As the first official science post in the technology forum, what would all of you like to discuss? Open to all suggestions but no nonsense, please.
First official science post
Re: First official science post
Melanin is simply pigmentation that acts to protect the animal tissue from near-UV radiation. It is found in the hair, feathers, scales, and eyes of most vertebrates. It may also be involved in certain metabolic processes but beyond that it serves no other supernatural function as espoused by many afrocentrists.
Originally posted by B_P:
[qb] beyond that it serves no other supernatural function as espoused by many afrocentrists. [/qb]
So wah dem seh nah no meanin' den?
Ar wah dem seh nuh mek no sense tuh de "regular" scientific world?
I wouldn't dash their veiws out so quick.
An interesting aspect of melanin is its was evolved as a specific useful attribute for tropical humans.. Yet tropical humans can succcesfully function successfully in regions where humans have evolved with melanin depletions...
And on the flip side humans who evolved with melanin deficencies due to geologiacal impact can function equally well in the tropical climes.. This ilustrates the fact that human can ameliorate enviromental parameters in order to function....
Effective as human has evolved melanin or lack there of seems to have minimal effect on humans capability to survive in a earth type enviroment... We have developed technologies to compensate...
One thought though with the opening of both the antartica and artic triple atom oxygen hole.. (ok Ozone hole) will melaini content become a deciding factor in hte surviability of humans....
One thing I note of biochemistry primary functionality of a biochemical specie has a seacondary impact... I have never heard of a secondary impact of melanin though...
Originally posted by B_P:
[qb] Melanin is simply pigmentation that acts to protect the animal tissue from near-UV radiation. It is found in the hair, feathers, scales, and eyes of most vertebrates. It may also be involved in certain metabolic processes but beyond that it serves no other supernatural function as espoused by many afrocentrists. [/qb]
It actually increases heat uptake and increases sensitivity to sun exposure. this results in forcing the host move away from exposure to the sun.
It also increases vitamin D production from sunlight in it's host.
Melanin also increases the water resistance of it's hosts epidermis.
The diasdvantage is that real dark persons are more likely to suffer sunstroke if forced to stay in very radiant sunlight.
...and black people gets sumburn as easy as,and in some cases easier (if these is no shade available) than light skinned person.
the reason why there is not more nlack sunburn,is because due to sensitivity to sun ardiant heat,dark skinned usually seek shade,after a few minutes exposure.
Yes and all this is based on real science.
As I saw this about extra semnsory powers,it reminds me of being actualluy taught in yoga that all the eliightened,inc;uding the Bhudda With his negroid hair were black.
I acyually did not take any intrest in it,and totally forgot about until I visited the page.
What I can say is that dark skinned is much more sensitive to radiant heatincluding the sunlight,than lighter skinned,person.
That is scientoific,no guessing there.