It's that time of year again, and Jamaican Musher Newton Marshall is making another attempt at the journey from Anchorage to Nome. Newton drew Bib #9 out of I think 68 mushers total so he is in a good spot for the start today.
I'm also following a local Musher who is a Iditarod Rookie and Beargrease 3 time Champion so this will be a fun next 10 days or so for me and I'll try to come with updates.
Here is newton's FB page so you can see and follow his progress, on your own in case I get busy and disappear:
823_447162328666317_549859326_n.jpg
Newton has been in the race int he past couple of years but it is brutal and he fell upon some hard times. last year his team got away from him and that was the end for him, the year before he took a dunking in a river at -30°'F below and he had to stop. Let this year be the magic year for Newton to finish again, and in the money!
Mush Mon!!!
Iditarod site, you can follow progress there as well: http://iditarod.com/
The standings page: http://iditarod.com/race/2014/standings/
Mush on! We're Rootin for Newton!!!
I'm also following a local Musher who is a Iditarod Rookie and Beargrease 3 time Champion so this will be a fun next 10 days or so for me and I'll try to come with updates.
Here is newton's FB page so you can see and follow his progress, on your own in case I get busy and disappear:
823_447162328666317_549859326_n.jpg
Newton has been in the race int he past couple of years but it is brutal and he fell upon some hard times. last year his team got away from him and that was the end for him, the year before he took a dunking in a river at -30°'F below and he had to stop. Let this year be the magic year for Newton to finish again, and in the money!
Mush Mon!!!
Iditarod site, you can follow progress there as well: http://iditarod.com/
The standings page: http://iditarod.com/race/2014/standings/
Mush on! We're Rootin for Newton!!!
yes! Nanook!! mek wi dweet again!!
I'll supply the beverages!
I think this year Newton's run of bad luck will be gone and he will make it. It's a unbelievably hard accomplishment to finish and Newton did it before and he will do it again! For him to go back after being defeated the last two years, he is determined. What happened to him could happen to any of them, and so many don't make it to the finish line, but each trip is a learning experience.
The post was on the Jamaica Olympics FB page. What a way to do the Birthday! The race is just underway as Alaska is some hours behind or Central time. Here is the picture and a link to Jamaica Olympics page (Unable to post picture I get error message that file is too big )so click on the following link, it should take you there, the pics are great! One supoer shot of Newton leaving the starting line and looking mighty fine!