Hi. If it's too late, let me know and I'll check you tomorrow. K?
J-kid...are you dere? ( Need to unlock Password on Laptop PC )
Re: J-kid...are you dere? ( Need to unlock Password on Laptop PC )
de man tek apawt de pc have pieces everyweh an now him cyaan membah weh shawt an ardah de piece dem fe guh.
An dis a de man dem choose fe run tech forum [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Dahjah, dat sounds like yuh ah describe yuhself! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] Yuh put yuh sound studio back together yet? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Miss-G-2-S, sarry mi took ah well deserved break fi di holidays, per Dr. HannaH's orders. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Alright J-kid, here goes. I got a used laptop from a friend. She worked for a company that was getting new ones. I've never been able to upgrade it or put new software on it because the company had passcodes on it and it always say I am not the administrator.
Last week, I paid a guy to take the admin. codes off so I can install Windows XP on it. He said he did. When I opened the computer, all of my info and Internet was gone. No prob. I got back the internet. But the admin codes are apparently still there. When I went to install XP, it said to restart my computer before set up. I did, but nothing doing.
I did not set an admin. password because he said I could by pass that. Plus, all of the codes I put in were denied. He did not respond to my message to him.
I have Windows 2000. XP is compatibly for my system. What must I do to install this? Can I bypass the admin. code?
Originally posted by J-kid:
[qb] Dahjah, dat sounds like yuh ah describe yuhself! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] Yuh put yuh sound studio back together yet? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
[/qb]
But yes it back tuhgedda an mi ha de pix fe prove ee tuh.
jus tek dem tuhdeh tuh
I will answer you in an minute. Mi ah watch Dave Chappelle pan HBO. In di mean time.
What is the speed of your PC and how much RAM do you have?
I assume you are talking about the XP admin pasword and not the CMOS boot-up password?
It is not clear which operating system you curently have on it, Win 2000 or Win_XP?
XP will not let you complete install unless you put in some kind of a password. If I remember correctly it ask for an Owners password, as well as, a Administrator password when you install it.
Originally posted by King dahjah:
[qb] Do you have the restore discs Ms goody?
If so I believe that will put the laptop back to the way it was when it was purchased.
Then yuh cyan fix ee up de way yuh wantee. [/qb]
Originally posted by J-kid:
[qb] I will answer you in an minute. Mi ah watch Dave Chappelle pan HBO. In di mean time.
What is the speed of your PC and how much RAM do you have?
[MG2S] I'm drawing a blank right about now. Speed of my PC and RAM? Short of giving me a computer lesson online, can you tell me what that means?
I assume you are talking about the XP admin pasword and not the CMOS boot-up password?
[MG2S] I'm talking about when I open the computer. It says something like...
USER: administrator
PASSWORD: ___________
It used to have my name and I input my password. It gives me no option to create one. It just asks for the password.
It is not clear which operating system you curently have on it, Win 2000 or Win_XP?
[MG2S] Windows 2000. Thanx!
XP will not let you complete install unless you put in some kind of a password. If I remember correctly it ask for an Owners password, as well as, a Administrator password when you install it. [/qb]
Try just hitting the enter key after boot-up just in case there is No password setup as yet. Also remember passwords are case sensitive.
Also try re-Booting the computer into safe mode. while it is booting up at the black screen, keep hitting F8 to go into Safe Mode. Once you get there is should give you both the owner and the Administrator icons and prompt you to enter yout password. You need to go in under the owner password and also set up an Administrator password.
#################################################
Edit to add:
RESOLUTION
If a user password is lost, forgotten, or unknown, the only method to reset the password is for the administrator (or a user with administrative access) to log on and reset the password in Computer Management. There is no method in the Windows 2000 security model to bypass, disable, or reset the password.
If the administrator password is lost, forgotten, or unknown, access to the computer may not be obtainable and the operating system may need to be reinstalled.
To Reset a User's Password
If a user account needs to be reset, logon as the administrator or as a user with administrative access, and then follow these steps:
Click Start, point to Programs, click Control Panel, double-click Administrative Tools, and then double-click Computer Management.
