mi waan fe purchase a video cam weh mi cyan tek shots of some of the studio sessions and be able fe load dem inna mi laptop via firewire fe editing... wah unno suggest? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
Video cam
Re: Video cam
yuh did jus waan come fren mi up nuh choo? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smirk.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70459-hugs.gif[/img]
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] Dag-nabbit yu figured me out. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]
Hmmmm!
Really depends on how much you are willing to spend.
I love the Sony products but Panasonic, Canon, and JVC have some good products as well.
A general guide is as follows (digital video cameras)
Under $800 is gonna get you a low end product. Good for the average Joe.
ie. Sony DCRDVD305
$1,500 - $2,000 will get you into some nice digital video. Sharper images and high definition compatible.
ie Sony HDRHC3
$4,000 - $5,000 will get you into to a prosumer high end camera that will give you a better lense, 3CCDs (much better colour) for a professional looking video and quality that will look spectacular on a high definition television. These cameras are actually used by TV production companies. I have seen them used at the City TV studios.
ie Sony HDRFX1
Over $7,000 will get you a truly professional quality camera.
ie JVC GY-DV5100U
Things I have learned over time:
- If you are going to end up using this camera to produce some high end videos in a couple/few years then splurge now and get one with a good optical zoom range and a 3CCD set up.
- Manufacturers may boast about how little light their cameras need in order to shoot video but in reality you still need to have a good light source to get good looking video. Sony cameras are famous for giving you the best looking video in low light situations if you use manual settings. You can adjust your presets once you figure out how "low you can go". I have shot candle lit weddings with my Sony and with a slight amount of adjustment during editing, the end result looked surpisingly good.
- Don't let all those special effect features cause you to chose the camera you want. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70400-talktohand.gif[/img] Chances are you will play with them once you get your camera out of the box and never look at them again. You are always better off to shoot "normal" looking video and add special effects/filters etc... when you begin editing your project.
- A great resource can be found here.
videouniversity.com
Ahhh! OK!
Well this one is well under $800 and records directly onto DVD so you don't need to plug it into your PC. Just insert the DVD into your PC and download.
Sony DCRDVD105
This one is a great little camera too. It uses MiniDV tapes to record video but it still gives you true digital video and becasue of this it's very small. Great if you also want to take it on vacation etc..., slip it into your pocket and go. It can plug into your PC via firewire and USB. With tax it will run you just over $500.
Sony DCRHC26