jamaica's political history?
Your reactions are very strange indeed!
you name ketch inna it because of your conclusion that by calling SEaga a white liberal somehow i was denying him as a jamaican.
wahalla (and you, now) said i was "accusing" seaga of being a white liberal when in fact i wasn't making any accusation, just describing the man how i felt i knew him. last i heard "white liberal" was not a crime.
so i was intrigued at how my use of the term "white liberal" seemed to evoke some unexpectd (on my part) reactions from you both. that's all.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: HemGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">you name ketch inna it because of your conclusion that by calling SEaga a white liberal somehow i was denying him as a jamaican. </div></div>
Yes, but wasn't that clarified and it was found that my concern/questions were genuine?
<span style='font-size: 14pt'>EDWARD Seaga, who is this man?
Edward Seaga
Edward Seaga began making regular trips to country of his birth and his speeches in sharp contrast to his first Parliamentary addresses when he spoke about “the have and the have-nots”, became more and more passionately violent towards the ruling PNP and elected government. Wikipedia records that: “It was at this time, too, that he (Seaga) spoke often about Jamaica needing ‘a military solution.’ The tenor of his speeches and activities in the United States led to his being censured by the Jamaican parliament in 1979.” So our musical “king” of economics was being transformed into man of violence and guns. So said so done. Guns, and lots of them began coming into the country from the USA.
In the meantime, according to one former CIA South American operative, Philip Agee: at least 20 CIA secret service men was stationed in the US Embassy in Kingston. For what purpose? By the end of 1975 Bob Marley & the Wailers had brought out their song called “Rat-race”. Part of the song pointedly says, “..Rasta don’t work for no CIA..”
But let us return to the issue of “economics”. The Americans, took measures to ensure that Jamaica would the starved of foreign currency. Every door was closed when Manley’s government tried to seek loans or aid from the IMF, World Bank and others. This created a shortage of goods included foodstuff. So the shelves of local stores became more and more empty.
Naturally this was being blamed on the PNP Government for bad economic policies, professionals and others began leaving for the United States and Canada, and violence began to develop on the streets. An election was looming so Seaga was also promoting himself as the economic expert to solve Jamaica’s problems. Interesting. The nearer the time of the elections, the more violent became the streets. Suddenly in the election year of 1980 alone those American guns massacred over 800 Jamaicans! Jamaicans killing Jamaicans. The Garrisons and the “dons” were “up and running” to use the modern computing jargon. Was this the ‘ military solution’ that “Mas Eddie” had so often spoke of that Jamaica needed?
Empty shelves, “communists will take away your goats”, violence on the streets – Vote for me and I will set you free! as the Tamla Motown song goes. The music-man Edward Seaga is elected Prime Minister in 1980 by a landslide by the politically innocent Jamaican electorate! Manley barely winning his own seat. A “palace coup” had taken place first against the Jamaican public who paid with their blood, but also the “collateral damage” claimed another victim, the original colonizers, the British. The so-called “preventing the spread of communism” was a “Red Herring”. It was more accurate to describe Seaga’s victory as: “preventing the spread of both British post-war neo-colonialism and clearing an unhindered path for US finance capital”. Celebrations in the WhiteHouse but none at 10 Downing Street. The reasons could not have been clearer.
The Americans had been shadow-boxing with the British for decades over who should dominate the Caribbean. The US who had long considered that the Caribbean was “naturally” part of their geo-political zone of influence decided to “get physical” and dealt a knock-out blow to the aging and weakened pugilist from Europe but pretended it was an “accident”. “Friendly-fire” so to speak against its war-time ally, whom paradoxically they had defeated in their very own “War of Independence” in 1776. (TO BE CONTINUED)</span>
<span style='font-size: 14pt'>EDWARD Seaga, who is this man?
Edward Seaga
. (TO BE CONTINUED)</span>
Can you post the links to these articles?
So we can check the veracity?
Because as I saw it when I was living there it was pure PNP fooled terror from 1972 onwards!
