between SDR and DDR RAM
Whats the difference
Re: Whats the difference
Originally posted by Sweetssop:
[qb]Originally posted by J kid:
[qb] Sweets, Why yuh ah hav smoke in di form of question marks ah com outa yuh head top? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Com talk tuh mi, noh! [/qb][img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [/qb]
Alright here wi goh:
Yuh can NOT interchange di two ah dem. Dem slots are very different (yuh haffi check yuh motherboard fi si which type it use). Also as mi sey before, di speed pan DDR-Ram is much faster than SD-Ram (the clock cycle is much quicker). SD is the older type RAM, and less expensive. DDR is more expensive, however the price has been dropping as demand increases. DDR-ram (double data rate random access memmory) will swaps out twice the amount of data when compared to SD-ram (single data rate random access memmory).
There are also several different types of SD-ram, as well as, different types of DDR-ram.
With the newer, much faster micro-processors (namely Intel) you need DDR-RAM for system stability and processing speed.
Wikipedia has this for you Sweetssop:
Regards,
-Reby
Sop, you would have to open the case or if you have the motherboard book, it will also tell you in there.
Another alternative, if you know your PC model number or motherboard number, is to go online and search for those numbers and the parts specs, which should include that information.
To find out go to www.Belarc.com and click on free download,and down load the belarc advisor. It will check your puter and tell you everything about it.