Can it be done in today's lifestyle?
One car family in suburbia
Re: One car family in suburbia
MrKia wants to try it out for a year (he is waiting on another electric car). The trial on the MIN-E runs out in June and he really does not want to do another trial. Does not like the Leaf nor Chevy Volt. Given that he is an environmentalist the one car thingy came to mind.
Right now we do have issues with travel coordination if he has to travel where the electric car cannot get easily recharged (ie further than 50 miles one way). .. but to only have one car?
I guess he would have to ride bicycle more often
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body">If people are not selfish, sure yuh can. At one time, not so long ago, that use to be the norm. </div></div>
but now we have busier lives where u dropping kids off here & there plus groceries
well I think we are going to bite the bullet come june
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CeaBee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">drop him at work i guess.
mek him find him own way home
yes I can make his work hours longer
this may come in handy when him choose fi vex mi
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Can it be done in today's lifestyle? </div></div>
kia..it will result in some heavy mileage on the single car....many time what would be a one round trip will turn into two trips. you have to balance that with other scheduling considerations.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Can it be done in today's lifestyle? </div></div>
kia..it will result in some heavy mileage on the single car....many time what would be a one round trip will turn into two trips. you have to balance that with other scheduling considerations. </div></div>
During the week I think I have the schedule under control. I think it is the weekends when fencing tournaments, kids activities plus our own activities would make it an issue.
I guess where there is a conflict rent a car for the day?
Yes I hear you on the mileage - planned for it with this current vehicle.
mrKia works 8 miles from home so dat is a nice bike ride (if the motorists doan run him off the road) or a change of route when doing the afternoon taxi service
Edited to add: I do think it would be very inconvenient so mi trying to convince him to do the BMW active E trial and since it has a back seat, we can switch cars as I do most of the driving about townIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Ms Exced</div><div class="ubbcode-body">will take alot of comprimose, schedules can make this difficult but with careful planning can be done. </div></div>
MsExced I can see scheduling appts to use the car in my future
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Skelly</div><div class="ubbcode-body">we did it for a while when i just had the girls..he was not home most of the time and i was not working full time so it really was not that difficult... </div></div>
Yes gotcha
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Mi like how yuh jus tip-toe pass Public Transportation?
Walk or get dropped ah bus/train stop, den (wid cell phone call) get picked back up.
Summer ah com. How bout ah scooter, or motor cycle? </div></div>
Public transport would not make sense. The buses run on a schedule but would require a transfer anywhere we go. .. Train not worth it..
If he took the train to work I would have to drive 3 miles to the train station and he would have to take the train 1 stop and then walk 1 1/2 mile to work. Better I just drive him the 8 miles in the AM, go to the gym, supermarket etc
MrKia wants to be eco friendly, so the bicycle would work -- I think my nephew has an electric scooter -
maybe he could loan it to us for the summer