<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: diabolical_Tanya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
How do they do it?
Does not matter. Opening (clicking on the email itself) to look at the content can activate hidden codes in some e-mails. That is why it is better to use outlook's preview mode (this is NOT the auto read-pane mode). Better yet dont open if you suspect and it is not someone you know, can identify, or email you are expecting.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Better yet dont open if it is not someone you know</div></div>
However, som jus activate long enough in memory fi duh dem dirty deeds (like read yuh address book,...etc) an dem job is dun. Short term, single purpose assault.
just couple weeks ago my firewall was off (pc is left on 24/7). when i got home and press enter... half a dozen virus warnings all about hacking into my email address book were scattered across the monitor.
after 3 days and ready to call the vw bug computer fix it people out by Bestbuy, I made one last ditch effort to do a full system restore from ms-dos. i tried full sys restore to manufacturer state 3 times before it finally started doing something.
Good thing I have an external hard disk and was able to back up all my documents, pictures, etc. got the pc running again. got norton running and did a full scan of the external disk incase. back in business.
Let me also add to be careful of viruses from Facebook as well.
The other day I received a Facebook message from a friend asking "is that you in this video" (link to video). You know something about the msg just seemed bogus and wrought with virus. I deleted it, ran a virus scan, then sent her an email about it. She no it wasn't from her but somehow someone hacked into my FB and sending out all sorts of things to her friends list and email contacts.
There are so many ways out there to get your info, it isn't funny. Your best 'protection' is knowledge. The email <span style="font-style: italic">from</span> you may have been spoofed and may <span style="text-decoration: underline">not</span> have come from your computer. It's pretty easy to do and the program(s) that actually does the spoofing has been around for years. The program can be either a worm, virus, or actual valid application. So that means somebody you know, or have sent an email to doesn't have their pc updated or their antivirus/firewall is lacking, or your email showed up on a spam list somewhere. The email header (now mostly hidden by many programs) can provide some info on the origin of the message, but even data in there can be spoofed too. Deleting the account may not help anything. Amusing to me is getting spam from myself.
There is a lot of stuff out there that <span style="font-weight: bold">cannot</span> be detected by the scanning programs. There are even some that go into 'sleep' mode when you access an antivirus program/website. There are others that still run when you go into windows 'safe' mode, so cleaning them is a RPITA. You scared yet? Again, knowledge is your best protection.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.