My home desktop has a wireless connection, so I’m able to use my laptop anywhere within home (inside/outside) to access the internet and to access my office VPN. I recently took my laptop to a friend’s house who has the same DSL provider as I do, and the same wireless connection BUT I could not get a connection from his using my laptop. I thought that once as I have a wireless connection on my laptop, then any where there is a signal, I should be able to connect. Am I right/wrong and what was I doing wrong…or not doing? Btw, the wireless connection is a Motorolla and my DSL is AT&T.
Wireless...WiFi question
Re: Wireless...WiFi question
yup...sometimes I am home and all the neighbors connections that pop up are secure [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]
othertimes I can see where someone has been careless [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70390-shhh.gif[/img]
yup...sometimes I am home and all the neighbors connections that pop up are secure [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]
othertimes I can see where someone has been careless [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70390-shhh.gif[/img]
I get that when I'm at home also.
Come to think of it there are a lot of unsecured connections I could access at work, if I didn't want to use the company VPN, even though I'm on the 10th floor [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
went to mi fren yaad an mi fine bout 15 connections, everyone a dem blasted well secured [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70400-talktohand.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif[/img] Sandi, I somehow don't think you should 'accept'. It means they sharing your connection and could, potentially cause you problems [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70388-shameonyou.gif[/img]
I could be wrong though................
Ah! So that's the reason why I could not get access thru his?? Coming to think of it often times I'll get a message on my wireless about "unknown intruder do you want to accept"...I'm always accepting.
woieeeeeeeee mi belly [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Sandi why yuh accepting intruders [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
went to mi fren yaad an mi fine bout 15 connections, everyone a dem blasted well secured [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70400-talktohand.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]
Bway, unnu tief sah! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]