etc which I assume these days have anti-virus coverage...or is this too much to assume that they r providing that service and it is never too much coverage to continue on wid say, Norton
J..do u have to renew virus subs like Norton given dat u provider offer updates
Re: J..do u have to renew virus subs like Norton given dat u provider offer updates
Hey Evan!
Mi not too sure what yuh mean by virus subs. Do you mean the main engine (without the data file)?
You usually do not need to have two virus scanners, which is what i assume you are asking. If you have one of the ones like Mcaffee or AVG...etc, They provide very frequent free data file updates.
If I am still off target with your question, yuh caa still explain likkle more fi mi fi get it. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Re: J..do u have to renew virus subs like Norton given dat u provider offer updates
Yuh kno wha Evan, mi noh hav MSN. However, it depends on how good their Virus engine really is. If it isn't that good then by all means use an alternate scanner like Norton. It dosen't have to be Norton though. I personally use AVG, which is very good, with very regular updates, and very free. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
really...AVG...juss type een di acronym and it will bring it up...cause mi get tyad a pay Norton...how do i know how good MSN's virus engine is...is it safe to assume that by virtue of its being MSN and all that it connotes in the world of computers, that it is good
Norton & McAfee are a subscription based service. If you buy Norton or McAfee you usually only get 1-2 years worth of free updates. After that time you need to pay another subscription fee to continue to get virus updates.
I don't know what MSN virus scanner you are talking about...offhand I would venture a guess that you use MSN as your ISP and they are offering virus scans to your incomming emails. If this is the case then I would suggest you get AVG. They offer a free for home use version that works great for most users. You can visit their website here: http://www.grisoft.com/us/us_index.php
If you have used Norton in the past and the subscription has expired you may want to consider something else. I don't suggest Norton anymore because its so agressive it often damages other software installs or hoses your internet/network connection (it locked up a XP network service for 2 of my customers the last time I installed it for them)
One last thing...just because something is MSN/Microsoft don't assume its a good thing hehe ;-)
Originally posted by Rebycman:
[qb] Norton & McAfee are a subscription based service. If you buy Norton or McAfee you usually only get 1-2 years worth of free updates. After that time you need to pay another subscription fee to continue to get virus updates.
I don't know what MSN virus scanner you are talking about...offhand I would venture a guess that you use MSN as your ISP and they are offering virus scans to your incomming emails. If this is the case then I would suggest you get AVG. They offer a free for home use version that works great for most users. You can visit their website here: http://www.grisoft.com/us/us_index.php
If you have used Norton in the past and the subscription has expired you may want to consider something else. I don't suggest Norton anymore because its so agressive it often damages other software installs or hoses your internet/network connection (it locked up a XP network service for 2 of my customers the last time I installed it for them)
One last thing...just because something is MSN/Microsoft don't assume its a good thing hehe ;-) [/qb]