I recently purchased my MagicJack from their website taking advantage of their 30 day FREE trial. http://www.magicjack.com/2/?mid=3080...5959&s=726 - I received it 3 days later in the mail. It is just a small flash drive looking thing that plugs into a USB port. I installed it with no problem. Picked my area code and let them assign me a phone number. I used it all week-end, calling people both local and from other states, landlines and cell. The call quality was excellent. It has voice mail and call forwarding along with caller ID. I must say I am impressed. I tried it with my desktop and then plugged it into my laptop. Same great service, as long as your internet connection is good. I am coming to JA in January for a month. Of course I will bring my laptop and Magic Jack. Calls to the US will be free - as it uses an area code from the US. Can't wait to try it from JA. The cost is only $19.95 per year after the initial cost of $46.05 for the Magic Jack - 1 year of service and shipping. Don't know if anyone else is using it from JA - but I am curious to know :-)
Magic Jack
Re: Magic Jack
I have one, and I stay connected with my father, who resides in JA, who owns one also. Connection is not bad at all when calls are from one majik jack user to another. So far so good. Can't beat that price at all, considering the amount of calls and the length of the calls
Yes it would be free - however - the person you are calling in JA would also have to have a Magic Jack with a US area code - but I think they offer an international plan too for cheap. Not sure what the rate is tho. And I don't think you can purchase the Magic Jack in JA. You would have to buy one for the person(s) you are calling in JA and send it to them. Thats what I plan on doing. I will be bringing an extra one with me to JA in January to give to my friend.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Silent_River</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I have one, and I stay connected with my father, who resides in JA, who owns one also. Connection is not bad at all when calls are from one majik jack user to another. So far so good. Can't beat that price at all, considering the amount of calls and the length of the calls</div></div>
Glad to hear that it works well. I am excited !!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: rasta@heart</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Yes it would be free - however - the person you are calling in JA would also have to have a Magic Jack with a US area code - but I think they offer an international plan too for cheap. Not sure what the rate is tho. And I don't think you can purchase the Magic Jack in JA. You would have to buy one for the person(s) you are calling in JA and send it to them. Thats what I plan on doing. I will be bringing an extra one with me to JA in January to give to my friend. </div></div>
The people that I would want to call do not have a computer.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jamaica_dreamin</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: rasta@heart</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Yes it would be free - however - the person you are calling in JA would also have to have a Magic Jack with a US area code - but I think they offer an international plan too for cheap. Not sure what the rate is tho. And I don't think you can purchase the Magic Jack in JA. You would have to buy one for the person(s) you are calling in JA and send it to them. Thats what I plan on doing. I will be bringing an extra one with me to JA in January to give to my friend. </div></div>
The people that I would want to call do not have a computer. </div></div>
I see - well sorry it wouldn't work for you then unless thy used a public computer
I've used it from JA. It works. Occasionally some minor issues if the connection speed is low, or if you surf while talking. The corporate laptop occasionally cuts off the transmit portion due to the firewall, but a normal pc shouldn't have any issues.
Another option is nettalk.com. This one plugs into the router directly or uses a usb port.
Wha? U neva hear 'bout cordless phone yet?
The unit has a plug just like the jack on the wall. You plug one end (usb extension) into the pc, the other end to the unit. It downloads the software everytime, which I find annoying. Then plug in the phone. And you're connected just like a land line. You also get dialtone. You can also use a headset with a mic or the mic on the laptop if it comes with one. But yes, the pc needs to be on, but once connected, you can use any phone in the house as long as the line is connected to the unit.
Portability in the sense that you can use any pc with a headset or a cheap $5 analog phone, but a pc/laptop is required. (and internet access.)
LOL @ the cordless phone comment
NO - mi noh know wah name soh
Linskinny – mi just want something wey mi can call Internationally when mi on the road…dats why mi a mek up mi face bout Portability. Dis technology requires yuh to be at a PC as yuh sey …soh it too limiting for what mi want
Check out Google voice. I just got access and it might do what you want for cheap. 9 cents/minute to JA. The wait for access might be a bit long though since it still in beta. I like it so far, especially the transcribed voicemail that is sent to the email address you setup.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: rasta@heart</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I just checked on International Rates to JA.
C&W Mobil is .27 cents per minute
Digicel is .20 per minute </div></div>
Calling card rates are much lower. This is what kept me from trying it.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Q.K</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: rasta@heart</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I just checked on International Rates to JA.
C&W Mobil is .27 cents per minute
Digicel is .20 per minute </div></div>
Calling card rates are much lower. This is what kept me from trying it. </div></div>
Calling cards to thief! Minutes just vanish. Some times you can not get through (line keep ring , or busy, or go to vm). Then you call direct from a land line and get right through!