Link to a seriously wonderful picture of an embrace between Newton and Scott, the Mushing Mortician who Newton saved in the race. Get a hanky:
Rootin for Newton! Iditarod starts today!
Originally posted by Nanook View PostI'm waiting for the official pictures & I'll post a link. my screen capture is ish blurry and not worth it. In his post race interview Newton talked about how he thought he was gonna die for sure, he said it twice, and named both places. One was early on doing the gorge where he found the Mushin Mortician laying on the river with the broken leg. It was so nice to see Scott there in Nome waiting for Newton, standing there on his crutches. I watch the marathons all the time and only twice have I had tears in my eyes, and both times was Newton crossing Iditarod finish line.
They were playing Three Little Birds on the stereo as Newton came across the finish line. There was a nice intimate sized crowd there to greet him and I could hear much of the conversations between him and the people, so fun to hear him, he sounds happy and not even tired..
As soon as I find anything sharable on he Iditarod site to post I'll come with the report,.
Newtons placing and time stats:
43rd place out of 69 starting.Newton Marshall Nome 3/14/ 16:05:52 13 12d 1h 5m 52s (the 13 is for how many dogs he had at the finish)
7 mushers still on the trail
19 scratched, many of them seasoned Iditarod finishers and also several former Champions. Some of the names on the scratched list, to see them there seems crazy, yet Newton, he did it!
I bet he is gonna sleep good once the dog care is accomplished and if I was him I'd probably want a good stiff drink or a beer & toast with my friends first!
Finishing video!!!
Until the Insider videos are made public here is a video of Newton coming to the finishing line, Bob Marley playing in the background and Newton holding his Jamaican flag.
Video credit Karyn Coleman https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10202424273623200
I'm not sure if this is public yet or on the Insider until the last finisher reaches Nome. The last finisher is still over 100 miles out. Nice story about newton on Iditarod website:http://iditarod.com/eye-on-the-trail-mushing-mon/
Originally posted by Nanook View PostUntil the Insider videos are made public here is a video of Newton coming to the finishing line, Bob Marley playing in the background and Newton holding his Jamaican flag.
Video credit Karyn Coleman https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10202424273623200
Newtons Official Iditarod Video Finish PLUS Interview!!! here it is!!!
While it was great to see Karyn's footage, now that the last musher has reached Nome all of the Official Iditarod videos are free and public.
There was more to the interview, I sat here with tears flowing, but you get the idea:
I wouldn't be surprised to see a movie made of this year's race, there was so much drama and so many twists and turns I can't imagine it NOT being made into a full length film. I hope they do it, and if they do they HAVE to use Newton playing himself, nobody could imitate that genuine smile and positive outlook while going through what transpired this year. Nobody.
CONGRATS NEWTON!!! You did it!!!
I hope he find this thread!Last edited by Nanook; 03-16-2014, 09:26 AM.
Originally posted by Wahalla View PostI like as he continuously improved...
First ting im brethren going to ask is: So Newton, you mean yu out deh inna the cold fi .....how days.....wid just dawg and no oooman? Ow yu warm up?
So di gurl dem weh a race wid unno......Yu Never try ask wan a dem fi warm yu up.
Winston so weh yu eat...same ting as the dawg dem?
Soh Newton....why yu haffi kiss up the dawg dem like American?
Originally posted by Tuff Gong View PostYou know Newton caan goh forward a Jamaica right?
First ting im brethren going to ask is: So Newton, you mean yu out deh inna the cold fi .....how days.....wid just dawg and no oooman? Ow yu warm up?
So di gurl dem weh a race wid unno......Yu Never try ask wan a dem fi warm yu up.
Winston so weh yu eat...same ting as the dawg dem?
Soh Newton....why yu haffi kiss up the dawg dem like American?
Dedding!!!