I wanna clean up my hard drive...What's the best program to use for that where I won't mess up anything and what's the best anti virus protection for me to place on it...
Clean mi computah
Re: Clean mi computah
What I usually do is go thru and delete the docs that I don't need. I also uninstall the programs that "I KNOW" I don't need. Nuh badda tek awf nuttn weh u nuh know cause before u know it sopm a guh tap wuk.
There is Disk Defragmenter. There is also Disk Clean up. Mi run both a those.
Virus Protection - Norton is good but it slows down my pc. So mi use the free Avast. (http://avast.com/eng/home-registration.php). Takes up little space and easy to run.
Spyware Detector - I used AdAware SE and another one weh mi kiaan remember right now. Download it hereso. This helps to clean up the pc. Run everyting now and again.
Mek sure u have enough memory to. That helps. And nuh have no extra extra tings a start up. Dem slow dung everyting.
If you're on hispeed, don't forget a firewall
aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: PDB_Again</div><div class="ubbcode-body">So CEW - the windows firewall nuh good enough? </div></div>
It's fairly basic and could work for the average user, but I don't like it as I consider it's protection relatively weak. Check out the firewall ratings here and you'll notice of the almost 30 that was tested, it wasn't even mentioned (or maybe wasn't tested in this firewall challenge).
<span style="font-weight: bold">ETA:</span> The other thing to consider is that if Microsoft's retail firewall - Windows Live OneCare - only got a 5% rating, how good could the 'free' version be? OneCare failed a significant number of security tests, and did not even pass the first level of testing as reported here.aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon