Guys I need some help. My laptop screen had been flickering for a few days now, it's totally black. What could the problem be and how do I fix it?
Laptop Screen.
Re: Laptop Screen.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">Inverter</span> is toast! </div></div>
So what can I do about this if anything?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Lex</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">Inverter</span> is toast! </div></div>
So what can I do about this if anything? </div></div>
If you love, your laptop maybe you can find a working replacement screen on eBay and take to someone who can install it for you. The Inverters are hard to change but some are more accessible. That is why buying a screen assembly is better on some machines.
What model LapTop do you own?
Another thought the Inverter might not be blown but the wires connecting screen and the Inverter at the hinges might be broken.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Lex</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">What model LapTop do you own? </div></div>
It's a Gateway 7330GZ. Tried it again last night and it was okay.</div></div>...Might be a Hinge Problem but it could still be the Inverter, which is how they go out, in stages. Could also be the Graphic Card. Gently rock screen at the hinges and see if affect it in anyway.
In any case, not much you can do until it finally dies, so rock on!
Oh, you can also look up that model and see what the typical problem(s) are.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Lex</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Thanks for the information Tuff Gong.</div></div>
You are welcome did it you nail down the problem? </div></div>
The screen seems to be working okay however, I've noticed it flickers when there is movement. I'll just try to keep it on a steady surface.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Lex</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Lex</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Thanks for the information Tuff Gong.</div></div>
You are welcome did it you nail down the problem? </div></div>
The screen seems to be working okay however, I've noticed it flickers when there is movement. I'll just try to keep it on a steady surface. </div></div>
Mine (an Acer) did that for a while - flickering, then died... would come on intermittently, sent to dealer rep - who told me that Acer no longer supported the moder - no replacement parts (basically a boat anchor).. however when I connect it to a desktop monitor sometimes the desktop will workor the laptop monitor will kick in - hopefully to last long enough for me to 'see' to transfer the stored files to another storage device or computer.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Lex</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The screen seems to be working okay however, I've noticed it flickers when there is movement. I'll just try to keep it on a steady surface. </div></div>Most likely, the Hinges have cut the wires. I can be fixed, but I do not know at what cost. Maybe they just need to tighten the hinges and keep the wire away from it!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistahD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Mine (an Acer) did that for a while - flickering, then died... would come on intermittently, sent to dealer rep - who told me that Acer no longer supported the moder - no replacement parts (basically a boat anchor).. however when I connect it to a desktop monitor sometimes the desktop will workor the laptop monitor will kick in - hopefully to last long enough for me to 'see' to transfer the stored files to another storage device or computer.</div></div>
Did they even look at it?
Maybe it was just a hinge problem or the inverter died.
Laptop will use the desktop, laptop and desktop or just laptop alone.
There should be a combination on your keep board that will switch between sessions.
If you press that key combination, you should be able to switch to the Desktop only setting manually.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Diabolical_Tanya</div><div class="ubbcode-body"></div></div>
What! </div></div>
nutting! mi deh pan a mission