between Sleep & Hibernate pan yuh computah, it seemm tuh mi dat dem boat duh de same ting, but dem muss bi diffrent since dem put de two a dem deh?
Sleep mode - partially powers down your laptop, but keeps everything you are doing in memory. The hard drive is turned off, along with everything else except memory. Memory is still kept alive to retain your information. Power is still being drawn at a much reduced amount from your battery, for a quick startup when you next move the mouse, or press a key. Depending on your laptop and setting, you could stay in sleep-mode for days. Still monitors your working environment.
Hibernate - Saves an image of what you are doing to your hard drive and then TOTALLY shuts down the computer (nothing is in memory). No power is being drawn from the battery anymore. When you next press the power switch, your desktop is restored to the same state it was when it went put into hibernate. Hibernate takes much longer to power-up than sleep-mode does. When it comes up it ASSUMES everything about your working enviroment stayed the same.
And if you use a docking station, it will keep you and the laptop sane if you do a proper shutdown before you insert or remove the unit into the docking station, instead of when you wakeup the laptop.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.