I have bunch of articles of my own I am just waiting for you to get finished!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wardob</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Tuff, Most if not all of his statemnets is derived by copying and past from
Mr. Seaga's Jamaica: an inside look - Prime Minister Edward Seaga
Monthly Review, Sept, 1985 by Bernard D. Headley
Dyoll I think you are correct its either Dr. Dudd aka Joemaican under a new name
</div></div> Wow!! can so many errors manifest in one post?/
I am Dr.Dudd?? and Now, Do not vote?? anyway carry on.. if it floats your boat.
One of these days i may just ne the Prime Minister,at the rate you are going.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wardob</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Tuff, Most if not all of his statemnets is derived by copying and past from
Dyoll I think you are correct its either Dr. Dudd aka Joemaican under a new name
Trust me he is neither Jomerican nor Dr. Dudd and Joemerican and Dr. Dudd are different posters.
Okay, dem fool mi, but I will take your words for it, anyway let see where he is going with the rest of the article, wonder if he want me to finish it? Since he and his friends want to know who Seaga is, I hope they reda this. An old article but nonetheless still relevant
;-Profile on
The Most Honourable Edward Phillip George Seaga
The Right Honourable Edward Phillip George Seaga,ON, PC, MP, BA, LL.D (Hon), former Prime Minister (1980-89), was born on May 28, 1930 to the late Phillip George Seaga and Erna Seaga (nee Maxwell). He was educated at Wolmer's Boys' School in Jamaica and graduated from Harvard University in 1952 with a Bachelor of Arts Degree in the Social Sciences.
POLITICAL CAREER
Mr Seaga's political career began in 1959 when Sir Alexander Bustamante the founder of the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP), nominated him in the Upper House of the Jamaica Legislature, the Legislative Council (later the Senate). His appointment at age 29 made him the youngest member ever appointed to the Legislative Council, which established the framework for national independence in August 1962.
In April 1962 Mr Seaga was elected Member of Parliament for Western Kingston and he has held that seat for 35 consecutive years. He is the only person who has been re-elected as member of Parliament for that constituency for more than one term and is the longest serving Member of Paliament in the history of Jamaica.
Immediately after winning his seat in 1962, Mr Seaga was appointed to the Cabinet as Minister of Development and Welfare. Following the 1967 General Elections, he was made Minister of Finance and Planning and in 1974 he became Leader of the JLP and the Parliamentary Opposition until the 1980 General Elections. Edward P.G. Seaga became Prime Minister of Jamaica following the General Elections of October 30, 1980 when the Jamaica Labour Parry won a landslide victory over the Incumbent Peoples' National Party (PNP).
The mandate of Mr. Seaga and the JLP was re-newed in the uncontested 1983 General Elections. He remained Prime Minister until February 1989.
Mr. Seaga was also Minister of Finance and Planning, and his portfolio included responsibilities for information and culture.
Several economic and social programmes, which have had a significant impact on Jamaica's growth and development, were conceived and initiated by Mr. Seaga.
CONTRIBUTION TO NATIONAL DEVELOPMENT
Financial Development
Mr. Seaga has established, encouraged, promoted or introduced several institutions, which have contributed to the modernisation and development of the financial sector. These Include the Jamaica Stock Exchange (1969), Jamaica Unit Trust (1970), Jamaica Mortgage Bank (1973), National Development Bank (1981), the Agricultural Credit Bank (1981), the Ex-Im Bank (1986), and the Students' Loan Bureau.
He promoted the modernisation of commercial agriculture by introducing agricultural high technology and stimulating agricultural enterprises in new crops. He put unused and under-used publicly-owned lands to work. The highly successful Jamaica National Investment Promotion Ltd, (JNIP) now JAMPRO was created by him in 1981 as a one-stop investment organisation to promote local and overseas investment in Jamaica.
Under his administration, in the 1980s, the Income and Corporate Tax System was comprehensively reformed and modernised to make it more equitable and efficient. The rate was substantially reduced to a flat 33 per cent from a high of 90 per cent, for both individuals and corporate entities. Mr. Seaga also introduced modern computerized technology into the administration and organisation of revenue collection in which each taxpayer would be assigned a Taxpayer Registration Number (TRN). He overhauled the indirect tax system by combining a number of taxes into a single General Consumption Tax (GCT).
