Micro Hard Drives that fits in the palm of your hand.
Yes, they have small flash memory (electronic) cards, and yes, you could get an external card reader and use a 1 or 2 GByte compact flash card or a USB thumb drive, but it is still fascinating how small the MECHANICAL (6GB) hard drives are getting. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Re: Micro Hard Drives that fits in the palm of your hand.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body">How yuh like dem vs. the flash drives? Speed, etc?
I hav never used mechanical HD that tiny, only the flash-drives. </div></div>
Well I have a couple of 6BG Hitachi’s that I salvaged from some broken DAPs. I initially thought that I could somehow fool my Canon Camera to address part of the Drive as Camera has a 2GB limit.
Never worked it saw the drive but could not read it. I still might be able to if I find the correct way format it.
That said, the drive do work in all the Sandisk Readers I have, recently I bought a 23-1 Reader and it would not read it, yet my obsolete Sandisk USB-Slow read it without no problem.
With these drives you can't hot swap as quickly because a combination of WinDoze, the size of the Drive, the size of the cache and the Card Reader/Writer means the data is cached then is written in the background. Premature eject-elation means a potential for messy errors.
Hardiness the drive is pretty hardy, but way less so than CF, it is like soft turtle shell. No heat, no squeezing and no dropping. Handle by the sides.
I just bought a special case for the tow that I have that fits perfectly, on the other hand I got another Card Reader that claims to fit CFI and II + IBM MicroDrive. My drive could not fit the small opening, because Hitachi 6GB is a little fatter North and South.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.