Re: Detroit Autoshow
<span style="font-size: 17pt">Little 'green' vehicles taking over Detroit
International auto show to push fuel-efficiency, enviro-friendly images</span>
<span style="font-size: 8pt"> Published On Sat Jan 09 2010</span>
Small is now big in Detroit.
Little cars with lots of green technology will move into the spotlight like never before during the next few weeks in a city synonymous with wheels, roaring engines and horsepower.
Automakers, who are pulling out of one of the worst downturns in the industry's history, will shove the huge pickups, muscle cars and monster SUVs into the background at the 22nd North American International Auto Show at Cobo Center on the city's waterfront.
Instead, they'll push shrinking models that boost fuel economy and do less environmental damage to the front of their stages.
"There will be more small cars and it will be green, green, green and then more green, green," said industry analyst Dennis DesRosiers, a veteran show observer.
Almost every major automaker and numerous smaller players will be fighting for attention at the continent's biggest auto extravaganza with their latest subcompact or so-called B segment cars, even tinier models, gasoline-electric hybrids and electric vehicles.
Aurora-based Magna International Inc., the world's third biggest auto-parts maker, will appear for the first time to demonstrate its "electrification capabilities" so it can capitalize on the seismic shift away from the internal combustion engine.
The move away from big vehicles has now become a religion in Detroit as gasoline prices climb and governments institute stricter emission limits to counter pollution and climate change.
Among manufacturers attempting to generate market buzz is industry leader Toyota, with its small hybrid concept car. The Japan-based auto giant, which has sputtered in the past year, rolled out the first hybrid, the Prius, more than a decade ago.
"We think their new hybrid concept could be the hit of the show," said analyst Bill Pochiluk, president of U.S.-based Automotive Compass.
Other models are hitting the road sooner. Ford Motor Co. will launch the European-based Fiesta in North America later this year. The Fiat 500 is coming to Chrysler showrooms a little later.
GM will introduce the Chevrolet Cruze production model plus the Aveo RS concept. Mazda will debut the Mazda2, while Volkswagen has indicated the Polo will be on display. They'll compete against existing models like the Honda Fit and Toyota Yaris in an industry where competition is already vicious.
Meanwhile, Nissan and GM will start selling electric cars later this year or early 2011 in North America. But questions remain on whether the Nissan Leaf or Chevrolet Volt can get enough government financial support to make them initially affordable and attract major consumer interest if gas prices don't continue rising.
Unlike Canadians, U.S. consumers have shown reluctance in buying small cars, but the continuing uptick in fuel prices has slowly changed that outlook. The challenge for automakers is to make the smaller vehicles look more attractive, provide comfort and include the features of a bigger vehicle, according to analysts.
This year's show will include a display called Electric Avenue for a burgeoning fleet of electric models from around the world. The display covers an area bigger than two hockey rinks.
On another floor, for a second year, will be the EcoXperience site for alternative energy vehicles. Ford's promotion, its biggest ever, will demonstrate innovations such as the use of touch screens to manage everything in a vehicle.
Several automakers, however, have scaled back displays. "I think the show will be somewhat subdued because of the economic climate and overall lack of new products," said Pochiluk.
DesRosiers, president of DesRosiers Automotive Consultants, predicts few surprises. "Instead, it will be a big schmooze and spin fest where they will want to desperately tell everyone in the world that they're no longer in trouble."
great,
I have an issue with having to pay money out of my pocket to see automakers unveil and advertise there future products.
they should be offering free admission and offering me free food and beer and trying to convince the public.
All the automakers pay big bucks to rent booths and floor space.
I dont go.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: dahJahPawtTwo</div><div class="ubbcode-body">unno fi mek mi kno wah yuh waan pikcha a specially since mi a guh nex week, if mi foot naah badda mi still</div></div>
feel better soon dahjah
btw See mi list hereIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: dahJahPawtTwo</div><div class="ubbcode-body">well I wouldn't pay to go to an auto show in toronto eedah caz they sukk
but yuh si detroit autoshow a de creme du la creme seen</div></div>I dont give a ratz aszz if its the Detroit auto show, the BErlin auto show or the Milan Auto show or the Tokyo Auto Show.
SAVE YOUR GAS.
ppl like dis have some serious issues, I saw dis same guy twice doing dis. I saw ppl wid compass and protractors and measuring tape tekkin all kinds of measurements fi teef designs and oddas tekkin close up shots of different pawts a de veekles dem.
here's anoddah clown a gwaan de same way