As Minister of Finance, Mr. Seaga, represented Jamaica as a governor of the International Monetary Fund, the World Bank, the InterAmerican Development Bank and the Caribbean Development Bank.
<span style="color: #FF0000">This is for Dr. Dudd</span>
COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT
Urban and Rural Development and the Environment
In the 1960s, Mr. Seaga transformed the country's then worst slum "Back-O-Wall"-into a modern, low-income residential community, re-named Tivoli Gardens. Tivoli Gardens has a full range of cultural and social amenities for all age groups, and remains a model of successful urban community development.
Mr. Seaga established the Urban Development Corporation (UDC) in 1968. Through the UDC the waterfronts of Kingston, Ocho Rios and Montego Bay were developed into major resort, residential, port and office complexes.
Among other accomplishments, the UDC has spearheaded the development of Negril as a resort area. Notably, two-thirds of the choice land for development was acquired by the UDC at Mr. Seaga's initiative to establish a land bank. This has formed the basis for planed developments such as Hellshire, Bloddy Bay (Negril) Seville and Auchindown (Westmoreland).
Perhaps the largest of all urban development projects will be the 30,000 acre Hellshire area on the outskirts of the over-populated capital city. Mr. Seaga initiated the purchase of this prized area, together with nearby Caymanas lands, for the creation of a new city through the UDC.
In 1985, Mr. Seaga established the Metropolitan Parks and Markets (MPM) as a subsidiary of the UDC to be responsible for public cleansing, beautification and the maintenance of the parks and markets in the city of Kingston and other specified urban areas.
HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT
Mr. Seaga's most satisfying area of creative endeavour has been the creation of several outstanding social programmes especially for young people. Among them are the Human Employment and Resource Training Programme (HEART), which began in 1983 and provides job-related training for school leavers and drop-outs on a wide scale throughout Jamaica. This has had a most positive impact on the expansion of skills and job capabilities of young people.
In 1985, he launched Solidarity, a programme to finance and stimulate entrepreneurship among young people by giving them loans and guidance in establishing their own micro-businesses.
Food Aid Programme
The Food Aid Programme was established by Mr. Seaga in 1983 to assist the poorest groups in the society by supplementing their food supply. The most significant beneficiaries under this programme are primary school children who receive a high protein lunch daily. In addition, pregnant and nursing mothers, children under three, the indigent, disabled and elderly receive food stamps to assist them to improve dietary needs.
Golden Age Homes
The Golden Age movement was launched by Mr. Seaga in the 1960s and a new concept in modern community care for the aged Golden Age Home was launched in the 1980s, with the construction of modern, planned homes for the aged.
CULTURAL DEVELOPMENT
Mr. Seaga has often said that his first love is culture, and his monumental achievements in this field stand as a testament to this.
He created and established the Jamaica Festival (in which institutions, groups and individuals compete annually in the literary, performing, plastic and graphic arts as well as culinary skills, leading up to the Independence celebrations). He also introduced National Heritage Week. Jamaica Festival has become the showcase of Jamaican talent and the cradle of our traditional cultural expressions.
In the 1960s while he was Minister of Development and Welfare, Mr. Seaga gave Jamaican popular music (Ska) its first exposure to the international scene promoting overseas tours of Jamaican artistes. This laid the foundation for the international emergence of Reggae, now popular worldwide. He established a craft development company - Things Jamaican - in 1961 to nurture the development of Jamaica's handicraft; made Devon House a national monument to showcase our heritage and craft; and completed plans for the re-development of Port Royal, Seville and Spanish Town as historical monuments of international significance.
He conceived and designed the Cultural Training Centre, for all the arts (drama, music, painting/sculpture and dance), and donated his own extensive collection of folk music of Jamaica to the School of Music.
Mr. Seaga influenced the careers of several internationally acclaimed Jamaican popular artistes and played a major, role in introducing the work of the world-famous Jamaican intuitive artist Mallica 'Kapo' Reynolds.
He also inaugurated the respected Jamaica Journal, published quarterly by the Institute of Jamaica which is devoted to promoting the arts, natural history, sociology and science through publications.
