SOme time back I had posted a question about networking my computers and Nylah had provided the name of a good networking software... I am looking for that post - yuh can help mi...
Also - can I network my MAC and PC on the same network?
OK thanks to all who responded... So I tried the networking software recommended by Nylah in the other thread Netware Magic...
I wanted to network intially a laptop, a dektop (both PC's) and a MAC mini (my main work vessels). IT worked like a dream on the PC's easy to install and intuitive to set up.
I had to purchase an add on to network the MAC... problem start there... WHen network magic is running it keeps logging me on and off the net work every few seconds - just an endless repetitive cycle.
WIth NM turned off my regular stuff wireless etc. works fine - turn it on the endless cycle begins. SO si called customer support only to find out that the software needs an upgrade in order to be compatible with the latest MAC software \o/
So I am on the hunt now for another software that will be compatible because I don;t know when that upgrade will be ready and I need to be able to access the files from my laptop on the MAC.
mi just figure out that if all the computers are on the same wireless network I can network them without additional software - they all have their own networking software built in - all I had to do was allow the access... (I feel like mi have wan big duncebat sign pon mi forehead) DDDUUUUHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!
Goodbye Network Magic and confusion - mi set mi set!!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Andrewnaqi</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The answer to pawt 2 is yes. </div></div>
I concur... Easier to do on a MAC </div></div>
Not really. It isabout the same and much easier on the PC with The new equipment and software .
All you have to do is press a button on the equipment and turn on each computer. That's all.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jazz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Yuh know what - mi ah ediat yuh nuh... \o/
mi just figure out that if all the computers are on the same wireless network I can network them without additional software - they all have their own networking software built in - all I had to do was allow the access... (I feel like mi have wan big duncebat sign pon mi forehead) DDDUUUUHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!
Goodbye Network Magic and confusion - mi set mi set!! </div></div>
Not really. It isabout the same and much easier on the PC with The new equipment and software .
All you have to do is press a button on the equipment and turn on each computer. That's all. </div></div>
right airport icon on upper right hand corner
select network
add password info
done
All you have to do is press a button on the equipment and turn on each computer. That's all. </div></div>
right airport icon on upper right hand corner
select network
add password info
done </div></div>
With PC. You select network then press the button on the router and turn on the computer.
There is no need to enter password. That will be transmitted to the new computer by the router.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jazz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">If your computer is controlled by a password to log in - you will need to enter it to access the files that are not public</div></div>
Yes yuh wa fi mek passwud protection of files, standard practice.
As di saying goes, it sounds like yuh "happy as a hog in a mud hole!"
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.