Verizon FiOS or Cable Internet
Re: Verizon FiOS or Cable Internet
Which is better and why please?
Verizon's version of FiOS,use similia technology to cable,inly that it is waaaaay faster abd cheaper.it is similar to current canle yechnology,in that there is a potential that the speed can reduced with more use in the same area.
the old DSL is not succeptable to this.
S/W.Bell's technology is similar to DSL in that each customer has his/her own chanell,and is not afected by the number of users in the area,but It does not seem to be such an advantage in reality,because cable customers don't seem to be affected or even aware of any reduction is speed with the influx od users in the same neighborhood.
Incidentally FiOS is also about cable programs,too so it is more like Verizon is going cable with a newer technology that they are introducing a new technology.
thanks Dr Dudd
When I read the VZ site I saw they were offering 2Mbps for $35.. presently with cable I may pay more but do get 6Mbps (to share with the neighbors). A degradation in speed is far less noticeable when you are sharing 6Mbps than 2Mbps..
Then again I recall when T1s/E1 rates were considered fast [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
If Verizon offering you fiberoptic "fios" service in your neighbourhood, TAKE IT. Dump cable. Cable in no way compares to fios. Fios gives waaaaaaay more usable bandwidth than cable, so even if everyone in your neighbourhood gets online same time, you will hardly notice a drop in speed. We had comcast service, no matter how they advertise 3mb speeds, I never got anything more than 1.5 max. That's download only. As for their upload speeds, Comcast .75mb is a joke. Verizon gives me 5mb download and 2mb upload constantly, no matter what time of day, no matter if the 4 computers online at the same time.
Kia, as far as I know, Verizon's lowest service is 5mb upload/2mb download, not 2mb for the $35 you mentioned . Most likely you pay more than that for cable 6mb, (but in reality 4mb or less).
Verizon offers up to 30/5mb
Check your internet speeds with our online speed test. Fusion Connect is your cloud solution provider for VoIP, UC, hosted service, internet & secure networking. Call today!
This test shows you your real internet speed. Click the location nearest you and run the test. If you get the 6mb cable claims then ok, but I'm guessing you will get less. Verizon is still cheaper though.
Later on, Verizon will offer a digital cable tv services for much less than cable. A couple counties up here already have cable tv through Verizon.
When I looked into switching, Verizon will give me the same channels as Comcast, plus hd service, plus 2 hd/dvr boxes for $45/month less than what comcast would charge. But that is probably 6 months-1 year away for me.
The only thing is that you have to switch your home phone over to Verizon, and they remove you current copper terminal and replace it with a fios terminal. So once you go fios, you can't switch back. You will also have to place inside your house / garage a Verizon box and a battery backup.
Sorry go off on a rant, but I HATE COMCAST WITH A PASSION. I remember calling to complain about overcharges and the damn lady have to nerve to tell me to "sssshhhhh" and be quiet!!
BigRed
Thanks for the info.. I tested my speed and I got
Download Speed: 4046 kbps (505.8 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 357 kbps (44.6 KB/sec transfer rate)
Have you received your 1st bill yet? If so can you tell me what the surchages were (FCC surchage, 911 surcharge, etc)? I would like to get an idea of the true cost.
Why does VZ require that I have a phoneline with them? Presently I have Vonage and dont care to port to any other carrier.. dont worry I'll call them and get more details.. Yes $35 a month is better than the $42.95 to tiefing comcast.. but we have basic cable wid dem fi mi madda & use satellite...
Sounds like it is worth looking into though [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img]If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Sorry my mistake about the phone. We only switched our phone from att because it was cheaper to have all verizon.
No taxes no fees for fios! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
I've read where some people have had problems connecting to vonage after switching, but that was some time ago. I would call Vonage and Verizon and check on that.
Thanks BigRed
I called and also googled Vonage with VZ FiOs and it appears whatever issues that came up appeared to be resolved in the mid june time frame..
One thing that tiefing comcast offers is free mcafee.. I will have to buy it now but the savings with FiOs is worth the extra expense.
and yes I will have to change my email address on EVERYTHING to a new email address but that is ok
Appt scheduled Tues [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Thanks BigRed
I called and also googled Vonage with VZ FiOs and it appears whatever issues that came up appeared to be resolved in the mid june time frame..
One thing that tiefing comcast offers is free mcafee.. I will have to buy it now but the savings with FiOs is worth the extra expense.
and yes I will have to change my email address on EVERYTHING to a new email address but that is ok
Appt scheduled Tues [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
so wah dat mean...mi haffi have land line with verizon [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img] cause mi nuh think mi is going there...
no Geneva you dont need a landline with VZ.. mi call dem and dem seh mi nat going dere eida [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70388-shameonyou.gif[/img]
but as a last ditch effort mi going call comcast and see if dem can give mi $19.95 a month fi a year fi stay .... let me see how much dem want fi keep mi businessIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
called tiefing comcast..
dem will match $34.99 fi a year but will nat match $19.99 .. so mi did tell dem mi will seh buh bye once the VZ FiOs is up & running [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70371-jump.gif[/img]If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Download Speed: 4995 kbps (624.4 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 1427 kbps (178.4 KB/sec transfer rate)
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Download Speed: 4995 kbps (624.4 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 1427 kbps (178.4 KB/sec transfer rate)
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
[/ QUOTE ] What did I say about ffffaaaaast again?? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif[/img]