Mr. Seaga played a principal part in the return of the body of Marcus Garvey to Jamaica and in establishing the nation's highest order, that of National Hero, of which Garvey was the first recipient.
INTERNATIONAL INITIATIVES
Mr. Seaga promoted the concept of an international "cultural bank' Leading to the establishment of the International Fund for the Promotion of Culture(IFPC) by UNESCO in the 1970s.
In the 1980, he played a leading role in the establishment of the Caribbean Basin Initiative (CBI) conceived as a "Marshall Plan" for the Caribbean and promoted the concept of human facility (or "manpower bank" ), later adopted by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) as the Short Term Advisory Service (STAS) to provide low-cost short-term expertise from the international private sector for developing countries.
He has also been in the forefront of the international campaign to intensify and expand economic sanctions against South Africa as a means of bringing apartheid to an end. Mr. Seaga addressed the General Assembly of the United Nations in 1985 and made his memorable call for an intensified attack an the South African rand. In October 1987, at the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting in Vancouver he demonstrated that sanctions were working against South Africa.
HONOURS AND AWARDS
In 1981 Mr. Seaga was appointed by Queen Elizabeth II as a member of her Majesty's Privy Council.
Mr. Seaga has also been honoured by several countries:
the Republic of Venezuela-Grand Collar do Libertador (1981)
the Republic of Venezuela-Gold Mercury International Award (1981)
the Republic of Korea -Grand Gwangwa Medal, Order of Diplomatic Service Merit (1981)
the Federal Republic of Germany-Grand Cross of the Order of Merit (1982)
Mexico-Order of the Aztec Eagle (1987)
He is the recipient of several prestigious international awards:
Gleaner Honour Awards: Man of the Year, 1980,1981
Avenue of the Americas Association N.Y. - Gold Key Award (1981)
Pan American Development Foundation Inter-American Man of the Year Development Award (1983)
Dr. Martin Luther King Humanitarian Award (1984)
United Nations Environment Programme-the Environmental Leadership Awards (1987).
HONORARY DEGREES
University of Miami, LL.D. (1981)
Tampa University, LLD. (1982)
University of South Carolina LL.D. (1983)
Boston University, LL.D. (1983)
Hartford University LL.D. (1987)
PUBLICATIONS
Parent Teacher Relationships, published by the Institute of Social and Economic Research, University of the West Indies.
Revival Spirit Cults (Jamaica Journal), published by the Institute of Jamaica. Folk Music of Jamaica (Album of music recorded by Ethnic Folkways Library).
PERSONAL
Mr. Seaga, who was born in the Evangeline Booth, Memorial Salvation Army Hospital in Boston while his parents were in the USA, was also a Jamaican citizen by virtue of his parent-age, but he made the momentous decision to formally give up his American citizenship.
On August 22, 1965 Mr. Seaga married Marie Elizabeth "Mitsy" Constantine Miss Jamaica 1965. They have two sons, Christopher, Andrew and a daughter Anabella. This marriage dissolved in 1995 and the following year, on June 14, 1996 he, married Carla Frances Vendryes, MPA.
He plays tennis, hunts and collects Jamaican folk music.
A keen gardener and amateur landscaper, Mr. Seaga has translated his love for plants and flowers into the beautiful Enchanted Garden Resort, which has become a unique attraction in Jamaica.
He is a member of the Kingston Cricket Club, various hunting clubs and the Jamaica Skeet Club.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wardob</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Tuff, Most if not all of his statemnets is derived by copying and past from
</div></div> Wke said Tuff Going can't be right about somtehing?? Now if he could be a little curteous now,but hey!! give thanks for small mercies.
Trust me he is neither Jomerican nor Dr. Dudd and Joemerican and Dr. Dudd are different posters. </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wardob</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Tuff, Most if not all of his statemnets is derived by copying and past from
</div></div> Wke said Tuff Going can't be right about somtehing?? Now if he could be a little curteous now,but hey!! give thanks for small mercies.
Trust me he is neither Jomerican nor Dr. Dudd and Joemerican and Dr. Dudd are different posters. </div></div> </div></div>
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.