what does it mean when your hard disk starts to chirp?
hard drive chirp
Re: hard drive chirp
ekmi gi yuh di whole story.
last night mi tun on di puta...as it a start up di drive jus chirp an it tek long lone fi boot..den when it finaly boot (bout 30 minutes) di drive jus a spin an a chirp..cyaan open any app.
i thinks it has a serious infection.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Go to:
Start > My Computer > Right Click "C" drive > Properties > Tools > Check Now > put check in both boxes > Start.
[/ QUOTE ]ok when i go home ill try that....if it wont let me do that what can i try?When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
so mi run a check an scan both come up clean...the chirpin reduced but the machine tekin forever to boot and to open windows and the disk light almost constantly on.
the comp is about 2 month old....mi did a try avoid callin Dell support [img]/forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Take a look in your startup (both of them) and see what's loading and causing the constant usage.
1) Start > Programs > Startup (then delete anything you absolutely don't need on startup).
2) Start > Run > in the box type in msconfig and hit enter. Now check the startup tab (up top) and look through the startup items and uncheck anything that you don't need on startup. Note: You may want to do this several times and only check off a few items at a time to avoid problems.
-Reby
Take a look in your startup (both of them) and see what's loading and causing the constant usage.
1) Start > Programs > Startup (then delete anything you absolutely don't need on startup).
2) Start > Run > in the box type in msconfig and hit enter. Now check the startup tab (up top) and look through the startup items and uncheck anything that you don't need on startup. Note: You may want to do this several times and only check off a few items at a time to avoid problems.
-Reby
Before you do the above press the Alt, Ctrl and Delete keys at the same time once only to bring up Windows Task Manager.
Then Click on the Applications Tab to view how many applications you have running then...
Move over to the Processes Tab and view how many process are running - This tab will show you a list of processing currently running on your system, the CPU usage and the Memory usage of each process.
You can use the End Task button to end a running application or process that you are confident is not necessary. Look for files that are too large in size and the amount of processes you have running. Sounds like your DDR RAM is not sufficient. A comfortable minimum is 512KMb.
The Task Manager will give you a view of which processes are eating up too much resources on your computer. Then Follow Rebycman instruction to select the processes Task Manager reports are using too much resources that you can confidently do without.
Mussi di hamster whe runnin pon di wheel. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
Dem use a use squirrel, but all noh wid di new technology, erryting get small. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smirk.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]