Expand the Local Users And Groups object under System Tools, and then click the Users folder.
In the right pane, right-click the appropriate user object, and then click Set Password.
Type the appropriate password, and then click OK.
Click OK to acknowledge that the password change succeeded.
Close the Computer Management console and Administrative Tools windows.
The user can log on with the new password.
To Reset the Administrator's Password
Log on to the computer as a user with administrative privileges, and perform the steps listed above for the Administrator account.
If the Administrator password needs to be reset, and there are no other users with administrative access, there is no way to recover the password and the operating system will need to be reinstalled.
Additional Information
A common problem that occurs is using the incorrect case for one or more of the letters in the password. If your password is not accepted, try this:
Press the CAPS LOCK key, and then type the password again. If you remember holding down the SHIFT key when you originally crated the password, make sure you press the SHIFT key as appropriate, even if the CAPS LOCK key has been pressed.
In Windows 2000, passwords are case-sensitive. For example, the following passwords are all different because the letters are in different cases in each password:
password
Password
PASSWORD
Type the password using different combinations of uppercase and lowercase characters. For example, if the password "password" is not working, try "Password" or "PASSWORD".
Sometimes, the prompt to configure the Administrator password is inadvertently skipped, leaving the Administrator account password blank. To determine if this has happened, attempt to log on as Administrator with a blank password.
If someone else has access to the computer, check with that person to see if they have changed the password.
The Windows 2000 Setup program creates a user account called Administrator on your computer that has administrative privileges for managing the overall configuration of your computer. The Administrator account is intended for the person who manages this computer. For security reasons, specify a password for the Administrator account. Leaving the Administrator password blank indicates no password for the account.
The password you type in the Confirm Password box must exactly match the password you type in the Administrator Password box. Take special care to remember and protect your password.
If none of these suggestions works, the operating system may no longer be accessible. Reinstalling the operating system and restoring from a good backup may be the only method to restore access to the system.
NOTE: If the operating system is reinstalled, all previously installed programs and drivers will need to be reinstalled to operate successfully. Data files such as Microsoft Money files, Microsoft Outlook mailbox files, and so on, should not be affected by reinstalling the operating system, but these files will be lost if the hard disk is reformatted during the reinstallation of the operating system.
MORE INFORMATION
The Windows 2000 security framework is designed to fulfill the most stringent security requirements.
Thanks J. I think I understand what you pasted. I think I will have to have the whole system reinstalled. There is no way I can get the original Admins. passcode since it came from a company that discarded it. Interesting to know I paid money for that guy to do something that did not work. Fortunately, we work together.
It costs $100 by me to get it wiped out and XP installed. Just have to invest in it. Thanx!
There are small utilities that are available out there that will clear the old password and allow you to insert an new one, but you must run it from a floppy or CD boot disk. However since you dont have any valuable information on the laptop as of yet the silplest thing as you said may be to just reinstall Win 2000, or take the opportunity to install XP if the memory is sufficient and the processor is fast enough.
Originally posted by msgoody2shoes:
[qb] Thanks J. I think I understand what you pasted. I think I will have to have the whole system reinstalled. There is no way I can get the original Admins. passcode since it came from a company that discarded it. Interesting to know I paid money for that guy to do something that did not work. Fortunately, we work together.
It costs $100 by me to get it wiped out and XP installed. Just have to invest in it. Thanx! [/qb]
1. insert it
2. reboot your machine and follow the prompt to repair or re-install your OS
Otherwise
---------
if you got the original full operating system disc and you can get to the dos prompt while your pc is trying to boot up then type this:
1. cd
2. format c:
3 press yes to the whatever question(s)
4. type a name for your new drive label or just press enter.
5. once format is complete insert your new win 2000 or xp installation disc
6. reboot your computer and following the easy prompts - (selecting yes or ok) as the installation is in progress
7. when done install your new software all over again.
But wait. I got my friend's tech who is going to wipe out my entire system totally and install XP Pro for only $40. He usually charge $75. This is supposed to be better than the home version.
So, thanx for the input guys!
MG2S