Has anyone tried Vonage or any of the other internet phone services? If so, what are the pluses and minuses? Thanks.
Vonage
Re: Vonage
Vonage good for US service/a bargain if you make many long-distance calls. Calling Jamaica gets dicier since there are different charges for landline and cell phones, most considerably under what the major traditional players like
AT&T charge with the hefty Cable & Wireless (aka Clueless and Worthless many on island call it)surcharges. Skype is another Internet service for calls worth investigating.
It's a free download and free service for calls to island AS LONG AS you and recipients both have computers (with an inexpensive headset). Which rarely happens outside the cities since many areas are still dial-up...
Check out www.skype.com
Some things to consider regarding VOIP, Most VoIP services don't work during power outages and the service provider may not offer backup power, there are big problems with getting a seamless connection with 911 emergency dispatch centers.Most VoIP providers do not offer directory assistance/white page listings.One plus, is that it is not FCC regulated (at least not yet).
Juss yessideh mi talk to dis man weh do some kinda VoIP fe the Brazilians inna Ca and US.
They get a phone line with brazilian are code...that way when dem peeps a brazil a call dem is a local call same way.. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
need sumting like that fe de jamaicans to.
Brukbak, yuh know nutten bout dem ting deh?
I had heard something about you can pick your own area code (I didn't know it may include international.) If so, it might be worthwhile to set up a service like this with a Jamaican area code, and also have a landline service for domestic calls. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
I went with packet8.When I joined them their rates to Jamaica was 8 cents/minute!!! Thats why I joined them. Now 1 year later the rate is now 26 cents/minute. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70394-bawlout.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img]
Other than that their service has been very good.Only 1-2 small outages lasting 2 hours at most. If you want to get views on every VOIP provider, go here. DSL Reports VOIP forum