I will be in Jamaica next week. I have a Garmin Nuvi GPS unit that I use to navigate in Toronto. Will it work in Jamaica to navigate on the roads. thanks
GPS in Jamaica-Will it work?
Re: GPS in Jamaica-Will it work?
I don't think it will as it is programmed for the US.Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com
As Xman sey yuh haffi hav di JA map inna di GPS unit, or be able to download it from their web site as an update.
I believe, that some European GPS units have some JA mapping inna dem?
Here is a unit you can however purchase, that more directly relates to Jamaica. I don't know if you can rent the unit?
http://www.jis.gov.jm/trans_works/html/2...avel_easier.asp
Ah wanda if it will bi able fi speaks inna Patwa, as one of several voices?
For example: "Rahtid!!! Yuh noh hear mi did sey yuh did fi tun back deh soh?"
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Ah wanda if it will bi able fi speaks inna Patwa, as one of several voices?
For example: "Rahtid!!! Yuh noh hear mi did sey yuh did fi tun back deh soh?"</div></div>
An if yuh come from farrin an cyaan keep up wid de flow of traffic...
"Cho! Drive up nuh man!"
GPS Preferences - Kingston settings:
"Least use of freeways" - Watch out fi di Country buss driver dem.
"Most use of freeways" - Yuh naa get shot, but di tolls ah goh kill yuh.
"Fastest Time" - Only Gad knows. Goh dung deh at yuh own risk.
"Shortest distance" - Yuh might get jacked ah night time.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body">As Xman sey yuh haffi hav di JA map inna di GPS unit, or be able to download it from their web site as an update.
Here is a unit you can however purchase, that more directly relates to Jamaica. I don't know if you can rent the unit?
For example: "Rahtid!!! Yuh noh hear mi did sey yuh did fi tun back deh soh?"</div></div>The UWI have an enterprise arm that develope GPS for Jamaica
It only work in I think Garmin or one of them. If you take it they will program it for a fee.or you can buy one from them. as to the voice part I didn't check the language used.
<span style="font-size: 14pt"><span style="font-weight: bold">A perfect example for getting and using the Jamaican GPS unit:</span></span>
################################################## #########################
Canadian tourists attacked by gunmen
Thursday, 21 May 2009
Five Canadian tourists received the shock of their lives when gunmen opened fire on their vehicle on Thursday afternoon as they travelled on Spanish Town Road in Kingston.
Reports are that the visitors had rented a vehicle and driven themselves to Kingston from the Iberostar Resort in Rose Hall, Montego Bay.
Information Minister Daryl Vaz told our news centre on Thursday afternoon that <span style="font-weight: bold">when they made a wrong turn </span>and ended up in violence-plagued area somewhere between Three Miles and Greenwich Farm.
They were attacked and their vehicle shot up by gunmen.
The tourists reportedly received minor injuries when the bullets shattered the back window of the vehicle.
They were taken to the Kingston Public Hospital for treatment.
The Information Minister and a team from the Jamaica Tourist Board have reportedly met with the frightened visitors.
They will be debriefed by the police before being flown back to Montego Bay tonight.
Police have not ascertained a motive for the attack and could not confirm whether the tourists were deliberately targeted.
Source
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body">As Xman sey yuh haffi hav di JA map inna di GPS unit, or be able to download it from their web site as an update.
For example: "Rahtid!!! Yuh noh hear mi did sey yuh did fi tun back deh soh?"</div></div>
This excerpt from your link addresses the crime hotspots
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">In highlighting the safety aspects of the device, Dr. Lyew-Ayee notes that "we have pre-programmed the system to avoid crime hot spots."
"Let us say you are in Kingston and want to reach Ocho Rios...while going through Spanish Town would be shortest route.the system would give the Spanish Town bypass as the option."</div></div>
but i want to know why it neva launch wid de jamaican accent - dat should have been the 1st language
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">He informs that the device can give directions in various languages, which include Chinese, French and Portuguese and <span style="font-weight: bold"> the Jamaican accent will soon be added.</span></div></div>If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
but i want to know why it neva launch wid de jamaican accent - dat should have been the 1st language
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">He informs that the device can give directions in various languages, which include Chinese, French and Portuguese and <span style="font-weight: bold"> the Jamaican accent will soon be added.</span></div></div> </div></div>
My guess is dat, dem did inna di back room nearly come to blows, an ah fight ova which wan ah di Jamaican accents fi use. Naturally som wi want di strong accent, while others waa di speaky-spokey stoush accent.