J-kid what should I get apart from an added cd burner?
buying a new computer
Re: buying a new computer
I will assume that this is a desktop and not a laptop? Correct me if I am weong.
1) Get the DVD burner instead. I have two drives. A very fast CD+/-r, and a (CD+/-r & DVD+/-r) cumbo. The CD is used to give the DVD a rest when I only want to burn or read CD's.
2) 802.11G wireless capability. It is faster than 802.1B. However, you can get a wired card if you like.
3) For price and performance, get between a 2 to 3 Gega Hertz microocessor. If you can afford faster, get it.
4) Between 512 Mega Bytes and one Gega Byte of RAM memory.
5) About 160 to 250 Gega Byte Hard Drive.
6) Firewire, and USB_2 ports.
7) Make sure that the sound card has line-in capability (you should see a line-in port , not just a line-out).
8) Windows-XP Home YOU don't need to get XP-pro.
9) Make sure they give you Microsoft Office Suite as software.
10) A TV out connector is good on the video card, but not essential.
11) Personaly I am not a big fan of most store bought, name-brand PC's, I biuld my own, or have some local person/shop custom build it to my specifications (motherboard, processor, HD, etc....)
12) Protect your eyes, get a good quality video monitor. I would recommend a 17 to 21 inch. You spend a lot of time looking at this thing, this is the area to focus on details and quality. Make sure you get good value for your money, however, don't over-spend. Also in this case the biger you can afford the better. I am still not a big fan of the LCD panels yet, as far as, viewing them all day, especally at the wrong angle and in low light conditions. A lot of people have been suffering eye issues with these so called lower cost LCD panels.
Anyone else can feel free to add their suggestions.
I cant say what you would need without knowing what you want the pc to do. The great thing about computers is you can customize it to your needs.
Gamers need a whole different machine than somebody that's just using MS Office. I agree with most of what Jkid said but some areas you may be able to skimp on depending on your needs. You should buy locally if possible (from a pc store/shop, not a costco/office depot type store). They can help you save money and get a machine that's upgradeable and not crippled by the reseller. Also keep in mind you don't always need to buy a new pc but rather upgrade what you have (depends on what hardware you have).
So what exactly do you use your pc for? Anything that you want to do that it cant currently do?
Regards,
-Reby
Laptop cool still, but value for value, desktop beats the laptop everytime. Laptop technology lags a bit behind desktop technology. If she needs portability, then go ahead with the laptop, however if it is for home use, I would recommend she go with the desktop.
well mi sure shi nuh need hi-tech, aftah shi nuh like yuh [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]
mi kno how shi like fe move roun and mi sure she would love fe able fe log on from room to room wid out sit a de same place all de while.
Like yuh seh portability...
mi sure shi nah run run har energy system/security from de pc [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]
nuh choo Jedi.... yuh si how mi kno yuh [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Originally posted by Emperah dahJah:
[qb] well mi sure shi nuh need hi-tech, aftah shi nuh like yuh [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]
[/qb]
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] sweet jeezaz but is wha dis. Unoo too funny. (((DJ))) yuh know seh yuh chat too much doh...cyaan chruss yuh wid notten...yuh soon leak out wi secrit to di whol worl [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
Now (((J-kid))) yuh done kno seh sometime it all tek yuh one whole week fi ansa one qwestian so do chry no badda!Yes DJ yuh rite mi need a laptop too. Odda wise mi stuck inna di office. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Anyhow I am reading all that you are saying and taking notes, especially of the hard drive capacity. I buy from Gateway where they build it to my specifications but dem kind a pricey. So far di one I have is about 6 years old but I changed from windows 2000 to xp last year.
Since I got rid of Java Script I haven't been having any prolems with crashes or pop-ups. I also have the capacity to add a cd/dvd burner to the one I have. Is it worth it? Or dis goh buy one new one.
Ah which J-Kid tek one week fi ansa question? Couple days maybi wen mi real busy. Yuh mussi ah deal wid mi twin who keep ah get mi inna trouble. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] If smaddi alreadi ah gi help mi usually noh badda stick mi two cents in deh, unless specifically asked tu do so or dem noh hav solution fi di question.
Soh here is fi mi opinion pan di question yuh ask is:
If yuh satisfy wid di performance, den save yuh money an jus upgrade di specific components dat yuh need fi upgrade. If yuh waa suppen new wid lightening speed den goh ahead an buy suppen new wid all di bells ah whistles mi mention uppa top. Soh yuh waa laptop? Well, bi prepared fi pay ah likkle extra fi di mobility, if yuh get di same ting dem pan ie.