I'm glad I started this thread. It has been much more informative than just running out and buying anything. Ha, the day I started this, I almost did just that. I have been without my surround sound all winter so I can last long enough to take my time to think on what I need. I plan to check out some sound tomorrow at a couple of places. That will help put all of the info here in perspective.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nanook</div><div class="ubbcode-body">OHHH I LOVE the idea of wifi receiver! This is sounding like a MUST HAVE. Thanks dahJah! </div></div>
I am excited but I doubt I will get it hooked up today. Well maybe, it is plugged in, I attached the dish and the DVD player and the satellite dish (hopefully right) and now on to speakers. I didn't get new speakers YET, I might try to make do for a bit with my old ones...or not! I just might say to hell with it and order the speakers in this thread instead.
The setting up is overwhelming so it's time to review the CD and the manual cause I don't wanna blow it up. It was on sale at Best Buy today!
Uh oh...I see a problem already. The instructions say to plug the sub woofer in, showing a banana plug in. Mine has two sets of wires coming from it PLUS, it is connected to one of the front speakers.
I have too many interruptions to do it this time of day so will have to look at it all in the morning. I see I need a new cable for the TV too. It's all good though, the main thing is I am a step closer to chunes!
You don't have to have hook up your tv through HDMI, you can use component cables which red, blue and green. Personally I think the hdmi ting is over-rated .
Is the sub woofer you have powered?
You can always fly mi een fi duh de hook ups fi yuh
oh my dahJah I wish you were closer right now as I get ready to work on this. I thought I had everything set up to at least try the radio part, but nothing happened and it was too late to fiddle with it. I probably just have to read the manual on the remote control operation and those settings, I hope.
The sub woofer has it's own power plug in and has 4 sets of colored wired coming from it, one set which leads to what seems to be the center speaker. This is not a matching surround set of speakers but was given to me a few years back by a techie friend who set it up.
I am definitely going to get new speakers but this all sounded great enough before, compared to nothing! I did get a great price on the receiver, I should just go buy a new set of speakers today and done. Now since I have this nice receiver I think I want to keep the surround plan! No sense in hooking up 2 speakers to a 7.1 reciever!
My problem was the old receiver was taken down so long ago now I don't remember.
I left wires connected to the dish and Cd and all of that but still haven't gotten around to hooking those things up yet, so far have just been enjoying the radio but tomorrow I just might go get new speakers and worry about it all at once.
The way it seemed to be set up is the TV was running through the satellite receiver and not from the TV to the stereo receiver, does that sound right?
I guess I should have known I wouldn't do this half assedely. It just didn't seem right to run old speakers through the new receiver. I have a use for the speakers elsewhere so figured I might as well just enjoy the new toy for all it's worth, so....today I brought these home!
I still have hooking up to do for the dvd and the TV and then there is this little YOPD thingie that will adjust the speakers for me that I have to read up on but I have chunes to listen to while I study the fine tuning pawt! The Geek squad was another 140 bucks. I'd fly dahJah down here before I'd do that! I wish I could but mi just did spend all my money and then some on the toy already.
I can hear the brushes on the high hats & it ain't even fine tuned yet.
I think I might as well hook up two of my old speakers too, as long as I have the jacks, lol. Then I will have 6 plus the center and the woofer. Yep yep yep. I'm so glad I gave myself this treat! I certainly deserve it!
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.