My boss and his friend is switching from Comcast to Verizon. Both have seen to have done a lot of research and it has me wondering if I should change too. Anybody have Verizon?
Verizon DSL and Cable
Re: Verizon DSL and Cable
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: DuppyBredda</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Did have DSL and I switch to camcast cable because I found out that its much faster than dsl. I download music and movies faster
than when I did have Bellsouth DSL service. </div></div>
Thre is a new faster internet option from verizon called FOip,which is both faster and cheaper than Comcast. It is nit available widely yet. We just got in mi my way,and i had verizon 3.0DSL and switched for Verizon FIos and it is faster. although I found my 3.0 was fast too.
And remember that in DSL there are many speeds, the slowest speed from Verizon is &^o kb, but that is for $17.99/month,but therre are 3.0 mb,5.0mb, 15mb up to 50mb speeds. available from verizon..
I had Verizon DSL for years and I was fine with it..I was kinda forced to switch to broadband..it is faster than the DSL..but I really had no issues with the DSL..
all the techie guys at my office swear by broadband :shrug:
FiOs is widely available in the northeast boopie.. I think Red & Boundie had it first which helped to raise my comfort level when I switched from Comcast.
FiOs was cheaper than Comcast, and had more bandwidth for less cost. I also liked the fact that the FiOs box was internally installed and is fiber to the curb. When I decide to get FiOS TV then I will be quite ready for them to just add the boxes and go.If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
It would have to be FiOS because her boss has Comcast which is broadband so would be an equivalant service ,... I hope..If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">It would have to be FiOS because her boss has Comcast which is broadband so would be an equivalant service ,... I hope..
a dat mi a seh mi nuh think smaddy a guh switch from highspeed to DSL
This has been a long standing question amongst the masses and is fed by the fud both DSL and Cable companies spread. Here's what I've learned over the years by experience. (this will vary for you and your area so check around before you decide what is best for you)
Cable -
Pros:
1) Usually faster download speeds but often limited upload speeds
2) Wide areas of availability (often if you can get cable you can get cable internet).
Cons:
1) Shared bandwidth - Local nodes can be oversold meaning too many people are trying to use the same resources, which can slow down your 'fast' connection to much less than advertised speed.
2) Connection often gets lost and requires a reboot of the modem (I used to reset mine on average once a week).
3) Cheap modems - To compete they have to use poor quality modems.
DSL:
Pro:
1) Scaleable so you can choose your upload/download speeds
2) Stable - I might reset my modem/connection once a year
3) Dedicated bandwidth (nobody shares my bandwidth, I get what I pay for).
Cons:
1) Distance limitation from phone comany switching station
2) Cheap modems - To compete they have to use poor quality modems. (I bought my own modem)
3) More expensive for faster connections
To get more local information try this site: http://www.dslreports.com/
-Reby
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">2) Connection often gets lost and requires a reboot of the modem (I used to reset mine on average once a week).
too true..in the 3 or so months I've had bband..i swear I've reboot the modem more than I did in all my DSL yrs..cho
an I think I've encountered that contention form bw issue to..cho
Wow, I've never had this many responses in this forum. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] Yes I called yesterday and she said we were available to get it. She was trying to explain the difference and after a while I didn't want to hold her up so she gave me the website to see just what we would like to get.
Thanks everybody for the in put this will help me a lot in picking which route to go. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Geneva</div><div class="ubbcode-body">boopie ..is your boss switching to Verizon DSL or Verizon FIOS ? </div></div>
No we all have Comcast. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/whistle.gif[/img]