I have a samsung sgh d807 that is locked (my carrier is cingular). I am going to Jamaica this week and would like to know how to unlock or where I could go to get it unlocked so that I can use a Digicel SIM card when I reach. I live in the Ft. Lauderdale/Miami area. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks
How do I get my cell phone unlocked?
Re: How do I get my cell phone unlocked?
<font color="blue">You can call Cingular, I was told that it takes up to 48 hours for them to get it, though. I have no idea why.
Also, you have no way of knowing whether the number works until you get there and try to put the other SIM in it, then it will ask you for the number.
When I did this and tried to put the number in, I got no response from the phone and had no way to contact Cingular. </font>
Biggahblue- Thanks for the info.
Peppa- Thank you so much. I know exactly where you talking. I will go to the swap shop today. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/bannana_purple.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/bannana_purple.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/bannana_purple.gif[/img]
Go to the swap shop, inside the building on the first floor right near the circus. $25 will get you unlocked.
but for less dan di $25 pls di cost of a digicel sim yuh can jus go buy a digicel phone a jamaica...nuh so?When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Well Pepper, I went to swap shop today and a man told me that the guy that used to unlock the phones in there got arrested and that it is against the law to unlock cell phones. Anyway, I will see if when I go down tomorrow I can find someone to do it for me. Thanks again.
Smaddy a yaad muss can dweet fe yuh.
Mi did ask Tmobile to unlock mine ova the summer and when i went to ja it wasn't unlocked. My carry it to smaddy dung de lane an de yute unlock it within minutes [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
My phone is similar to urs. One a de samsung slider fone dem
Nice - truss me on this one and go the direction RichD alluded to.
Save yourself a whole heapa trubble and just get a celly when you go down to JA. They're very inexpensive. OR - if you have a phone that uses chip - just take that phone down with you and buy a $600 chip and drop in it. Takes 2 seconds at any Digicel store.
mi nah guh ask mi phone company fi unlock mi phone cause too much people a ask dem and a get sheg..and mi know seh if mi reach dung deh and it nuh unlock when mi reach back a farrin dem gwine carry mi guh madhouse after mi bun dung the phone company
I dont see wah the big deal fi dem unlock it
<font color="blue">A lot of the wireless companies lock the phones that they give away with a contract so that it can't be used with another company's chip, which is why Nice wants to unlock it. </font>
So in English please to explain what locking is [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70394-bawlout.gif[/img]
Dem lock the fone so das yuh can only use it with them: Cingular, Tmobile, AT&T, etc.
When yuh unlock it, then yuh can slip in a SIM card from any carrier in the US or roun de world. Yuh can tek yuh fone wid yuh go anywhere an nuh haffe a worry bout buy fone or borrow fone an dem ting deh