I want to get one of those camera fe de studio that is hooked up to the net.
I hear there is one that will email the vid to 5 different ppl if smaddy brukeen yuh place.
No real suggestion here other than what I found on a quickie google search (webcam +motion detector).
It seems most of them are just monitoring a standard webcam and when something on the screen goes by it grabs a few snapshots. I got quite a few links for a variety of software that appeared to work with just about any webcam (cant say for sure since I didnt test them).
I'd try google first, then hit a review site like cnet for webcam reviews with bundled software.
I've seen this type of thing done before but I'm really not into webcams/video too much. If ya find a specific product I'll dig a bit for ya and see what I can come up with though [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
Originally posted by Emperah dahJah:
[qb] I want to get one of those camera fe de studio that is hooked up to the net.
I hear there is one that will email the vid to 5 different ppl if smaddy brukeen yuh place.
Which one is it? [/qb]
This is probably overkill for you? But it may be worth a look:
With this camera you can monitor your studio from any internet site in the world. Even better, you move your camera to scan the studio -- pan/tilt and zoom.
And rather than just capture a few snapshots, the included software allows you save streaming video to your hard drive in a highly compressed format. Perhaps a standard motion detector telephone dialer (Radio Shack) could alert you of a breakin while the camera records the break in.
I've been asked to design a system for a friend to monitor his greenhouse while he's working on the rigs and I've found that these systems are fairly easy to implement. (BTW, he grows hot peppers in the greenhouse, nothing green [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] ).
Features:
• CCD Sensor for Superior Quality Video
• Built-in Microphone for Audio Monitoring and Recording
• High Quality MPEG-4 Short Header Mode Compression
• Built-In Motion Detection & Email Notification
Specifications:
Remote Management: Configuration and system log can be accessed via WEB Browser and FTP application remotely
Networking Protocol: TCP/IP, HTTP, SMTP, FTP, Telnet, NTP, DNS and DHCP
Network Application:
- DDNS support with several popular DDNS servers
UPnP support
- SMTP client
- FTP client
- FTP server
- HTTP server
Connectivity:
- Wireless Enhanced 802.11b
- Wired 10BaseT or 100Base-T Fast Ethernet
Video Algorithm Supported: H.263+ (MPEG4 Short Header Mode)
Features:
- Built-in Motion Detection
- MPEG4 short header mode compression for streaming video
- JPEG compression for still images
tanx peeps a dem sittin mi a look fah.
mi waan fe kno what a gwaan een mi a studio when mi deh a jamaica ar japan [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Das why wi need a FAQ fi dis yah forum. Som ah dem pan yah waa mi fi delete some ah dem important topics in yah. Mi wi clean out light weight stuff but not di serious sruff whe tek whole heap ah research an typing fi accomplish.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.