<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jaded</div><div class="ubbcode-body">oonu memba when pagers were the ish?
an fax machines were the fastest way to deciminate information...
what else bawn and ded (so far) inna fe wi lfe time? </div></div>
The devices are dead but the underlying technology is still alive in both examples.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jaded</div><div class="ubbcode-body">oonu memba when pagers were the ish?
The devices are dead but the underlying technology is still alive in both examples. </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jaded</div><div class="ubbcode-body">aight device or technology betta now? </div></div>..jeeze I think I should have left it alone.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jaded</div><div class="ubbcode-body">aight device or technology betta now? </div></div>..jeeze I think I should have left it alone. </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jaded</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jaded</div><div class="ubbcode-body">oonu memba when pagers were the ish?
what else bawn and ded (so far) inna fe wi lfe time? </div></div>I had one of the original pagers,when only doctors carried them. It had a button that when depresed you could hear every single transmission to every one on the system. At that time systems were operated by the institution.
As a youth I used one of the first fax machines. It was just a special typewriter witha recepticle, to sit the telephone hand set it,and it wotld just type away.that is the only piece of communication equipment that they never charge to use,sthey stilldon't.the
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> Wasn't there suppen also called ah Mimeograph dem use wid amonia? </div></div>believe it or not I used the mimeograph(stencil) with the purple stuff, look like alcohol to me. It is used to clean off the platten after use so that it doesnt get hard on it. My family had it in their law practice, and as a kid they staff use to pay me to do the dirty work after school. The name of the machine use to be Gestetner.
Answering machines are headed that way, if not there already. LAN line phones too. Any camera using film. Desktop computers in general are on the way out as far as I can see.
rememba when yu use to gu to library to research old articles..dem still use those machines?..I can't even remember wat they were called...lawd libraries probably soon a ting of de past to
rememba when yu gu to library to research old articles..dem still use those machines..I can't even remember wat they were called...lawd libraries probably soon a ting of de past to </div></div>
Yes I remember that too.
Libraries, yes, they will go the way of the dinosaur. As will newspapers, magazines and printed books. CD players will soon join the list as well.
Going to the movies, while not as popular as it was before VCRs came out is still a place to go. Amazing really!
rememba when yu gu to library to research old articles..dem still use those machines..I can't even remember wat they were called...lawd libraries probably soon a ting of de past to </div></div>
Yes I remember that too.
Libraries, yes, they will go the way of the dinosaur. As will newspapers, magazines and printed books. CD players will soon join the list as well.
Going to the movies, while not as popular as it was before VCRs came out is still a place to go. Amazing really! </div></div>
interesting point re movies..
wonder why that is? makes more sense financially or people juss like to watch movies with other people
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.