Does anyone know if you have alot of music downloaded on your computer if that can cause your system to run slower?
Downloaded music
Re: Downloaded music
Yes, it can in some circumstances. That all depends on how much space you have left on your boot drive and how it is configured. I am of course assuming that you do not have some kind of virus or trojan.
How much space do you have remaining on the "C-drive"? How much RAM do you have? What operating system are you using?
It can (as is the case with any PC that has a lot of stuff saved on the hard drive). More time than not, the slowness is the result of file fragmentation; that is, files are "scattered" all over the hard drive, so the PC takes "longer" to find them. If you have a lot of files saved on your PC, you should run your defragmentation program. It will perform a drive analysis, and if you are using XP, will actually tell you if defragging is necessary or not.
If you are using Windows XP, to defrag do the following:
- Go to "My Computer"
- Right click on the drive you want to check
- Go to "Properties"
- Click on "Tools"
- Click on "Defragment Now"
- Follow the instructions
For more info on defrag, check here.
The other thing is to make sure the PC has at least 512MB of memory.aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon
Thanks for replying guys! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
I have to preface my next questions by asking if you know how many computer idiots are out there n cyberspace who actually run a PC and don't really have any idea of wha'gwan...well, I'm one of them! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70367-help.gif[/img]
J-Kid, what is my boot drive?..and how do I find out how it is configured? What is my C-drive & how do I find out how much space is left? I do know my operating system is Windows XP.
CEW, I just did my weekly maintainance & it said defrag was not necessary....how do I find out how much memory I have on my PC? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70367-help.gif[/img]
Where's that "embarrassment" icon when you really need it?
Part of my problem iis not knowing all the lingo and the other part is beng a technically challenged person...but I am very creative! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
And the question that will be,"What do I do to solve this problem"? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
A possible solution would be to install a second hard drive. Then transfer all your downloaded music to it. shouldn't be too expensive or difficult to do. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
CEW, I just did my weekly maintainance & it said defrag was not necessary....how do I find out how much memory I have on my PC? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70367-help.gif[/img]
- Right click on "My Computer"
- Go to "Properties"
- Under the "General" tab you should see a "Computer" section, under which you should see your PC's chip type, speed, and installed RAM.
It would be great if you could let us know all three bits of information [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
Hey, if it helps, we have all been there at one time or another. At least you're not using the mouse as a foot pedal [img]/forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon
Thanks for replying guys! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
I have to preface my next questions by asking if you know how many computer idiots are out there n cyberspace who actually run a PC and don't really have any idea of wha'gwan...well, I'm one of them! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70367-help.gif[/img]
J-Kid, what is my boot drive?..and how do I find out how it is configured? What is my C-drive & how do I find out how much space is left? I do know my operating system is Windows XP.
Part of my problem iis not knowing all the lingo and the other part is beng a technically challenged person...but I am very creative! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
<font color="blue"> (((Ja.Jewel))), I am soooo glad to have company. I was asking for a dunce cap graemlin the other day! Is like they're talking Chinese in here! </font> [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Thanks for sharing that, Nanook...now I don't feel so bad...but at least you are well versed in intricate camera runnings and posting pics...I can't even manage that!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70394-bawlout.gif[/img]
shouldn't be too expensive or difficult to do. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
Spoken like ah true Geek! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
ja-jewel, dat is what wi are here for. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
Wi as geeks sometimes figet wi early days of first learning, and may talk above your head sometimes, but hang in here and wi will walk yuh through the process eventually.
The boot-drive in your case is the c-drive, and has the operating system on it.
Start > My Computer > left click on C-drive > properties.