Now finally a number.... Jamaicans last year were being murdered at a rate of 5 + per day... Iraqi are beign killed at 34 per day.....(Report off Sky News yesterday).... Jamaica has a higher murder rate than Iraq.... We have a population of 2 1/2 million... Iraq a population of 22 million....
Death rate in Jamaica Vs Death rate in Iraq
Re: Death rate in Jamaica Vs Death rate in Iraq
Rich I nuh sure I buy feeling safer, Jamaican murders crime related, Iraqi murders random and designated to political cause. Making it more frightening... I guess I am thinking like a farriner though, A visitor to Jamaica more safer than a local here. In Iraq the foriegner targetted more.
Aye Remo of course yuh can do the comparison, If yuh look at the actual murder rate, Jamaica in the year 2000 had the second highest murder rate in the world behind Colombia based on UN survey on Crime. The difference in the comparison each a forward two different cause. One a urban strife and fight for spoils, the other a frustration with world leadership.
With new national records in 2003 and 2004 I suspect even with a war on terror goin on in Iraq the fear of murder and the probability of Murder is greater on the Streets of our fun Island.
What to do about it...watch and pray for daily safe passage... zeen[img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Originally posted by remo:
[qb] I dont know if we can compare the two countries
there is an illegal war going on in iraq.
So how do we rationalize what a gwaan down a yard? [/qb]
yu knoh mi nuh think Ja change much caw is still de po killin de po dem tun pon each other
until we insist on education to the highest lever (like free education, other countries have done it) poor will not know no diffrence we gotta help to show them a diffren way of life.
dats what we should be voting for in JA
It is much more than free education. It heed read educational opportumities availanle to all. Not like it was where only a small percentage get the o[portunuty to real high school education,and if you family not rich they cant get student loan to go to college.
even with the best high school education,you still have very little opportuinities. there are people who are unemployed for years down there,that on immigrating become not just employed,but arrain outstanding worker,and graduate from college in the foerign country,in short time.
And all those hypodrites who sat the young people want too much. My question is would they exchange their life with those who are in that position.
Watch their facial expression when that is suggested!
As if they are above these people od superior in some way.
Originally posted by grandma2:
[qb] yu knoh mi nuh think Ja change much caw is still de po killin de po dem tun pon each other
until we insist on education to the highest lever (like free education, other countries have done it) poor will not know no diffrence we gotta help to show them a diffren way of life.
dats what we should be voting for in JA [/qb]
are you talking bout education paid for with tax money?
only way you can have that "free" education is if you have an economy that generate nuff tax revenue to support it.
Originally posted by cris:
[qb]Originally posted by grandma2:
[qb] yu knoh mi nuh think Ja change much caw is still de po killin de po dem tun pon each other
dats what we should be voting for in JA [/qb]
are you talking bout education paid for with tax money?
only way you can have that "free" education is if you have an economy that generate nuff tax revenue to support it. [/qb]When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by RichD:
[qb] so yuh would feel safer in Iraq than santa? [/qb]
Note the chance of being klled in Kurdish regions are probably as low as london....
However even with its poltical problems the rate of violent death is lower in Iraq than in Jamaica.... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
Originally posted by Wahalla:
[qb]Originally posted by RichD:
[qb] so yuh would feel safer in Iraq than santa? [/qb]
[qb]Note the chance of being klled in Kurdish regions are probably as low as london....[/qb]
[qb]
However even with its poltical problems the rate of violent death is lower in Iraq than in Jamaica.... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img] [/qb]When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by remo:
[qb] I dont know if we can compare the two countries
there is an illegal war going on in iraq.
So how do we rationalize what a gwaan down a yard? [/qb]
On a related note... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
OH LAWD!!!
Murder is leading cause of death in males
published: Friday | July 22, 2005
Dr. Elizabeth Ward at the Gleaner Editors' Forum, at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, New Kingston, on June 29.
WHAT WE have seen over the last 30 years is a tremendous increase in the number of cases of violence ... It has had tremendous impact on the health services and homicide is now the fifth leading cause of death in Jamaica and it is the leading cause of death in males in Jamaica regardless of age.
We know that injuries overall cost a lot of money, over $1.2 billion, and what we do, if we take just the violence-related injuries out of that and look at it, you are looking at us spending, last year, over $700 million on treating violence-related injuries in the hospital.
So, what did we see last year? Over 32,000 visits to all our hospitals islandwide were violence-related injuries.
Approximately 19,000 of those injuries were in males. Fifty per cent of them were age 10 to 29 years; 79 per cent of them were hurt in fights, 12 per cent were in sexual assaults, 37 per cent were blunt injuries, 49 per cent were sharp objects, 54 per cent were due to a fight with an acquaintance and 55 per cent occurred at home.
For the females, 60 per cent were age 10 to 29 years old, so it is even higher in the younger women. Seventy-nine per cent of them had been involved in a fight, 12 per cent were as a result of sexual assault, 60 per cent of them were either blunt or bodily force, 25 per cent of them were a sharp object, 38 per cent were an acquaintance, 30 per cent were due to their intimate partners and 57 per cent of their violence-related injuries actually occurred at home.
Source
Originally posted by Milo Man*:
[qb] On a related note... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
OH LAWD!!!
Murder is leading cause of death in males
published: Friday | July 22, 2005
Dr. Elizabeth Ward at the Gleaner Editors' Forum, at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, New Kingston, on June 29.
WHAT WE have seen over the last 30 years is a tremendous increase in the number of cases of violence ... It has had tremendous impact on the health services and homicide is now the fifth leading cause of death in Jamaica and it is the leading cause of death in males in Jamaica regardless of age.
We know that injuries overall cost a lot of money, over $1.2 billion, and what we do, if we take just the violence-related injuries out of that and look at it, you are looking at us spending, last year, over $700 million on treating violence-related injuries in the hospital.
So, what did we see last year? Over 32,000 visits to all our hospitals islandwide were violence-related injuries.
Approximately 19,000 of those injuries were in males. Fifty per cent of them were age 10 to 29 years; 79 per cent of them were hurt in fights, 12 per cent were in sexual assaults, 37 per cent were blunt injuries, 49 per cent were sharp objects, 54 per cent were due to a fight with an acquaintance and 55 per cent occurred at home.
For the females, 60 per cent were age 10 to 29 years old, so it is even higher in the younger women. Seventy-nine per cent of them had been involved in a fight, 12 per cent were as a result of sexual assault, 60 per cent of them were either blunt or bodily force, 25 per cent of them were a sharp object, 38 per cent were an acquaintance, 30 per cent were due to their intimate partners and 57 per cent of their violence-related injuries actually occurred at home.
Source [/qb]
That is a very violent society,I cant imagine the despair, especially in the more volatile inner city ghettos of Kingston,must be extremely difficult trying to raise children,wondering everyday if they`re coming home.
Originally posted by neutral:
[qb] This makes for frightening reading,$700 million alone treating violent related injuries,money that could have been diverted to more needy causes like education if Jamaican males werent so violent towards each other.
That is a very violent society,I cant imagine the despair, especially in the more volatile inner city ghettos of Kingston,must be extremely difficult trying to raise children,wondering everyday if they`re coming home. [/qb]When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....