<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia_Cat_O_Nine</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
put the printer in a neutral location so it does not disturb other users when printing documents at 3A </div></div>
Outside in the fowl coop, will also double an incubator...give the mother hen a break!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: PDB_Again</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Setting Up The Network in My House
I want it set so that I can print from the laptops - my madda jus get one so now is tree deh bout and one desktop. Any hints before mi stawt? </div></div>
Littleman says:
<span style="color: #660000">Other than having a <span style="font-style: italic">print server</span> device connected to the router and printer, the cheaper solution is to connect the printer phsically to the desktop, and set-up this computer for network printer-sharing, and maybe file-sharing.
That way all the computers (laptops and desktop) are in the LAN, and can print remotely, except for the desktop, which will print locally.
I even network a desktop running Linux, and everything works fine, so it should be no difficult task to network Windows-based computers.</span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia_Cat_O_Nine</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
put the printer in a neutral location so it does not disturb other users when printing documents at 3A </div></div>
Outside in the fowl coop, will also double as incubator...give the mother hen a break!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Littleman</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: PDB_Again</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Setting Up The Network in My House
I want it set so that I can print from the laptops - my madda jus get one so now is tree deh bout and one desktop. Any hints before mi stawt? </div></div>
Littleman says:
<span style="color: #660000">Other than having a <span style="font-style: italic">print server</span> device connected to the router and printer, the cheaper solution is to connect the printer phsically to the desktop, and set-up this computer for network printer-sharing, and maybe file-sharing.
That way all the computers (laptops and desktop) are in the LAN, and can print remotely, except for the desktop, which will print locally.
I even network a desktop running Linux, and everything works fine, so it should be no difficult task to network Windows-based computers.</span> </div></div>\
but why go through all of that when the router can do that easier
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: PDB_Again</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia_Cat_O_Nine</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Outside in the fowl coop, will also double as incubator...give the mother hen a break!
Fowl coop nuh sell a Merica </div></div>
check again dem sell a merica.. u want mi cyarry one ova cause dem have chicken fawm whe de chicken dem run free range round de road out ya
Fowl coop nuh sell a Merica </div></div>
check again dem sell a merica.. u want mi cyarry one ova cause dem have chicken fawm whe de chicken dem run free range round de road out ya
exactly. my desktop and laptop are connected wirelessly to my printer via my router. the printer cable runs to the router directly and then I just networked the devices wirelessly from there.
less wires all over the place.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia_Cat_O_Nine</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Littleman</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: PDB_Again</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Setting Up The Network in My House
Littleman says:
I even network a desktop running Linux, and everything works fine, so it should be no difficult task to network Windows-based computers.</span> </div></div>\
but why go through all of that when the router can do that easier </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia_Cat_O_Nine</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Littleman</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: PDB_Again</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Setting Up The Network in My House
Littleman says:
but why go through all of that when the router can do that easier </div></div>
Littleman says:
<span style="color: #660000">For that to work the printer has to have an Ethernet port, so it can be connected directly to the router, but not all printers come so equipped.
All power to you if your printer is Ethernet capable, quite a few (such as mine) use a USB port. Earlier printers even used parallel ports, with USB being an improvement, on printing speed capability. Ethernet should be even faster.
I personally don't mind my USB printer, since I have a Voice Messaging server, and store most of my files, on this computer, so it can stay on until <span style="font-style: italic">thy Kingdom come</span>, as far as I'm concerned.</span>
Many big ups to you Little man! I always like your opening line, "Litteman Says". It always gives me a chuckle, as well as, I welcome your continued contribution.
OK, I totally agree with the majority of what you are saying, but just one point of clarification so he does not get confused. She can still hook-up the printer to the router even without an ethernet port on it. All she needs is a small printer server (usually less than $40 or less), if her printer does not come wireless or network ready.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.